search.noResults

search.searching

note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
PART 2 Tacking at a Windward Mark


A boat’s entitlement to room to tack at a mark depends on whether she is overlapped to windward of and inside the boat from which she needs mark-room. If she is overlapped in that way, she is entitled to room to tack, otherwise, she is not, as stated in the definition Mark-Room. So when a boat’s tack at a mark would otherwise break rule 13, and she is clear ahead of the boat from which she is entitled to room, her only safe course of action is to luff and slow to induce the other boat into an outside overlap in order to keep clear, at which point she will be entitled to room to tack, as discussed under rule 18.2(a)1


.


At a starboard-hand windward mark being approached on starboard tack, a boat clear ahead that tacks loses her clear-ahead status the moment she passed through head to wind, and is now the give-way boat under rule 13 and then 10. She has no protection under rule 15, since her own actions caused her loss of rights. It is for this reason that windward marks are best set to be rounded to port in fleet racing, to avoid incidents, but to starboard in match racing and team racing, to provoke incidents. When a boat tacks from clear ahead on port to starboard at a port-hand windward mark, her period of risk relative to a port-tack boat astern of her is the short time during which she is subject to rule 13 and then, once on a close-hauled course, the time needed to comply with rule 15.


How long does the obligation to give mark-room last?


Rule 18.2(c) gives situations (some of which already discussed) where an obligation on A to give mark-room to B does not end, for instance if A was overlapped outside B or clear astern of B at zone entry and A gets ahead but interferes with B’s rounding, or A gets in inside overlap in the zone.


Rule 18.2(d) then states three moments when rule 18.2(b) stops applying, which it must do at some time.


The usual way that an obligation to give mark-room ends is that mark-room has been given. That may mean that the inside boat or the boat clear ahead has, in the words of a former US case, ‘left the mark astern and it no longer has any effect on her course’. It may also mean that the outside boat or the boat clear astern is so far from the room-entitled boat that it would never be possible for mark-room not to be available to the room-entitled boat. When rule 18.2(b) has ended because a windward room-entitled boat has left the mark astern, and her entitlement to mark-room has ended, she must now keep clear of the leeward boat, even if the leeward boat luffs, and she will have lost the possibility of exoneration under rule 21(a) if she does not keep clear.


Rule 18.2(d) disapplies rule 18.2(b) when the boat entitled to mark-room tacks. At a windward mark, all of rule 18 will in any case be ‘switched off’ by the tack, because of rule 18.1(b). At a leeward mark, a boat clear ahead that tacks while rounding will also now lose her mark-room entitlement as well as her right of way as soon as she passes head to wind. If at a port-hand leeward mark she tacks to a fresh starboard-tack right of way she must do so compliance with rule 15 with reference to a port-tack boat astern, since she is no longer entitled to exoneration under rule 21.(a). If at a starboard-hand leeward mark she tacks unthinkingly to a port tack, rule 14 may be her only protection from a starboard-tack boat astern.


Leaving the zone is the least likely of all the criteria to apply, since it will be the first to happen only if, perhaps when astern of several other slower boats at a mark, she has to leave the zone to avoid them; or if she drifts out of the zone in a light wind and an adverse current before reaching the mark. Rule 18.2 will then begin afresh when the zone is entered again, based on overlaps or otherwise at that time.


Doubt over an overlap RYA 1992/9 explains the application of rule 18.2(e) to a protest committee.


When the protest committee is unsure about the facts, it is normally the protestee that gets the benefit of any doubt. However, rule 18.2(e) states that, in the special case of reasonable doubt that a boat obtained or broke an overlap in time, it shall be presumed that she did not, a presumption that may favour either protestee or protestor.


1 Fig 4, page 71 RYA The Racing Rules Explained 79


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68  |  Page 69  |  Page 70  |  Page 71  |  Page 72  |  Page 73  |  Page 74  |  Page 75  |  Page 76  |  Page 77  |  Page 78  |  Page 79  |  Page 80  |  Page 81  |  Page 82  |  Page 83  |  Page 84  |  Page 85  |  Page 86  |  Page 87  |  Page 88  |  Page 89  |  Page 90  |  Page 91  |  Page 92  |  Page 93  |  Page 94  |  Page 95  |  Page 96  |  Page 97  |  Page 98  |  Page 99  |  Page 100  |  Page 101  |  Page 102  |  Page 103  |  Page 104  |  Page 105  |  Page 106  |  Page 107  |  Page 108  |  Page 109  |  Page 110  |  Page 111  |  Page 112  |  Page 113  |  Page 114  |  Page 115  |  Page 116  |  Page 117  |  Page 118  |  Page 119  |  Page 120  |  Page 121  |  Page 122  |  Page 123  |  Page 124  |  Page 125  |  Page 126  |  Page 127  |  Page 128  |  Page 129  |  Page 130  |  Page 131  |  Page 132  |  Page 133  |  Page 134  |  Page 135  |  Page 136  |  Page 137  |  Page 138  |  Page 139  |  Page 140  |  Page 141  |  Page 142  |  Page 143  |  Page 144  |  Page 145  |  Page 146  |  Page 147  |  Page 148  |  Page 149  |  Page 150  |  Page 151  |  Page 152  |  Page 153  |  Page 154  |  Page 155  |  Page 156  |  Page 157  |  Page 158  |  Page 159  |  Page 160  |  Page 161  |  Page 162  |  Page 163  |  Page 164  |  Page 165  |  Page 166  |  Page 167  |  Page 168  |  Page 169  |  Page 170  |  Page 171  |  Page 172  |  Page 173  |  Page 174  |  Page 175  |  Page 176  |  Page 177  |  Page 178  |  Page 179  |  Page 180  |  Page 181  |  Page 182  |  Page 183  |  Page 184  |  Page 185  |  Page 186  |  Page 187  |  Page 188  |  Page 189  |  Page 190  |  Page 191  |  Page 192  |  Page 193  |  Page 194  |  Page 195  |  Page 196  |  Page 197  |  Page 198  |  Page 199  |  Page 200  |  Page 201  |  Page 202  |  Page 203  |  Page 204  |  Page 205  |  Page 206  |  Page 207  |  Page 208  |  Page 209  |  Page 210  |  Page 211  |  Page 212  |  Page 213  |  Page 214  |  Page 215  |  Page 216  |  Page 217  |  Page 218  |  Page 219  |  Page 220  |  Page 221  |  Page 222  |  Page 223  |  Page 224  |  Page 225  |  Page 226  |  Page 227  |  Page 228  |  Page 229  |  Page 230  |  Page 231  |  Page 232  |  Page 233  |  Page 234  |  Page 235  |  Page 236  |  Page 237  |  Page 238  |  Page 239  |  Page 240  |  Page 241  |  Page 242  |  Page 243  |  Page 244  |  Page 245  |  Page 246  |  Page 247  |  Page 248  |  Page 249  |  Page 250  |  Page 251  |  Page 252  |  Page 253  |  Page 254  |  Page 255  |  Page 256