search.noResults

search.searching

note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
PART 5


‘Meat in the sandwich’ situations are a regular source of cases related to compulsion. In US 78, Daffodil was the leeward of three overlapped port-tack close-hauled boats. She tacked to starboard, as did Iris to windward of her, but Iris was not able to give Thetis, to windward of her and still on port tack, room to keep clear. Iris was disqualified by the protest committee for not giving room to Thetis. On appeal, Iris was exonerated, since she was compelled to infringe because Daffodil had not given her room under rule 15. Daffodil was disqualified.


Exoneration will also be available to a boat compelled to break a sailing instruction. However, the wording of the sailing instruction may unexpectedly prevent exoneration. In RYA 2005/8, Habanero collided with a moored vessel, causing it to move into the path of Jump the Gun!, which touched the moored vessel. Jump the Gun! was protested by Heartbeat 2 for breaking a sailing instruction that said that ‘an entered boat that collides with or fends off a moored or anchored vessel at any time shall retire and report the collision to the race office.’ Jump the Gun! had reported the collision, but had not retired. The protest committee noted that Habanero had retired, and exonerated Jump the Gun!, by implication because Jump the Gun! was compelled to break the sailing instruction because of an infringement by Habanero. Heartbeat 2 appealed. The appeal was upheld, and Jump the Gun! was disqualified.


The sailing instruction does not say ‘a boat shall not collide with or fend off a moored or anchored vessel’. Rather it imposes an obligation on a boat when a collision occurs, namely to retire and report the incident. The collision itself is not prohibited. Nothing that Habanero did prevented Jump the Gun! from complying with the requirement in the sailing instruction to retire, and so exoneration under rule 64.1(b) is not appropriate. She failed to retire, thus breaking the sailing instruction, and is therefore disqualified for not retiring, by virtue of rule 64.1(a). Nor does any part of rule 62, Redress, allow any compensation.


For the same reason, it should be noted that Habenero did not break the sailing instruction. Indeed, she complied with it by retiring.


Jump the Gun! refers to several cases in support of her exoneration. These were all situations where a boat was compelled to break a ‘shall not’ rule.


In summary, a boat is to be exonerated only when compelled by another boat’s infringement to fail to comply with what the rule concerned obliges her to do or not do.


Exoneration under this rule is the prerogative of the protest committee. However, rule 21 now offers ‘instant exoneration’ at the time of an incident in many situations. Exoneration under that rule is, in effect, self-assessed. However, if the either boat in an incident does not see it that way, there may be a protest. If that implicit self- assessed exoneration is endorsed by the facts found by the protest committee, then it appears that the protest committee can refer to either or both of rules 21 and 64.1(a) as the applicable rules in their decision.


If a boat has taken an applicable penalty, she shall not be further penalized under this rule unless the penalty for a rule she broke is disqualification that is not excludable from her series score. When a boat breaks a rule of Part 2 or rule 31, and then takes a turn(s) penalty or even retires, this will normally insure her against penalisation in any protest against her. However, if the protest committee decides that she also broke rule 2, Fair Sailing as well, the penalty she took will not insure her against a non-excludable disqualification (DNE) if this higher level penalty is preferred to DSQ by the protest committee. Neither will her retirement preclude a protest and a DNE when the sailing instructions prescribe DNE as the penalty for breaking one of them1


. If the race is restarted or resailed, rule 36 applies.


As that rule says, a restart or a resail wipes out most sins, other than ‘adhesive’ starting penalties under the Z flag rule, the black flag rule, the misconduct rule or, under rule 14, when the boat has caused injury or serious damage, and the possibility of penalization under rule 69, Misconduct.


1 RYA 2005/5 RYA The Racing Rules Explained 211


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68  |  Page 69  |  Page 70  |  Page 71  |  Page 72  |  Page 73  |  Page 74  |  Page 75  |  Page 76  |  Page 77  |  Page 78  |  Page 79  |  Page 80  |  Page 81  |  Page 82  |  Page 83  |  Page 84  |  Page 85  |  Page 86  |  Page 87  |  Page 88  |  Page 89  |  Page 90  |  Page 91  |  Page 92  |  Page 93  |  Page 94  |  Page 95  |  Page 96  |  Page 97  |  Page 98  |  Page 99  |  Page 100  |  Page 101  |  Page 102  |  Page 103  |  Page 104  |  Page 105  |  Page 106  |  Page 107  |  Page 108  |  Page 109  |  Page 110  |  Page 111  |  Page 112  |  Page 113  |  Page 114  |  Page 115  |  Page 116  |  Page 117  |  Page 118  |  Page 119  |  Page 120  |  Page 121  |  Page 122  |  Page 123  |  Page 124  |  Page 125  |  Page 126  |  Page 127  |  Page 128  |  Page 129  |  Page 130  |  Page 131  |  Page 132  |  Page 133  |  Page 134  |  Page 135  |  Page 136  |  Page 137  |  Page 138  |  Page 139  |  Page 140  |  Page 141  |  Page 142  |  Page 143  |  Page 144  |  Page 145  |  Page 146  |  Page 147  |  Page 148  |  Page 149  |  Page 150  |  Page 151  |  Page 152  |  Page 153  |  Page 154  |  Page 155  |  Page 156  |  Page 157  |  Page 158  |  Page 159  |  Page 160  |  Page 161  |  Page 162  |  Page 163  |  Page 164  |  Page 165  |  Page 166  |  Page 167  |  Page 168  |  Page 169  |  Page 170  |  Page 171  |  Page 172  |  Page 173  |  Page 174  |  Page 175  |  Page 176  |  Page 177  |  Page 178  |  Page 179  |  Page 180  |  Page 181  |  Page 182  |  Page 183  |  Page 184  |  Page 185  |  Page 186  |  Page 187  |  Page 188  |  Page 189  |  Page 190  |  Page 191  |  Page 192  |  Page 193  |  Page 194  |  Page 195  |  Page 196  |  Page 197  |  Page 198  |  Page 199  |  Page 200  |  Page 201  |  Page 202  |  Page 203  |  Page 204  |  Page 205  |  Page 206  |  Page 207  |  Page 208  |  Page 209  |  Page 210  |  Page 211  |  Page 212  |  Page 213  |  Page 214  |  Page 215  |  Page 216  |  Page 217  |  Page 218  |  Page 219  |  Page 220  |  Page 221  |  Page 222  |  Page 223  |  Page 224  |  Page 225  |  Page 226  |  Page 227  |  Page 228  |  Page 229  |  Page 230  |  Page 231  |  Page 232  |  Page 233  |  Page 234  |  Page 235  |  Page 236  |  Page 237  |  Page 238  |  Page 239  |  Page 240  |  Page 241  |  Page 242  |  Page 243  |  Page 244  |  Page 245  |  Page 246  |  Page 247  |  Page 248  |  Page 249  |  Page 250  |  Page 251  |  Page 252  |  Page 253  |  Page 254  |  Page 255  |  Page 256