search.noResults

search.searching

note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
PART 2


The rules of Part 2 applied to all boats, since they were either racing, or had been racing. The preamble to Section D of Part 2 states that when rule 22 or 23 applies between two boats, Section A rules do not. It follows that when rule 24, also a Section D rule, applies, the right-of-way rules in Section A still apply. In addition rule 23.1 does not require a boat that is not racing to ‘keep clear’.


However, the preamble to Part 2 does allow for the penalization under rule 14(b) of a boat not racing when the incident results in damage.


It follows that Iris’s obligation under rule 10 was in force and she was required to keep clear. This she failed to do, and was correctly disqualified. Had she tacked or borne away, keeping clear of Iris, she could then have protested Iris under rule 24.1.


Thetis, trying to fulfil her obligation under rule 24.1, bore away to go astern of Iris, a manoeuvre that finally resulted in a collision resulting in damage between Thetis and Iphigenia. This was due to Iris’s failure to fulfil her obligation under rule 10, and despite Thetis’s prompt attempts to do so, it was not possible for her to avoid contact with Iphigenia. Whether Thetis infringed a part of rule 16, or Iphigenia broke rule 10, or both, both boats are exonerated under rule 64.1(a) and Thetis under rule 21(a).


Classification for the purposes of rule 24.1 as ‘not racing’ may be a fact, or it may be deemed by the protest committee to have occurred, as in RYA 1986/6, where Daffodil, in order to sail Iris down the fleet, missed out a mark to get at her. ‘When she abandons the attempt to sail the course, she may be considered to have retired, and if she then manoeuvres in the racing area against another boat, she breaks rule 24.1 for interfering, when not racing, with another boat that is racing.’


Because Daffodil had missed out a mark, she was still on her previous leg and so not on the same leg of the course as Iris. Since Daffodil was clearly not sailing a proper course, that also broke rule 24.2, whereas the same manoeuvre, done on the same leg without deliberately breaking a rule, might have been perfectly legal, even when the aggressor was not sailing a proper course1


.


When a boat has left a mark on the wrong side, and is retracing her course round it to correct it, she will still be on the leg of the course to that mark until, after unwinding, she now properly passes the mark on its required side2


. While re-rounding, she retains all her rights and obligations under the Part 2 rules. If she complies with those obligations but, while unwinding, nevertheless interferes with a boat that is rounding normally and is a give- way boat or a boat required to give her mark-room, she has done so from a position on another leg, but she does not break rule 24.2, since her proper course at the time is to unwind.


WS 126 says that, for the purpose of determining whether rule 24.2 applies to an incident, a boat is sailing on the leg which is consistent with her course immediately before the incident and her reasons for sailing that course. Therefore: • When two boats are sailing together in the same direction, they are on the same leg even if one of them later learns that she was OCS


• When two boats are sailing the run of a windward-leeward course, they are on the same leg even if one of them has unwittingly not rounded the offset mark


• If the boat that missed out the offset mark and sails back towards it, she is now on the leg to that mark. If in the process she deviates from her proper course to interfere with a boat running down from the offset mark, she breaks rule 24.2.


When an OCS boat is returning to start, she loses any right-of-way with respect to boats that have started properly. However, rule 24.2 now says that the other boats must not deviate from a proper course (which on a boat to windward would mean bearing away) so as to interfere with the returner. On the other hand, when a boat that, while sailing her proper course, happens to interfere with a boat taking a penalty, sailing on another leg or returning to start, she does not break rule 24.2.


1 See under rule 2 2 RYA 2001/1


RYA The Racing Rules Explained 115


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68  |  Page 69  |  Page 70  |  Page 71  |  Page 72  |  Page 73  |  Page 74  |  Page 75  |  Page 76  |  Page 77  |  Page 78  |  Page 79  |  Page 80  |  Page 81  |  Page 82  |  Page 83  |  Page 84  |  Page 85  |  Page 86  |  Page 87  |  Page 88  |  Page 89  |  Page 90  |  Page 91  |  Page 92  |  Page 93  |  Page 94  |  Page 95  |  Page 96  |  Page 97  |  Page 98  |  Page 99  |  Page 100  |  Page 101  |  Page 102  |  Page 103  |  Page 104  |  Page 105  |  Page 106  |  Page 107  |  Page 108  |  Page 109  |  Page 110  |  Page 111  |  Page 112  |  Page 113  |  Page 114  |  Page 115  |  Page 116  |  Page 117  |  Page 118  |  Page 119  |  Page 120  |  Page 121  |  Page 122  |  Page 123  |  Page 124  |  Page 125  |  Page 126  |  Page 127  |  Page 128  |  Page 129  |  Page 130  |  Page 131  |  Page 132  |  Page 133  |  Page 134  |  Page 135  |  Page 136  |  Page 137  |  Page 138  |  Page 139  |  Page 140  |  Page 141  |  Page 142  |  Page 143  |  Page 144  |  Page 145  |  Page 146  |  Page 147  |  Page 148  |  Page 149  |  Page 150  |  Page 151  |  Page 152  |  Page 153  |  Page 154  |  Page 155  |  Page 156  |  Page 157  |  Page 158  |  Page 159  |  Page 160  |  Page 161  |  Page 162  |  Page 163  |  Page 164  |  Page 165  |  Page 166  |  Page 167  |  Page 168  |  Page 169  |  Page 170  |  Page 171  |  Page 172  |  Page 173  |  Page 174  |  Page 175  |  Page 176  |  Page 177  |  Page 178  |  Page 179  |  Page 180  |  Page 181  |  Page 182  |  Page 183  |  Page 184  |  Page 185  |  Page 186  |  Page 187  |  Page 188  |  Page 189  |  Page 190  |  Page 191  |  Page 192  |  Page 193  |  Page 194  |  Page 195  |  Page 196  |  Page 197  |  Page 198  |  Page 199  |  Page 200  |  Page 201  |  Page 202  |  Page 203  |  Page 204  |  Page 205  |  Page 206  |  Page 207  |  Page 208  |  Page 209  |  Page 210  |  Page 211  |  Page 212  |  Page 213  |  Page 214  |  Page 215  |  Page 216  |  Page 217  |  Page 218  |  Page 219  |  Page 220  |  Page 221  |  Page 222  |  Page 223  |  Page 224  |  Page 225  |  Page 226  |  Page 227  |  Page 228  |  Page 229  |  Page 230  |  Page 231  |  Page 232  |  Page 233  |  Page 234  |  Page 235  |  Page 236  |  Page 237  |  Page 238  |  Page 239  |  Page 240  |  Page 241  |  Page 242  |  Page 243  |  Page 244  |  Page 245  |  Page 246  |  Page 247  |  Page 248  |  Page 249  |  Page 250  |  Page 251  |  Page 252  |  Page 253  |  Page 254  |  Page 255  |  Page 256