PART 3
But when no such power is granted, then no summary steps are available to the race committee. It cannot score her DNF – Did Not Finish – when she did finish, by crossing the finishing line in the direction of the course from the last mark. DNF is reserved for boats whose only crossing of the finishing line was a clear ‘hook finish’. RET, and possibly DNF, is for boats that never came near the finishing line because they retired in mid-race. Nor can it disqualify her without a hearing. Only a protest can result in the removal of the finishing position of a boat that has finished, as defined1
.
But suppose that the race committee nevertheless scores her DNF or ‘disqualifies her’ and redress is requested. It is not the protest committee’s job to make up for the failings of the race committee. So in RYA 2006/8, the race committee’s sailing instructions unintentionally required two marks to be looped rather than left as passing marks, and two boats did not loop them. They were recorded as disqualified with a hearing without any provision in the sailing instructions for this, and they asked for redress. No hearing was called, the issue rumbled on, and the race committee then lodged a protest against them ten weeks later.
The protest committee got off to a good start by deciding that the race committee was not allowed to disqualify a boat without a hearing. It then got into a hole and kept digging. The redress it granted was a hearing, in effect of the clearly out-of-time protest. It decided that neither mark was unambiguously designated as a rounding mark, and reinstated the boats into their finishing positions. The race committee appealed, on the grounds that there was no ambiguity. The appeal was dismissed, but not over any question of ambiguity.
The protest committee was correct to decide that the race committee was not entitled to disqualify the boats without a hearing, nor, had it done so, would it have been entitled to score them DNF, since they both finished, as defined. The protest committee was incorrect to decide that a hearing (in effect, a protest hearing, at which the disqualification of the boats was a possibility) was the appropriate redress. Disqualification can never result from a request for redress alone2
.
Had the protest by the race committee been valid, then that might have resulted in the disqualification of the boats independently of the requests for redress. In fact, the protest was clearly invalid, having been lodged more than two months after the incident, and there was no reason to extend the protest time limit.
The fact that the race committee had not intended the course to include marks that had to be looped does not relieve a boat of her obligation to loop them3. The words used in the sailing instructions clearly made all marks rounding marks for the purposes of the string test in rule 28.2. However, the protest committee was not required to consider the details of the course sailed by the boats. Its correct reason for reinstating them into their finishing positions, in the absence of a valid protest against them, should have been that, unless otherwise specified in the sailing instructions, a race committee has no power to disqualify a boat without a hearing, or (if she finishes, as defined) score her DNF, if it believes she has not sailed the course.
The narrow focus of the role of the protest committee considering a request for redress was established in WS 80, when the race committee scored Iris DNF because it believed her to have broken rule 28.2 with respect to a course mark, and the protest committee dismissed the resulting request for redress because Iris did not sail the course, entirely through her own fault, and not because of an act or omission of the race committee. In upholding her appeal and reinstating her, US Sailing said that a fundamental principle of the hearing procedure, whether for protests or requests for redress, is that that a hearing must be limited to the particular ‘incident’ referred to in a protest or request for redress as required by rule 62.1.
The race committee acted improperly in scoring Iris DNF when she did finish according to the definition Finish. The race committee could have scored Iris as DNF only for failing to finish correctly (see rule A5). Since Iris crossed the finishing line from the course side, and none of the three exceptions in the definition Finish applied, she should have been recorded as having finished.
A fundamental principle of protest committee procedure is that a hearing must be limited to the particular ‘incident’ alleged in a protest (see rule 61.2(b)) or to the particular incident alleged to be ‘an improper action or omission’ in a request for redress under rule 62.1(a). Although the incident that was the subject of Iris’s request for redress was that she had been incorrectly scored DNF, the protest committee turned to a different incident when it considered whether or not she had failed to sail the course correctly and therefore broken rule 28.1. Since that incident was not the incident alleged in the redress for request, the committee acted improperly.
1 WS 80 2 RYA 1990/7, 2001/12 3 RYA 2000/5: a boat ‘loops’ a mark when her track on leaving the mark crosses her track when approaching it
132 RYA The Racing Rules Explained
Page 1 |
Page 2 |
Page 3 |
Page 4 |
Page 5 |
Page 6 |
Page 7 |
Page 8 |
Page 9 |
Page 10 |
Page 11 |
Page 12 |
Page 13 |
Page 14 |
Page 15 |
Page 16 |
Page 17 |
Page 18 |
Page 19 |
Page 20 |
Page 21 |
Page 22 |
Page 23 |
Page 24 |
Page 25 |
Page 26 |
Page 27 |
Page 28 |
Page 29 |
Page 30 |
Page 31 |
Page 32 |
Page 33 |
Page 34 |
Page 35 |
Page 36 |
Page 37 |
Page 38 |
Page 39 |
Page 40 |
Page 41 |
Page 42 |
Page 43 |
Page 44 |
Page 45 |
Page 46 |
Page 47 |
Page 48 |
Page 49 |
Page 50 |
Page 51 |
Page 52 |
Page 53 |
Page 54 |
Page 55 |
Page 56 |
Page 57 |
Page 58 |
Page 59 |
Page 60 |
Page 61 |
Page 62 |
Page 63 |
Page 64 |
Page 65 |
Page 66 |
Page 67 |
Page 68 |
Page 69 |
Page 70 |
Page 71 |
Page 72 |
Page 73 |
Page 74 |
Page 75 |
Page 76 |
Page 77 |
Page 78 |
Page 79 |
Page 80 |
Page 81 |
Page 82 |
Page 83 |
Page 84 |
Page 85 |
Page 86 |
Page 87 |
Page 88 |
Page 89 |
Page 90 |
Page 91 |
Page 92 |
Page 93 |
Page 94 |
Page 95 |
Page 96 |
Page 97 |
Page 98 |
Page 99 |
Page 100 |
Page 101 |
Page 102 |
Page 103 |
Page 104 |
Page 105 |
Page 106 |
Page 107 |
Page 108 |
Page 109 |
Page 110 |
Page 111 |
Page 112 |
Page 113 |
Page 114 |
Page 115 |
Page 116 |
Page 117 |
Page 118 |
Page 119 |
Page 120 |
Page 121 |
Page 122 |
Page 123 |
Page 124 |
Page 125 |
Page 126 |
Page 127 |
Page 128 |
Page 129 |
Page 130 |
Page 131 |
Page 132 |
Page 133 |
Page 134 |
Page 135 |
Page 136 |
Page 137 |
Page 138 |
Page 139 |
Page 140 |
Page 141 |
Page 142 |
Page 143 |
Page 144 |
Page 145 |
Page 146 |
Page 147 |
Page 148 |
Page 149 |
Page 150 |
Page 151 |
Page 152 |
Page 153 |
Page 154 |
Page 155 |
Page 156 |
Page 157 |
Page 158 |
Page 159 |
Page 160 |
Page 161 |
Page 162 |
Page 163 |
Page 164 |
Page 165 |
Page 166 |
Page 167 |
Page 168 |
Page 169 |
Page 170 |
Page 171 |
Page 172 |
Page 173 |
Page 174 |
Page 175 |
Page 176 |
Page 177 |
Page 178 |
Page 179 |
Page 180 |
Page 181 |
Page 182 |
Page 183 |
Page 184 |
Page 185 |
Page 186 |
Page 187 |
Page 188 |
Page 189 |
Page 190 |
Page 191 |
Page 192 |
Page 193 |
Page 194 |
Page 195 |
Page 196 |
Page 197 |
Page 198 |
Page 199 |
Page 200 |
Page 201 |
Page 202 |
Page 203 |
Page 204 |
Page 205 |
Page 206 |
Page 207 |
Page 208 |
Page 209 |
Page 210 |
Page 211 |
Page 212 |
Page 213 |
Page 214 |
Page 215 |
Page 216 |
Page 217 |
Page 218 |
Page 219 |
Page 220 |
Page 221 |
Page 222 |
Page 223 |
Page 224 |
Page 225 |
Page 226 |
Page 227 |
Page 228 |
Page 229 |
Page 230 |
Page 231 |
Page 232 |
Page 233 |
Page 234 |
Page 235 |
Page 236 |
Page 237 |
Page 238 |
Page 239 |
Page 240 |
Page 241 |
Page 242 |
Page 243 |
Page 244 |
Page 245 |
Page 246 |
Page 247 |
Page 248 |
Page 249 |
Page 250 |
Page 251 |
Page 252 |
Page 253 |
Page 254 |
Page 255 |
Page 256