PART 1
That case reminds us that there is a breach of rule 2 only when it is ‘clearly established’ that the mysterious principles of sportsmanship and fair play have been violated. So any doubt must be resolved in favour of the accused, but it is not clear to what extent the burden of proof is greater under rule 2, compared with any other rule. It is curious that the rule speaks of violating ‘these principles’ in the plural, whereas retiring after breaking a rule is only one fundamental principle.
Taking advantage of sub-standard sailing instructions or of a sub-standard competitor does not break rule 2. If a race committee intends a mark to be rounded, but its sailing instructions require only that it be passed, a boat that detects this can sometimes validly sail a far shorter race1
. Anchoring during a race at a position charted as
‘Anchoring Prohibited’ breaks no rule, rule 2 included, if the prohibition is not activated by the sailing notice of race or instructions2
.
Rule 2 applies to both a boat and her owner (who may not be aboard while racing), which opens up the possibility of action under this rule against the boat of a non-competing owner when there is deliberate non-compliance with class rules. A penalty under rule 2 may be only the first step. An owner can be the subject of a rule 69.1 hearing.
It is not a breach of rule 2 (or any rule) for a right-of-way boat to hold her course even though she has good reason to believe that another boat is about to break a right-of-way rule with respect to her. So in WS 27, Iris and Daffodil were approaching the port-hand windward mark on port tack. Iris, clear ahead and to leeward, tacked (predictably, it was claimed) onto the starboard-tack layline for the mark right across the bows of Daffodil, which almost immediately hit her and holed her. The protest committee disqualified both boats, Iris under rule 15, and Daffodil under rule 2, pointing out that she knew that Iris was going to tack but did nothing to avoid collision. On appeal, Daffodil was reinstated, as she was not required to anticipate that Iris would break any rule3
.
It is not a breach of rule 2 for protestors to collaborate over lodging a protest: ‘Any boat is entitled to protest any other boat, subject to the provisions of rule 60. If any one boat may do so, three may also do so, and they do not break rule 2 simply because they consult before delivering their protests or because they deliver a joint protest4
.’
WS 138 points out that misjudgements are common during a race, and are not unfair sailing or misconduct. It is only when a penalty is not taken for a known rule breach that results from a misjudgement that rule 2 applies.
A protest committee that finds that a boat has broken rule 2 now has the option of awarding an excludable disqualification (DSQ) as well a non-excludable one (DNE). The penalties in the published rule 2 cases hitherto have been DNE. Would any of those have merited only a DSQ at the time, had that been available? In protests where there is found to be unfair sailing by a party that is to be disqualified under some other rule, the protest committee now has to decide whether just to add rule 2 to the rule(s) under which it is giving a DSQ, or whether to upgrade it to a DNE. Currently, there is no guidance. To give just a DSQ under rule 2 may be difficult to rationalise with having decided that the principles of sportsmanship and fair play have clearly been violated.
As the following table show, there is a substantial overlap between rule 2, Fair Sailing and rule 69, Misconduct, and a protest committee will sometimes have to decide whether to apply one, the other or even both of these rules. If either could be invoked, and if the perceived outcome of a rule 69.2 hearing is not likely to worse than a single DNE, rule 2 has the attraction of greater speed, less effort and fewer bad feelings. There is nothing to stop a protest committee that is penalising under rule 2 from giving a warning as to future conduct – which might include the threat of a rule 69.2 hearing for repeated misconduct.
WS 138 points out that rule 2 refers to ‘competing’, so that a protest under rule 2 ‘must involve the competition’. However, the facts found under a rule 2 protest may be seen to be misconduct, in which case ‘it may be appropriate for the protest committee to take separate action under rule 69.’
1 RYA 1985/4, see also under rule 28.1. 2 RYA 1989/6: the same applies to any local byelaw or regulation if not called up by the sailing instructions. 3 See also SC 4: ‘When a right-of-way boat touches a give-way boat that is not keeping clear without causing damage she does not break
rule 2…there was nothing unfair in [her] holding her course.’ 4 US 42, concerning a measurement protest
RYA The Racing Rules Explained 23
Page 1 |
Page 2 |
Page 3 |
Page 4 |
Page 5 |
Page 6 |
Page 7 |
Page 8 |
Page 9 |
Page 10 |
Page 11 |
Page 12 |
Page 13 |
Page 14 |
Page 15 |
Page 16 |
Page 17 |
Page 18 |
Page 19 |
Page 20 |
Page 21 |
Page 22 |
Page 23 |
Page 24 |
Page 25 |
Page 26 |
Page 27 |
Page 28 |
Page 29 |
Page 30 |
Page 31 |
Page 32 |
Page 33 |
Page 34 |
Page 35 |
Page 36 |
Page 37 |
Page 38 |
Page 39 |
Page 40 |
Page 41 |
Page 42 |
Page 43 |
Page 44 |
Page 45 |
Page 46 |
Page 47 |
Page 48 |
Page 49 |
Page 50 |
Page 51 |
Page 52 |
Page 53 |
Page 54 |
Page 55 |
Page 56 |
Page 57 |
Page 58 |
Page 59 |
Page 60 |
Page 61 |
Page 62 |
Page 63 |
Page 64 |
Page 65 |
Page 66 |
Page 67 |
Page 68 |
Page 69 |
Page 70 |
Page 71 |
Page 72 |
Page 73 |
Page 74 |
Page 75 |
Page 76 |
Page 77 |
Page 78 |
Page 79 |
Page 80 |
Page 81 |
Page 82 |
Page 83 |
Page 84 |
Page 85 |
Page 86 |
Page 87 |
Page 88 |
Page 89 |
Page 90 |
Page 91 |
Page 92 |
Page 93 |
Page 94 |
Page 95 |
Page 96 |
Page 97 |
Page 98 |
Page 99 |
Page 100 |
Page 101 |
Page 102 |
Page 103 |
Page 104 |
Page 105 |
Page 106 |
Page 107 |
Page 108 |
Page 109 |
Page 110 |
Page 111 |
Page 112 |
Page 113 |
Page 114 |
Page 115 |
Page 116 |
Page 117 |
Page 118 |
Page 119 |
Page 120 |
Page 121 |
Page 122 |
Page 123 |
Page 124 |
Page 125 |
Page 126 |
Page 127 |
Page 128 |
Page 129 |
Page 130 |
Page 131 |
Page 132 |
Page 133 |
Page 134 |
Page 135 |
Page 136 |
Page 137 |
Page 138 |
Page 139 |
Page 140 |
Page 141 |
Page 142 |
Page 143 |
Page 144 |
Page 145 |
Page 146 |
Page 147 |
Page 148 |
Page 149 |
Page 150 |
Page 151 |
Page 152 |
Page 153 |
Page 154 |
Page 155 |
Page 156 |
Page 157 |
Page 158 |
Page 159 |
Page 160 |
Page 161 |
Page 162 |
Page 163 |
Page 164 |
Page 165 |
Page 166 |
Page 167 |
Page 168 |
Page 169 |
Page 170 |
Page 171 |
Page 172 |
Page 173 |
Page 174 |
Page 175 |
Page 176 |
Page 177 |
Page 178 |
Page 179 |
Page 180 |
Page 181 |
Page 182 |
Page 183 |
Page 184 |
Page 185 |
Page 186 |
Page 187 |
Page 188 |
Page 189 |
Page 190 |
Page 191 |
Page 192 |
Page 193 |
Page 194 |
Page 195 |
Page 196 |
Page 197 |
Page 198 |
Page 199 |
Page 200 |
Page 201 |
Page 202 |
Page 203 |
Page 204 |
Page 205 |
Page 206 |
Page 207 |
Page 208 |
Page 209 |
Page 210 |
Page 211 |
Page 212 |
Page 213 |
Page 214 |
Page 215 |
Page 216 |
Page 217 |
Page 218 |
Page 219 |
Page 220 |
Page 221 |
Page 222 |
Page 223 |
Page 224 |
Page 225 |
Page 226 |
Page 227 |
Page 228 |
Page 229 |
Page 230 |
Page 231 |
Page 232 |
Page 233 |
Page 234 |
Page 235 |
Page 236 |
Page 237 |
Page 238 |
Page 239 |
Page 240 |
Page 241 |
Page 242 |
Page 243 |
Page 244 |
Page 245 |
Page 246 |
Page 247 |
Page 248 |
Page 249 |
Page 250 |
Page 251 |
Page 252 |
Page 253 |
Page 254 |
Page 255 |
Page 256