PART 4
The protest committee was obligated to decide whether Iris’s protest was valid before considering its content [see rule 63.5 (Hearings: Validity of the Protest or Request for Redress)]. If the protested incident had been the right-of-way incident, the protest would have been invalid because Iris did not display her protest flag until five minutes after the incident. This was not the “first reasonable opportunity” as required by rule 61.1(a).
However, Iris’s protest of Daffodil’s failure to take a proper and timely Two-Turns Penalty met the requirements of rule 61.1(a), since the incident referred to under rule 61.2(b) was Daffodil’s failure to take a Two-Turns Penalty when required and Iris complied with rule 61.1(a) at that time. Iris’s protest was therefore valid.
However, Daffodil’s failure to take a proper and timely Two-Turns Penalty broke no rule. It meant only that she failed to take a penalty, but her failure to take a penalty had no bearing on the protested incident. Since the right-of-way incident was not the incident described in Iris’s protest, Daffodil could not be penalised for that incident.
Taking a penalty does not mean that the incident that gave rise to it cannot be the subject of a protest hearing. Indeed, as above, the protestor’s intention may be to prove that the turn(s) did not exonerate the incident, which may be for one or more of a number of reasons, namely that the boat taking the penalty - • did not get clear of other boats before starting a turn • did get clear, but not as soon after the incident as possible. Getting clear may take longer than the actual taking of the penalty, particularly for a starting line incident around the time of the starting signal, and positive action is needed, not just waiting until the boats separate after a mark or after starting. Nor is a boat entitled to thinking time after the incident before deciding to take a penalty1
.
• did not keep clear while taking a penalty turn, as required by rule 20.2 • did not take the second of two turns promptly after the first turn • did not take a second turn in the same direction as the first turn • took only one turn when two were required • both touched a mark and broke a rule of part 2, but took only a single turn2 • caused injury or serious damage or gained a significant advantage in the race or series: facts related to a request for redress and/or an insurance claim may be sought
• purported to take a penalty for an infringement for which the penalty was not available, such as a breach of rule 23
, or of rule 42, Propulsion.
In addition, there may be a protest when turns were validly taken for an incident resulting in damage that was not serious but which affected the other boat’s score in the race or series, resulting in a related request for redress based on the facts from the protest, even though no further penalisation is possible.
‘Damage’ and ‘injury’ are considered under rule 14. As in that rule, damage includes damage to a third boat or vessel. A former Q&A said that rule 44.1(b) applies to damage caused to a committee vessel that is a mark, precluding taking a turn penalty. If there is injury to a person, it will preclude the taking of a two-turns penalty (or a scoring penalty, if available), including by a right-of-way boat that broke rule 14 resulting in contact causing injury. If there is non-serious damage, a two-turns penalty is available, including for breaking rule 14.
However, rule 44.1 precludes the availability of a two-turns penalty when the damage is serious. What is ‘serious’? First, there must be damage, as discussed, and it is for the protest committee to decide whether it is serious or not.
US 115 considers a dictionary definition of ‘serious’: ‘important because of possible danger or risk; having potentially undesired consequences; giving cause for concern; of significant degree or amount.’ It suggests related questions:
1. Did the damage put the safety of the crew at risk?
2. Did the damage include a hole in the boat which compromised the integrity of the hull? 3. Did the damage adversely impact the boats’ sailing performance in a significant way? 4. Will the cost of repairing the damage be a significant amount relative to the market value of the boat? 5. Will the value of the boat after repairing the damage be significantly diminished?
1 ‘Rule 44 does not provide time for a boat to deliberate whether she has broken a rule. If a boat decides too late that she has broken a rule, the
penalty provided by rule 44.4 is not available to her’: US 60. Some judges would nevertheless afford her a little thinking time. 2 The appropriate penalty for an incident involving both infringements is two turns, not three – see rule 44.1(a) 3 See rule 64.1(b)
RYA The Racing Rules Explained 159
Page 1 |
Page 2 |
Page 3 |
Page 4 |
Page 5 |
Page 6 |
Page 7 |
Page 8 |
Page 9 |
Page 10 |
Page 11 |
Page 12 |
Page 13 |
Page 14 |
Page 15 |
Page 16 |
Page 17 |
Page 18 |
Page 19 |
Page 20 |
Page 21 |
Page 22 |
Page 23 |
Page 24 |
Page 25 |
Page 26 |
Page 27 |
Page 28 |
Page 29 |
Page 30 |
Page 31 |
Page 32 |
Page 33 |
Page 34 |
Page 35 |
Page 36 |
Page 37 |
Page 38 |
Page 39 |
Page 40 |
Page 41 |
Page 42 |
Page 43 |
Page 44 |
Page 45 |
Page 46 |
Page 47 |
Page 48 |
Page 49 |
Page 50 |
Page 51 |
Page 52 |
Page 53 |
Page 54 |
Page 55 |
Page 56 |
Page 57 |
Page 58 |
Page 59 |
Page 60 |
Page 61 |
Page 62 |
Page 63 |
Page 64 |
Page 65 |
Page 66 |
Page 67 |
Page 68 |
Page 69 |
Page 70 |
Page 71 |
Page 72 |
Page 73 |
Page 74 |
Page 75 |
Page 76 |
Page 77 |
Page 78 |
Page 79 |
Page 80 |
Page 81 |
Page 82 |
Page 83 |
Page 84 |
Page 85 |
Page 86 |
Page 87 |
Page 88 |
Page 89 |
Page 90 |
Page 91 |
Page 92 |
Page 93 |
Page 94 |
Page 95 |
Page 96 |
Page 97 |
Page 98 |
Page 99 |
Page 100 |
Page 101 |
Page 102 |
Page 103 |
Page 104 |
Page 105 |
Page 106 |
Page 107 |
Page 108 |
Page 109 |
Page 110 |
Page 111 |
Page 112 |
Page 113 |
Page 114 |
Page 115 |
Page 116 |
Page 117 |
Page 118 |
Page 119 |
Page 120 |
Page 121 |
Page 122 |
Page 123 |
Page 124 |
Page 125 |
Page 126 |
Page 127 |
Page 128 |
Page 129 |
Page 130 |
Page 131 |
Page 132 |
Page 133 |
Page 134 |
Page 135 |
Page 136 |
Page 137 |
Page 138 |
Page 139 |
Page 140 |
Page 141 |
Page 142 |
Page 143 |
Page 144 |
Page 145 |
Page 146 |
Page 147 |
Page 148 |
Page 149 |
Page 150 |
Page 151 |
Page 152 |
Page 153 |
Page 154 |
Page 155 |
Page 156 |
Page 157 |
Page 158 |
Page 159 |
Page 160 |
Page 161 |
Page 162 |
Page 163 |
Page 164 |
Page 165 |
Page 166 |
Page 167 |
Page 168 |
Page 169 |
Page 170 |
Page 171 |
Page 172 |
Page 173 |
Page 174 |
Page 175 |
Page 176 |
Page 177 |
Page 178 |
Page 179 |
Page 180 |
Page 181 |
Page 182 |
Page 183 |
Page 184 |
Page 185 |
Page 186 |
Page 187 |
Page 188 |
Page 189 |
Page 190 |
Page 191 |
Page 192 |
Page 193 |
Page 194 |
Page 195 |
Page 196 |
Page 197 |
Page 198 |
Page 199 |
Page 200 |
Page 201 |
Page 202 |
Page 203 |
Page 204 |
Page 205 |
Page 206 |
Page 207 |
Page 208 |
Page 209 |
Page 210 |
Page 211 |
Page 212 |
Page 213 |
Page 214 |
Page 215 |
Page 216 |
Page 217 |
Page 218 |
Page 219 |
Page 220 |
Page 221 |
Page 222 |
Page 223 |
Page 224 |
Page 225 |
Page 226 |
Page 227 |
Page 228 |
Page 229 |
Page 230 |
Page 231 |
Page 232 |
Page 233 |
Page 234 |
Page 235 |
Page 236 |
Page 237 |
Page 238 |
Page 239 |
Page 240 |
Page 241 |
Page 242 |
Page 243 |
Page 244 |
Page 245 |
Page 246 |
Page 247 |
Page 248 |
Page 249 |
Page 250 |
Page 251 |
Page 252 |
Page 253 |
Page 254 |
Page 255 |
Page 256