search.noResults

search.searching

note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
PART 3 Rule 35 TIME LIMIT AND SCORES


If one boat sails the course as required by rule 28 and finishes within the time limit, if any, all boats that finish shall be scored according to their finishing places unless the race is abandoned. If no boat finishes within the time limit, the race committee shall abandon the race.


When I am asked to check an event’s sailing instructions, the first instruction I usually turn to is one that describes the time limit. This is because the provision in the rule (that one boat finishing within the time limit makes the race valid for all competitors) is usually negated, but, contrary to rule 86.1(b), the sailing instruction often fails to say that rule 35 is changed. So in RYA 1998/2, the bad news for a slow boat appealing against being timed out in a handicap race was that the race officer was not improper in not shortening. The good news, however, was that the time limit sailing instruction made no mention of rule 35 being changed, and as at least one boat had finished within the time limit, the race was valid for all finishers. L15.2 of the Sailing Instructions Guide suggests wording for when the time limit is intended to apply to all boats. Sailing instructions for time limits are sometimes a mixture of the two principles, setting a time limit for the first boat, with the time limit for the other boats being the later of the time limit for the first boat and so many minutes after the finishing time of the first boat.


The rule does not cover all the bases. If no boat finishes within the time limit, the race is clearly abandoned. If one boat sails the course and finishes within the time limit, the race is clearly valid for at least that boat, and for all other finishers unless the sailing instructions change rule 35. That leaves open the possibility that only one boat finishes within the time limit, as defined, approaching the finishing line in the direction of the course from the last mark of the course, but is then found, after a protest, not to have complied with rule 28 at an earlier mark, which, as has been seen, is not the same issue. The answer is in rule 90.3, Scoring – the race is not to be scored. However, if the boat is disqualified for breaking some other rule, the race is valid.


The rule speaks of a boat that ‘sails the course as required by rule 28.1’. What about a boat in a U flag or black flag start that is to be scored UFD or BFD? If she is then the first boat to finish, does she trigger the time limit? Yes, says Q&A G10, regardless of whether she was behind or across the starting line at her starting signal. That is clearly the case when she was then on the pre-course side of the starting line at her starting signal, since she started, which is one the actions required for overall compliance with rule 28.1.


But what if she was across the starting line at the starting signal and did not return? She did not start, so how can she be said to have sailed the course? The answer given is that rule 35 requires the boat to sail the course, and it does not mention starting. (The situation is not helped by the fact that ‘sailing the course’ is one of three components of compliance with rule 28, the others being starting and finishing: but ‘sailing the course’ is also the title of rule 28, which encompasses all these actions, as well as the string test. However, a rule’s title is not part of the rule.)


Rule 36


RACES TO BE RESTARTED OR RESAILED If a race is restarted or resailed, a breach of a rule in the original race, or in any previous restart or resail of that race, shall not (a) prohibit a boat from competing unless she has broken rule 30.4; or


(b) cause a boat to be penalized except under rule 30.2, 30.4 or 69 or under rule 14 when she has caused injury or serious damage.


The general principle is that, when there has been a general recall (resulting in a restart) or an abandonment (resulting in a resail), most sins are forgiven – with exceptions: when a boat is in the penalty area in the last minute of a black flag start, the whole point of the rule is that she shall carry her BFD and not take part in the restart if there is a general recall or post-start abandonment and resail; nor will those events negate a Z flag penalty, or wipe out misbehaviour warranting a rule 69 hearing or report.


RYA The Racing Rules Explained 149


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68  |  Page 69  |  Page 70  |  Page 71  |  Page 72  |  Page 73  |  Page 74  |  Page 75  |  Page 76  |  Page 77  |  Page 78  |  Page 79  |  Page 80  |  Page 81  |  Page 82  |  Page 83  |  Page 84  |  Page 85  |  Page 86  |  Page 87  |  Page 88  |  Page 89  |  Page 90  |  Page 91  |  Page 92  |  Page 93  |  Page 94  |  Page 95  |  Page 96  |  Page 97  |  Page 98  |  Page 99  |  Page 100  |  Page 101  |  Page 102  |  Page 103  |  Page 104  |  Page 105  |  Page 106  |  Page 107  |  Page 108  |  Page 109  |  Page 110  |  Page 111  |  Page 112  |  Page 113  |  Page 114  |  Page 115  |  Page 116  |  Page 117  |  Page 118  |  Page 119  |  Page 120  |  Page 121  |  Page 122  |  Page 123  |  Page 124  |  Page 125  |  Page 126  |  Page 127  |  Page 128  |  Page 129  |  Page 130  |  Page 131  |  Page 132  |  Page 133  |  Page 134  |  Page 135  |  Page 136  |  Page 137  |  Page 138  |  Page 139  |  Page 140  |  Page 141  |  Page 142  |  Page 143  |  Page 144  |  Page 145  |  Page 146  |  Page 147  |  Page 148  |  Page 149  |  Page 150  |  Page 151  |  Page 152  |  Page 153  |  Page 154  |  Page 155  |  Page 156  |  Page 157  |  Page 158  |  Page 159  |  Page 160  |  Page 161  |  Page 162  |  Page 163  |  Page 164  |  Page 165  |  Page 166  |  Page 167  |  Page 168  |  Page 169  |  Page 170  |  Page 171  |  Page 172  |  Page 173  |  Page 174  |  Page 175  |  Page 176  |  Page 177  |  Page 178  |  Page 179  |  Page 180  |  Page 181  |  Page 182  |  Page 183  |  Page 184  |  Page 185  |  Page 186  |  Page 187  |  Page 188  |  Page 189  |  Page 190  |  Page 191  |  Page 192  |  Page 193  |  Page 194  |  Page 195  |  Page 196  |  Page 197  |  Page 198  |  Page 199  |  Page 200  |  Page 201  |  Page 202  |  Page 203  |  Page 204  |  Page 205  |  Page 206  |  Page 207  |  Page 208  |  Page 209  |  Page 210  |  Page 211  |  Page 212  |  Page 213  |  Page 214  |  Page 215  |  Page 216  |  Page 217  |  Page 218  |  Page 219  |  Page 220  |  Page 221  |  Page 222  |  Page 223  |  Page 224  |  Page 225  |  Page 226  |  Page 227  |  Page 228  |  Page 229  |  Page 230  |  Page 231  |  Page 232  |  Page 233  |  Page 234  |  Page 235  |  Page 236  |  Page 237  |  Page 238  |  Page 239  |  Page 240  |  Page 241  |  Page 242  |  Page 243  |  Page 244  |  Page 245  |  Page 246  |  Page 247  |  Page 248  |  Page 249  |  Page 250  |  Page 251  |  Page 252  |  Page 253  |  Page 254  |  Page 255  |  Page 256