search.noResults

search.searching

note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
PART 3


Rule 31 applies when a boat touches a course mark she is rounding as required. It ends the leg she was on and begins the next leg. It will not apply if, just after starting on a typical trapezoid course, she touches the leeward mark that has been laid to windward of the starting line. That mark does not begin or end the leg she is currently on, which is the leg from the starting line to the windward mark. It will not be her next mark until she has rounded the windward mark – indeed, if her course is ‘outer loop’, it will never be a mark of her course. A mark that is a ‘passing mark’ to keep boats clear of an area is one that ‘bounds’ a leg.


A boat must not, while racing, touch a finishing mark before she finishes when the finishing mark will end the leg of the course she is on. Therefore, before she is on the final leg, she can touch a finishing mark, unless it is separately a course mark for her on the leg she is on, such as a mark of a start and finish line that must be passed through at the end of each lap.


A boat must not touch a finishing mark after finishing while she is still racing, which is until, after finishing, she clears the finishing line and marks. So if a boat touches a finishing mark just after cutting the finishing line, she now has to take a turn penalty and return to the pre-finish side of the line and cross the line again. WS 127 explains.


A boat clears the finishing line and marks when the following two conditions are met: no part of her hull, crew or equipment is on the line, and no finishing mark is influencing her choice of course. For example, a boat that clears the finishing line and then continues to sail toward a finishing mark, where current sets her into the mark, is still racing and has broken rule 31. However, a boat that crosses the finishing line, and sails to a position at which no finishing mark is influencing her choice of course, is no longer racing. If, later, she hits a finishing mark, she does not break rule 31.


WS 58, as discussed under rule 28.2, says that a buoy laid as an intended limit mark on the post-course side of the finishing line does not end or bound the last leg of the course. Since the ‘end or bound’ requirement appears in both rule 28.2 and rule 31, it follows that such a ‘mark’ can also be touched. However that case says that a finishing line limit mark has a required side for a boat when it is laid on the finishing line or its course side, presumably because it bounds the last leg, and therefore it must not be touched.


The rule forbids touching a starting mark before starting. This does not mean that a committee boat (or any starting mark) can be touched immediately after starting, because such marks begin or bound the first leg of the course the boat is now on.


It is unclear (to me, at least) whether it may sometimes be possible to touch the committee boat or buoys of a starting line before starting without breaking rule 31. You must not touch a starting mark before starting – but the definition Mark says that a mark is an object the sailing instructions require a boat to leave on a specified side – and rule 28.2 says that a starting mark does not have a required side for a boat until she is approaching it to start. So in fact, it is argued, those objects are not in fact marks until near the starting signal.


The alternative view is that you must not touch the committee boat and starting marks at any time from the preparatory signal (when a boat is now racing) until the starting signal. The reason is that the definition Mark is to be read as meaning that a mark is an object the sailing instructions require a boat to leave on a specified side at some time in the race. So the leeward ‘mark’ buoy you meet shortly after starting IS a mark. You can only touch it because it is a mark that does not begin, bound or end the leg you are on, as stated in rule 31. The rule clearly says that a starting mark is not to be touched before starting. The starting marks will acquire a required side when approaching the line to start, and therefore they are always marks, and are not to be touched while racing and before starting. (If one is touched before approaching the line to start, a turn penalty taken promptly as required will rarely interfere with a boat’s starting strategy.)


RYA The Racing Rules Explained 143


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68  |  Page 69  |  Page 70  |  Page 71  |  Page 72  |  Page 73  |  Page 74  |  Page 75  |  Page 76  |  Page 77  |  Page 78  |  Page 79  |  Page 80  |  Page 81  |  Page 82  |  Page 83  |  Page 84  |  Page 85  |  Page 86  |  Page 87  |  Page 88  |  Page 89  |  Page 90  |  Page 91  |  Page 92  |  Page 93  |  Page 94  |  Page 95  |  Page 96  |  Page 97  |  Page 98  |  Page 99  |  Page 100  |  Page 101  |  Page 102  |  Page 103  |  Page 104  |  Page 105  |  Page 106  |  Page 107  |  Page 108  |  Page 109  |  Page 110  |  Page 111  |  Page 112  |  Page 113  |  Page 114  |  Page 115  |  Page 116  |  Page 117  |  Page 118  |  Page 119  |  Page 120  |  Page 121  |  Page 122  |  Page 123  |  Page 124  |  Page 125  |  Page 126  |  Page 127  |  Page 128  |  Page 129  |  Page 130  |  Page 131  |  Page 132  |  Page 133  |  Page 134  |  Page 135  |  Page 136  |  Page 137  |  Page 138  |  Page 139  |  Page 140  |  Page 141  |  Page 142  |  Page 143  |  Page 144  |  Page 145  |  Page 146  |  Page 147  |  Page 148  |  Page 149  |  Page 150  |  Page 151  |  Page 152  |  Page 153  |  Page 154  |  Page 155  |  Page 156  |  Page 157  |  Page 158  |  Page 159  |  Page 160  |  Page 161  |  Page 162  |  Page 163  |  Page 164  |  Page 165  |  Page 166  |  Page 167  |  Page 168  |  Page 169  |  Page 170  |  Page 171  |  Page 172  |  Page 173  |  Page 174  |  Page 175  |  Page 176  |  Page 177  |  Page 178  |  Page 179  |  Page 180  |  Page 181  |  Page 182  |  Page 183  |  Page 184  |  Page 185  |  Page 186  |  Page 187  |  Page 188  |  Page 189  |  Page 190  |  Page 191  |  Page 192  |  Page 193  |  Page 194  |  Page 195  |  Page 196  |  Page 197  |  Page 198  |  Page 199  |  Page 200  |  Page 201  |  Page 202  |  Page 203  |  Page 204  |  Page 205  |  Page 206  |  Page 207  |  Page 208  |  Page 209  |  Page 210  |  Page 211  |  Page 212  |  Page 213  |  Page 214  |  Page 215  |  Page 216  |  Page 217  |  Page 218  |  Page 219  |  Page 220  |  Page 221  |  Page 222  |  Page 223  |  Page 224  |  Page 225  |  Page 226  |  Page 227  |  Page 228  |  Page 229  |  Page 230  |  Page 231  |  Page 232  |  Page 233  |  Page 234  |  Page 235  |  Page 236  |  Page 237  |  Page 238  |  Page 239  |  Page 240  |  Page 241  |  Page 242  |  Page 243  |  Page 244  |  Page 245  |  Page 246  |  Page 247  |  Page 248  |  Page 249  |  Page 250  |  Page 251  |  Page 252  |  Page 253  |  Page 254  |  Page 255  |  Page 256