PART 3
If a boat is several hull lengths on the course side of the starting line at the starting signal of a black flag start, she will know then that she is disqualified, and ‘she is obliged to retire promptly. When she does not do so and then deliberately hinders another boat in the race, she commits a gross breach of sportsmanship and, therefore, of rule 2, and her helmsman commits a gross breach of sportsmanship1
boat, the fact that she must know she has broken a rule but does not retire is contrary to the Basic Principle, Sportsmanship and the Rules, and that alone breaks rule 2, as has been seen.
It is common for a sailing instruction to require the race committee to notify UFD and BFD boats of their penalty at the first windward mark, at which they must retire from the race. Suppose there is no such sailing instruction, but the race committee tells a UFD or BFD boat to leave the race while it is progress – must she comply? If she believes that she did not break rule 30.3 or 30.4 (as applicable), and requests redress after the race, I do not think she breaks a rule by continuing to race, but her position is less certain if she continues to race but does not request redress, and I think a race committee or another boat would be entitled to protest her under rule 2.
When there is a general recall of a black flag start, the race committee displays the sail numbers of BFD boats, which are disqualified and must not take part in the restart. If they do, their penalty becomes a DNE. If a boat believes that she is wrongly identified, can she take part in the restart and request redress? No, she will still be DNE, even if she can show she was wrongly identified, because her infringement relates to ignoring the display of her number, not to being over the line at the wrong time. Her only remedy is not to take part, and to seek redress, which, if given in a series, would normally be based on her results in other races2
. For this reason, race officers
should be cautious about using rule 30.3 or 30.4 in a race that is not part of a series, or, if within a series, is also for a major prize, since no compensation is possible for a misidentified boat, and sailing instructions sometimes set out a mechanism for a BFD boat to take part in the restart by telling the race committee, and then asking for redress afterwards. One such says that if the request is upheld, the BFD is annulled: if the request is refused, the BFD stands; and if the request had no merit or was not in fact lodged, the penalty is upgraded to a DNE.
When the race committee sees a boat breaking rule 30.3 or 30.4 in a start that is recalled, but then fails to display her sail number, so that she competes in the restart, is she then entitled to a finishing place? No, continues WS 96.
The boat should be disqualified as required by the second sentence of rule 30.4. However…she should be scored BFD and not DNE. If she requests redress claiming that she is entitled to a finishing place because the race committee erred by not displaying her sail number, her request should be denied. While not displaying her sail number is an improper omission by the race committee, it is not the omission that deprived her of her finishing place, but the fact that she had been on the course side of the starting line in the minute before her starting signal. However, if she was scored DNE, redress should be granted to the extent of changing her score to BFD.
That is clear, but the problem sometimes occurs because the number displayed is not the boat’s actual sail number, but an allocated bow number in a major event, or only the last few digits of a longer sail number, as with Lasers. Sailing instructions can and should change rule 30.4 to legitimise this, but I think that if that is not done, a boat that does not know for sure that she was over in the last minute is entitled to ignore a faulty number display and restart, and then to seek redress as stated above, However, the principle in WS 96 would still apply, and the best she can hope for is to revert to the position she would have been in had she not taken part in the restart, namely that her DNE becomes a BFD, so to ‘make a point’ in this way is only a partial improvement, unless she also wishes to contest that she was over in the last minute.
.’ Even if she does not deliberately hinder another
1 WS 65: the last nine words quoted opens up the possibility of a hearing against the competitor under rule 69.2. The same would apply to a U
flag race 2 WS 96
RYA The Racing Rules Explained 141
Page 1 |
Page 2 |
Page 3 |
Page 4 |
Page 5 |
Page 6 |
Page 7 |
Page 8 |
Page 9 |
Page 10 |
Page 11 |
Page 12 |
Page 13 |
Page 14 |
Page 15 |
Page 16 |
Page 17 |
Page 18 |
Page 19 |
Page 20 |
Page 21 |
Page 22 |
Page 23 |
Page 24 |
Page 25 |
Page 26 |
Page 27 |
Page 28 |
Page 29 |
Page 30 |
Page 31 |
Page 32 |
Page 33 |
Page 34 |
Page 35 |
Page 36 |
Page 37 |
Page 38 |
Page 39 |
Page 40 |
Page 41 |
Page 42 |
Page 43 |
Page 44 |
Page 45 |
Page 46 |
Page 47 |
Page 48 |
Page 49 |
Page 50 |
Page 51 |
Page 52 |
Page 53 |
Page 54 |
Page 55 |
Page 56 |
Page 57 |
Page 58 |
Page 59 |
Page 60 |
Page 61 |
Page 62 |
Page 63 |
Page 64 |
Page 65 |
Page 66 |
Page 67 |
Page 68 |
Page 69 |
Page 70 |
Page 71 |
Page 72 |
Page 73 |
Page 74 |
Page 75 |
Page 76 |
Page 77 |
Page 78 |
Page 79 |
Page 80 |
Page 81 |
Page 82 |
Page 83 |
Page 84 |
Page 85 |
Page 86 |
Page 87 |
Page 88 |
Page 89 |
Page 90 |
Page 91 |
Page 92 |
Page 93 |
Page 94 |
Page 95 |
Page 96 |
Page 97 |
Page 98 |
Page 99 |
Page 100 |
Page 101 |
Page 102 |
Page 103 |
Page 104 |
Page 105 |
Page 106 |
Page 107 |
Page 108 |
Page 109 |
Page 110 |
Page 111 |
Page 112 |
Page 113 |
Page 114 |
Page 115 |
Page 116 |
Page 117 |
Page 118 |
Page 119 |
Page 120 |
Page 121 |
Page 122 |
Page 123 |
Page 124 |
Page 125 |
Page 126 |
Page 127 |
Page 128 |
Page 129 |
Page 130 |
Page 131 |
Page 132 |
Page 133 |
Page 134 |
Page 135 |
Page 136 |
Page 137 |
Page 138 |
Page 139 |
Page 140 |
Page 141 |
Page 142 |
Page 143 |
Page 144 |
Page 145 |
Page 146 |
Page 147 |
Page 148 |
Page 149 |
Page 150 |
Page 151 |
Page 152 |
Page 153 |
Page 154 |
Page 155 |
Page 156 |
Page 157 |
Page 158 |
Page 159 |
Page 160 |
Page 161 |
Page 162 |
Page 163 |
Page 164 |
Page 165 |
Page 166 |
Page 167 |
Page 168 |
Page 169 |
Page 170 |
Page 171 |
Page 172 |
Page 173 |
Page 174 |
Page 175 |
Page 176 |
Page 177 |
Page 178 |
Page 179 |
Page 180 |
Page 181 |
Page 182 |
Page 183 |
Page 184 |
Page 185 |
Page 186 |
Page 187 |
Page 188 |
Page 189 |
Page 190 |
Page 191 |
Page 192 |
Page 193 |
Page 194 |
Page 195 |
Page 196 |
Page 197 |
Page 198 |
Page 199 |
Page 200 |
Page 201 |
Page 202 |
Page 203 |
Page 204 |
Page 205 |
Page 206 |
Page 207 |
Page 208 |
Page 209 |
Page 210 |
Page 211 |
Page 212 |
Page 213 |
Page 214 |
Page 215 |
Page 216 |
Page 217 |
Page 218 |
Page 219 |
Page 220 |
Page 221 |
Page 222 |
Page 223 |
Page 224 |
Page 225 |
Page 226 |
Page 227 |
Page 228 |
Page 229 |
Page 230 |
Page 231 |
Page 232 |
Page 233 |
Page 234 |
Page 235 |
Page 236 |
Page 237 |
Page 238 |
Page 239 |
Page 240 |
Page 241 |
Page 242 |
Page 243 |
Page 244 |
Page 245 |
Page 246 |
Page 247 |
Page 248 |
Page 249 |
Page 250 |
Page 251 |
Page 252 |
Page 253 |
Page 254 |
Page 255 |
Page 256