PART 1
So to try to win a series by using a validly-obtained windward overlap to carry a competitor well past the point where her proper course would have been to tack for the mark does not break rule 21
.
Examples from cases of rule 2 being broken by deliberately breaking other rules include: • Being knowingly OCS at the starting signal and not making any attempt to start, in order to obtain a controlling position2
. • Being knowingly BFD in a Black Flag start under rule 30.3, but not retiring and then covering a competitor3
• Not sailing the course by deliberately missing out a mark to get close to the other boat, thus breaking rule 24.24
.
Incidents of this sort will normally happen only when the aggressor can discard her own bad result in the race in question, and only towards the end of a series when possibilities and options become apparent.
Intent is a clear feature of the rule – even a mistaken intent. In RYA 2011/2, Iris thought that she would retain her second place in the series if Thetis did not win the last race, and so manoeuvred her down to 8th place. In fact, the calculation (complicated by the availability of a second discard) was incorrect, and Iris’s place was secure regardless of where Thetis finished. This was held not to be a breach of rule 2.
If Daffodil manoeuvres against Iris with no objective other than to benefit Daffodil’s associate Thetis in fleet racing, this is unfair ‘team racing’. Since this would be quite acceptable in ‘proper’ team racing under Appendix D, Team Racing Rules, one might expect to find in Appendix D a statement that the Fair Sailing rule does not apply, or only partly applies. In fact, there is no such statement. Instead, D1.1(g) adds to rule 41, Outside Help, stating that a boat may receive help from another boat in her team provided electronic communication is not used. By implication, this ‘help’ is then sportsmanlike and fair. ‘Helping’ is the essence of team racing. So when unauthorised team racing occurs in fleet racing, it is a specific breach of rule 41 as well as a general breach of rule 2. The fact that it may therefore be a gross breach of rule 41 gives rise to the possibility of action under rule 69.1 as well.
Tricking fellow competitors can break rule 2, as for example a port-tack boat that deliberately hails ‘starboard’ when she knows that it is she herself that is the one on port tack5
.
Positioning crew and equipment advantageously does not break rule 2 if no other rule is broken. There is no rule that dictates how the helmsman or crew of a leeward boat must sit, and contact with a windward boat does not break rule 2 unless there is deliberate misuse of positioning6
and touching another boat), with no intention other than to cause a breach of rule 11 breaks rule 27
. On the other hand, deliberate action (in this case reaching out .
RYA 1999/5 puts an interesting gloss on this. Contact between one boat (including her crew) and another is not a prerequisite of a failure to keep clear, as defined. Rather, it is evidence that a boat is already not keeping clear, and many breaches of the rules of Part 2 will not involve contact. So when, racing in larger boats, the crew of L reached out and touched W, this was no more than proof of the closeness of W and therefore that she was already breaking rule 11 – and therefore rule 2 was not broken.
In RYA 1989/13, a spray hood on a cruiser-racer was raised downwind and lowered upwind. This did not break rule 2, since the use of standard designed positions for equipment not restricted by class rules or by the sailing instructions was not a clear-cut violation of the principle of sportsmanship.
.
1 RYA 1967/13 2 WS 34 3 WS 65 4 RYA 1986/6 5 WS 47: the question in the case presupposes that the hailer is an experienced sailor while the hailed is inexperienced, but the decision does not make this distinction. I suppose that a deliberately incorrect answer to a question from another boat as to which way to leave the next mark
would also break rule 2: on the other hand, claims for and oral denials of room at a mark are unlikely to cross the ‘unfairness’ threshold. 6 WS 74: an example of misuse might be launching outboard on a trapeze in light winds. 7 WS 73: similarly RYA 1988/8, when masts touch after L heels to windward.
22 RYA The Racing Rules Explained
Page 1 |
Page 2 |
Page 3 |
Page 4 |
Page 5 |
Page 6 |
Page 7 |
Page 8 |
Page 9 |
Page 10 |
Page 11 |
Page 12 |
Page 13 |
Page 14 |
Page 15 |
Page 16 |
Page 17 |
Page 18 |
Page 19 |
Page 20 |
Page 21 |
Page 22 |
Page 23 |
Page 24 |
Page 25 |
Page 26 |
Page 27 |
Page 28 |
Page 29 |
Page 30 |
Page 31 |
Page 32 |
Page 33 |
Page 34 |
Page 35 |
Page 36 |
Page 37 |
Page 38 |
Page 39 |
Page 40 |
Page 41 |
Page 42 |
Page 43 |
Page 44 |
Page 45 |
Page 46 |
Page 47 |
Page 48 |
Page 49 |
Page 50 |
Page 51 |
Page 52 |
Page 53 |
Page 54 |
Page 55 |
Page 56 |
Page 57 |
Page 58 |
Page 59 |
Page 60 |
Page 61 |
Page 62 |
Page 63 |
Page 64 |
Page 65 |
Page 66 |
Page 67 |
Page 68 |
Page 69 |
Page 70 |
Page 71 |
Page 72 |
Page 73 |
Page 74 |
Page 75 |
Page 76 |
Page 77 |
Page 78 |
Page 79 |
Page 80 |
Page 81 |
Page 82 |
Page 83 |
Page 84 |
Page 85 |
Page 86 |
Page 87 |
Page 88 |
Page 89 |
Page 90 |
Page 91 |
Page 92 |
Page 93 |
Page 94 |
Page 95 |
Page 96 |
Page 97 |
Page 98 |
Page 99 |
Page 100 |
Page 101 |
Page 102 |
Page 103 |
Page 104 |
Page 105 |
Page 106 |
Page 107 |
Page 108 |
Page 109 |
Page 110 |
Page 111 |
Page 112 |
Page 113 |
Page 114 |
Page 115 |
Page 116 |
Page 117 |
Page 118 |
Page 119 |
Page 120 |
Page 121 |
Page 122 |
Page 123 |
Page 124 |
Page 125 |
Page 126 |
Page 127 |
Page 128 |
Page 129 |
Page 130 |
Page 131 |
Page 132 |
Page 133 |
Page 134 |
Page 135 |
Page 136 |
Page 137 |
Page 138 |
Page 139 |
Page 140 |
Page 141 |
Page 142 |
Page 143 |
Page 144 |
Page 145 |
Page 146 |
Page 147 |
Page 148 |
Page 149 |
Page 150 |
Page 151 |
Page 152 |
Page 153 |
Page 154 |
Page 155 |
Page 156 |
Page 157 |
Page 158 |
Page 159 |
Page 160 |
Page 161 |
Page 162 |
Page 163 |
Page 164 |
Page 165 |
Page 166 |
Page 167 |
Page 168 |
Page 169 |
Page 170 |
Page 171 |
Page 172 |
Page 173 |
Page 174 |
Page 175 |
Page 176 |
Page 177 |
Page 178 |
Page 179 |
Page 180 |
Page 181 |
Page 182 |
Page 183 |
Page 184 |
Page 185 |
Page 186 |
Page 187 |
Page 188 |
Page 189 |
Page 190 |
Page 191 |
Page 192 |
Page 193 |
Page 194 |
Page 195 |
Page 196 |
Page 197 |
Page 198 |
Page 199 |
Page 200 |
Page 201 |
Page 202 |
Page 203 |
Page 204 |
Page 205 |
Page 206 |
Page 207 |
Page 208 |
Page 209 |
Page 210 |
Page 211 |
Page 212 |
Page 213 |
Page 214 |
Page 215 |
Page 216 |
Page 217 |
Page 218 |
Page 219 |
Page 220 |
Page 221 |
Page 222 |
Page 223 |
Page 224 |
Page 225 |
Page 226 |
Page 227 |
Page 228 |
Page 229 |
Page 230 |
Page 231 |
Page 232 |
Page 233 |
Page 234 |
Page 235 |
Page 236 |
Page 237 |
Page 238 |
Page 239 |
Page 240 |
Page 241 |
Page 242 |
Page 243 |
Page 244 |
Page 245 |
Page 246 |
Page 247 |
Page 248 |
Page 249 |
Page 250 |
Page 251 |
Page 252 |
Page 253 |
Page 254 |
Page 255 |
Page 256