This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
from the editor Dear


Administrator…


By popular request of our readers and writers throughout the state, we are proud to bring you this very special edi- tion of Wisconsin


School Musician addressed specifically to you. This is not a mistake, rather a wish to connect with you through featured letters and articles written by music educators and other administrators like yourself who share passion for making a positive differ- ence in the lives of students every day.


In the process of creating this issue, we asked our writers to imagine a day in the life of their school administrator… so many decisions, so little time and issues continually emerging that require full attention on a moment’s notice. Amidst these everyday challenges, what would they like to share with you in order to showcase the important role of music in education and help empower the best decision-making possible on behalf of the school or district in a time of shrinking resources? What tools would they provide to help you connect with the importance of music in our schools? Likewise, what support could you offer in return to help ensure access to a well-rounded education that includes music and the arts? After all, creativity is much needed in 21st


century


learning and imperative in preparing our next generation for the workforce, regard- less of the career path chosen.


In the pages ahead you will find timely articles and letters showcasing educational resources, examples of high quality music programs and all around good practices for building and sustaining a quality music program, despite today’s pressures. With much appreciation for all you already do, we invite you to consider even more ways we can together prepare our students, and ourselves, for a brighter future!


WISCONSIN SCHOOL MUSIC ASSOCIATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS


President • Lee Zarnott • lzarnott@mayville.k12.wi.us Principal, High School, Mayville


President-Elect • Elaine Baumann • elaine.baumann@rfsd.k12.wi.us Principal, High School, River Falls


Past-President • Robert Hanson • robertahanson@verizon.net • Minocqua


District Representatives NORTHERN • Mario Friedel • mfriedel@lhsd.k12.wi.us Superintendent/Elementary Principal, Ladysmith School District


WEST CENTRAL • Elaine Baumann • elaine.baumann@rfsd.k12.wi.us Principal, High School, River Falls, President-Elect


WESTERN • Gerald Kember • gkember@lacrosseschools.org Superintendent, La Crosse School District


SOUTHWESTERN • James Egan • jegan@mhtc.net • Superintendent Southwestern School District, Hazel Green


NORTHEASTERN • Robert Berndt • bberndt@pembine.k12.wi.us Superintendent, Beecher-Dunbar-Pembine Schools, Pembine


CENTRAL • Gordon Sisson • sisson@marshfield.k12.wi.us Principal, High School, Marshfield


EASTERN • Timothy Schaid • schaidt@chilton.k12.wi.us Principal, High School, Chilton


SOUTHERN • Craig McCallum • cmcca@poynette.k12.wi.us Principal, High School, Poynette


EAST CENTRAL • Lee Zarnott • lzarnott@mayville.k12.wi.us Principal, High School, Mayville, President


SOUTHEASTERN • R. Scott Pierce • spierce17@wi.rr.com District Administrator, Central High School District of Westosha, Salem


Wisconsin Music Educators Association Richard Tengowski, President • Kohler • tengowskir@kohler.k12.wi.us Leyla Sanyer, President-Elect • Oregon • les@oregonsd.net Jon B. Gilliland, Past President • Fond du Lac • jonbgilliland@gmail.com


Wisconsin Dept. of Public Instruction Mel Pontious, State Fine Arts Consultant • Madison melvin.pontious@dpi.wi.gov


Wisconsin Association of School Boards Mary Janssen • Little Chute • mjanssen@wasb.org


Community Liaison Todd Schmidt • Waunakee • tschmidt@vil.waunakee.wi.us


Past Board Member Representative Gregg Butler • Eau Claire • gbutler11@gmail.com Robert Hanson • Minocqua • robertahanson@verizon.net, President


Kevin Thays, Editor 4


January 2011


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68