This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
GLASGOW BUSINESS MARCH/APRIL 2013


CHIEF EXECUTIVE


Stuart Patrick, Chief Executive chiefexecutive@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


It’s time to be proud of our achievements


Glasgow has received a major boost in its constant campaigns to grow as a dynamic, thriving modern city at the leading edge of urban development in the UK and, indeed, in Europe. Being selected by the


Technology Strategy Board as the UK’s first ‘smart city’ and being awarded the £24 million Government grant to help make that a reality is a huge achievement for all those involved and a great feather in the cap for Glasgow. As Science Minister David Willets MP said when


the award was made, it will turn Glasgow into “a model of what a future city could look like and how it could run”. The fact that our city was chosen ahead of


30 others striving to win the prize shows the scale of the achievement. It is a major positive development, but not the


only bit of good news in recent weeks. Glasgow has also followed its impressive achievement in winning the Commonwealth Games by being shortlisted to host the Youth Olympics in 2018. Winning it would make


a sensational follow-up to the Games and would give encouragement to many


international travellers to make a


return visit to the city. I am also delighted that Chamber member


Glasgow Airport has been successful in winning new routes, particularly the Lufthansa flights to Dusseldorf. Air links are so important to supporting business and economic development and we shall continue to champion this area. So there are many major pieces of good news


to celebrate in the city but, of course, not everything goes entirely according to plan. Proposals to restructure George Square ahead of the


HEAD OF MEMBER SERVICES Susan McKay ~ 0141 204 8347 susan.mckay@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


HEAD OF EVENTS Alan Busby ~ 0141 204 8323 alan.busby@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


CHIEF EXECUTIVE Stuart Patrick ~ 0141 204 8317 stuart.patrick@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


DEPUTY CHIEF EXECUTIVE


Richard Muir ~ 0141 204 8326 richard.muir@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


PROJECTS DIRECTOR Alison McRae ~ 0141 204 8339 alison.mcrae@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


HEAD OF TRAINING AND DEVELOPMENT Elaine Rodger ~ 0141 204 8332 elaine.rodger@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


BUSINESS SERVICE MANAGER Cathie McKay ~ 0141 204 8317 cathie.mckay@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


FINANCE MANAGER Audrey Hamilton ~ 0141 204 8334 audrey.hamilton@glasgowchamberof commerce.com


HEAD OF COMMUNICATIONS Anne Marie Hughes ~ 0141 204 8325 annemarie.hughes@glasgowchamberof commerce.com


PROJECT MANAGER,


EMPLOYER ENGAGEMENT Leona Seaton ~ 0141 204 8364 leona.seaton@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


EMPLOYER ENGAGEMENT CONSULTANT Selina Hales ~ 0141 204 8338 selina.hales@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


WORKFORCE SOLUTIONS EXECUTIVE Shona MacPherson ~ 0141 204 8364 shona.macpherson@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


EVENTS AND ONLINE CO-ORDINATOR Simon Gwynn ~ 0141 204 8319 simon.gwynn@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


MEMBER CO-ORDINATOR Kirsten Rice ~ 0141 204 8331 kirsten.rice@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


CERTIFICATION ASSISTANT Yasmin Vasconcelos ~ 0141 204 8365 yasmin.vasconcelos@glasgowchamberof commerce.com


CERTIFICATION ASSISTANT Lorraine Galbraith ~ 0141 204 8365 lorraine.galbraith@glasgowchamberof commerce.com


Glasgow Business . 5 5 www.glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


Meet Sarah Bird from the Chamber of Commerce Projects team 7


Commonwealth Games have hit some turbulence. As a Chamber, we have been listening to the views expressed by so many of the businesses in the city centre which depend on attracting residents and visitors into the centre. We appreciate just how important a world-class public realm is to city centre businesses. We supported the City Council’s objectives in improving George Square and we were disappointed at the decision to cancel the plans. However, we have been firmly assured by the


Council Leader that the refurbishment of the Square will still go ahead in line with the feedback received during the public consultation. The message is clear: business still wants to see


investment in the public realm in the city centre. We want a focal point at the heart of the city of which we can be proud. Talking about things we can be proud of, I believe all members of Glasgow Chamber will join with me in lauding our achievements together over the past year. We have done much on improving the internal structure of the Chamber, increasing our income and strengthening our core team in order to increase our capacity to serve our members and to do all we can to improve the local economy. In that regard, the Glasgow Economic Leadership


Group has already achieved much in identifying what can be done to support key sectors in the economy of Glasgow and the surrounding area. Supporting that work will be a key part of


Glasgow Chamber’s external focus over the year ahead. We have already begun what will be an important year for your Chamber and for the city itself.


PROJECTS ADMINISTRATOR Sarah Bird ~ 0141 204 8339 sarah.bird@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


ADMINISTRATION ASSISTANT Danielle Grant ~ 0141 204 8349 danielle.grant@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


RECEPTIONIST Dawn Chalmers ~ 0141 204 2121 dawn.chalmers@glasgowchamberof commerce.com


FINANCE ASSISTANT Liz Mason ~ 0141 204 8329 liz.mason@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


30 George Square, Glasgow G2 1EQ Tel: 0141 204 2121 www.glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


Glasgow Business is published bi-monthly for Glasgow Chamber of Commerce by Connect Communications, Studio 2001, Mile End, Seedhill Road, Paisley PA1 1JS.


ADVERTISING SALES Gina Ireland ~ 0141 204 2042 info@contactpublicity.co.uk


PRODUCTION Gary Atkinson ~ 0141 560 3024 gary@connectcommunications.co.uk


www.connectcommunications.co.uk The views contained within Glasgow Business do not necessarily reflect those of Glasgow Chamber. Although every effort is made to ensure the accuracy of material contained in this publication, the publishers and Glasgow Chamber of Commerce can accept no responsibility for the claims made by contributors in either advertising or editorial content.


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52