search.noResults

search.searching

dataCollection.invalidEmail
note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
Upbeat’s Spring Guide#1


Juicy Tales


by Jo Diaz


Sonoma County, CA. ~ Winemaker Patrick Mel- ley of Russian Hill Estate Winery just answered this ques - tion of Mal o - lactic Fer - men - tation. And for wine begin- ners


(or intermediates, like me), this doesn’t get any bet- ter. As one of our clients, I get to edit for the winery on occasion. This was one of those times, but only on the technical business writing side for this one. Not for winemaking. In the past on this blog,


I’ve discussed Malolactic fermentation, but only as it relates to white wines. For your benefit, I’ve reduced Malolactic fermentation, but only as it applies to white wine. (I’ve never had to explain ML regarding red wines, because I’ve al- ways known it’s just done; no pomp and circumstance necessary... just done.) So, White Wine and


Malolactic Fermentation, According to Jo: It’s as easy as A + B = C Acid + Bacteria = Cream (Malic Acid + Bacteria = laCtic Acid), the same acid in cream and milk. If you didn’t know, now you’ve got it.


But, this doesn’t apply to


red wine in the same think- ing, I’ve just learned... not the same way as it does for white wine. So, what


TM


What is Malolactic Fermentation? ...continued from page 32


is it about with red wines? Patrick explained to me that it’s different for red wines, because we can’t say they have a “Creamy” texture. They are, how- ever, softened. Patrick’s explanation. PATRICK MELLEY ~ On Malolactic in Red Wines It seems that many people are unsure what it is; al- though, it’s often referred to when discussing wine. It’s commonly referred to as either “ML” or “Malo.” While most people know about primary fermenta-


tion, where yeast converts grape sugar into alcohol with the byproducts of heat and CO2 production, most


UPBEAT TIMES, INC. • March 2020 • Pg 23 JOKES & Humor # 6


don’t yet understand the role of Malolactic fermen- tation.


My husband, an avid golf player couldn’t help challenging my boastful son to a game of golf. He was in for quite a surprise when on the first swing my son got a hole in one. “OK” my quick-thinking husband said while subtlety wink- ing at me “now, I will take my practice shot, and then we will start.”


CRUISE & TRAVEL FAIR Featuring


LEADING THE WAY IN RIVER CRUISING


Thur Mar 5 - Detroit Disciples Fri Mar 6 - The Volker Strifl er Band Sat Mar 7 – Harry’s Big Rock Revival/Instrument of Peace Sun Mar 8 - Celtic & Irish Jam Sessions Mon Mar 9 - The Blues Defenders Pro Jam Tues Mar 10 - Kate Magdalena Wed Mar 11 - Irish Set Dancing Thur Mar 12 - The 7th Sons Fri Mar 13 - Stephanie Teel Band Sat Mar 14 - Mitch Woods & His Rocket 88’s Sun Mar 15 - Gold Coast Jazz Band Mon Mar 16 - Pro Jam with Special Guest Tues Mar 17 - St. Patrick’s Day Celebration Wed Mar 18 - Brian Francis Baudoin Thur Mar 19 - Don Forbes & Reckless Fri Mar 20 - Annie Sampson Band Sat Mar 21 - Shana Morrison & Caledonia Sun Mar 22 - Old Time Fiddle & Irish Jam Sessions Mon Mar 23 - The Blues Defenders Pro Jam Tues Mar 24 - Trivia Night w/ Rob Neidel Wed Mar 25 - Irish Set Dancing Thur Mar 26 - Soul Fuse Fri Mar 27 - Left 2 Write


Sat Mar 28 - Los Mendoza y Friends Sun Mar 29 - SoCo Dance Beat annual show Mon Mar 30 - Pro Jam with Special Guest Tues Mar 31 - Santa Rosa Symphony Harp & Flute Duo


Check our full schedule on website.


Restaurant & Music Venue 8240 Old Redwood Hwy, Cotati


707.795.7868 RedwoodCafe.com


Tuesday, March 31st 7:00 - 8:30 pm


Finley Center, Cypress Room RSVP by 3/24/2020


& receive extra entry to WIN


$100 American Express Gift Card Plus Additional Prizes (must be present to win)


jackie.duncan@cruiseplanners.com


Jackie and Barry Duncan 707-595-4080


Just living is not enough... one must have sunshine, freedom, and a little flower. ~ Hans Christian Andersen UPBEAT TIMES, INC. • March 2020 • Pg 23


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32