search.noResults

search.searching

dataCollection.invalidEmail
note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
We have found that TAN/TBN crossover does not correlate closely with fluid condition or engine wear. Actual engine wear is best assessed by measuring the level of wear metals in the oil, whilst – as used in the MACK/Volvo T-13 engine test – spectroscopic analysis shows actual oil oxidation/nitration.


Real world efficiency The third success factor is accounting for operating conditions, which are often overlooked with TBN. Just as a limbo dancer performs better on a dry than a slippery surface, external conditions will affect engine oil performance.


Driving conditions span everything from road quality – about 53% of the Africa’s roads are unpaved – to the likelihood of truck overloading, local climate, and levels of dust and/or water contamination.


Afton has run many millions of kilometres in field trials all over the world, including China.


China has proved to be a great location, offering a wide range of road conditions and climates,


LINK www.aftonchemical.com


tendencies towards vehicle overloading, coupled with well-controlled testing facilities.


The more challenging the conditions, the sooner direct measurement of wear metals and oxidation shows that the oil needs changing. Lubricant is frequently replaced well before TBN is exhausted; much of the detergent is unnecessary and unused.


Therefore the key question changes from ‘how much TBN should the oil have’, to ‘how much TBN does the oil actually need before the next oil change?’


Argus Base Oils Virtual Forum 2020


Tuesday, 7 July, at 4:00 PM Singapore - 5:00 PM Seoul/Tokyo 1:30 PM Mumbai - 12:00 PM Dubai - 9:00 AM London


Argus is excited to meet you online this year. Argus’ Asia-Pacific and Europe market experts will focus on the impact of Covid-19 in the first half of 2020 and what to expect as the market begins its recovery.


Hear the Argus view on: • The impact of Covid-19 on the global base oils markets • How different regions have reacted to the unprecedented market shake-up • Price trends and market response out to 2021


Catherine Caulfield, Associate Editor, Base Oils Europe


Jane Liu,


Associate Editor, Base Oils APME


Marc Hong, Senior Analyst, Global Base Oils


Alvin Chew,


Global Base Oil Strategy


Join us this July for a programme of industry expert presentations, the opportunity to quiz our analysts and more.


Register NOW


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48