This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
NCGA Rules Quiz


Test Your Rules Knowledge


1 2


3


A PLAYER MAY STAND OUT OF BOUNDS TO PLAY A BALL THAT LIES IN BOUNDS. True or False


WHICH OF THE FOLLOWING MAY BE REPAIRED ON THE PUTTING GREEN? A. Damage on the player’s line of putt caused by a player in a previous group slamming his club on the putting green


B. A depression on the player’s line of putt in which a stone is partially embedded


C. A ball mark that has damaged and changed the dimensions of the hole


D. Spike marks just beyond the hole


WHICH OF THE FOLLOWING IS A BREACH OF THE RULES? A. Leaning on a rake in a bunker while waiting to play a stroke from that same bunker


B. Raking leaves in a bunker in an attempt to fi nd your ball that is believed to lie in that same bunker


C. Digging in with your feet for a stance away from the ball


D. Slamming the club in the sand after failing to extricate the ball from the bunker


5


For answers and a chance to win a prize for answering all fi ve questions correctly, visit ncga.org, like the NCGA Facebook page or scan the Microsoft Tag.


4


A PLAYER’S BALL CAME TO REST IN AN AREA OF CASUAL WATER IN THE BUNKER. WHICH OF THE FOLLOWING IS PERMITTED UNDER THE RULES? A. Without penalty, the player may drop the ball outside the bunker within one club-length of his nearest point of relief that is not nearer the hole


B. Without penalty, the player may drop the ball inside the bunker within one club-length of his nearest point of relief that is not nearer the hole


C. Without penalty, the player may drop a ball outside the bunker, keeping the point where the ball lay directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the bunker the ball may be dropped


D. Without penalty, the player may drop a ball inside the bunker, keeping the point where the ball lay directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped


IN STROKE PLAY, A PLAYER’S TEE SHOT CAME TO REST ON THE PUTTING GREEN. IN MAKING A PRACTICE SWING, HE ACCIDENTALLY STRIKES THE BALL AND MOVES IT SIX INCHES TO THE RIGHT OF ITS ORIGINAL LOCATION. THE PLAYER MAKES A STROKE AT THE BALL FROM ITS NEW POSITION INTO THE HOLE. WHAT IS THE RULING? A. He incurs a one-stroke penalty and the ball is holed


B. He incurs a two-stroke penalty and the ball is holed


C. He incurs a total of three penalty strokes and the ball is holed


D. He incurs a two-stroke penalty and must correct the error


FALL 2011 / NCGA.ORG / 27


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68  |  Page 69  |  Page 70  |  Page 71  |  Page 72  |  Page 73  |  Page 74  |  Page 75  |  Page 76