search.noResults

search.searching

dataCollection.invalidEmail
note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
EDITOR'S LETTER


PRESIDENT & CEO James Balda jbalda@argentum.org


Through Each Operations Task, You Create Community


“All life is interrelated, and all men are interdependent… We are inevitably our brothers' keeper because of the interrelated structure of reality.” —The Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.


As I’m writing this, Dr. King’s day of remembrance has just passed, and the words of his I read that day are still in my mind. So much of what he wrote and said applies to our time. Although technologies and daily life have changed, other


aspects of our lives, unfortunately, have not. But “the interrelated structure of reality” remains true, and positive. People in senior living live this interrelation and interdependence. Residents depend on caregivers and managers, and you depend on them to help build community. You depend on your co-workers to be caring, vendors to deliver food on time, maintenance to tend the fl owers outside. Community operations is where the interrelation happens. If one aspect of the community is having a tough time or needs repair, it eventually can aff ect the entire community. Seeing and understanding this is one thing that makes a leader. Recognizing the importance of operations, Argentum has planned opportunities to learn and advance at our Senior Living Executive Conference, May 18-20, in Tampa, Fla. In addition to operations sessions, we’re opening with a boost of inspiration: A Celebration of Senior Living, featuring the Hero, Best of the Best, and Community Leader awards. The Expo is a rich source for operations—features such as the Smart Home on Wheels show how innovations become realities. But one of the best ways to reinvigorate yourself is through participating in


the Executive Director Leadership Institute (EDLI) intensive. Collaborating and connecting with a small group of your peers, you’ll learn and practice actionable skills that can make all the juggling and balancing of interrelationships come more naturally and easily.


So while this issue focuses on practicalities—technology updates (p.6), landscaping (p.20), water use (p.28), ice machines (p.32)—each one, and more, is a vital contributor to an effi cient and enjoyed community. Finally, my favorite story this issue is about Resident Volunteer Committees (p.41):


Residents who contribute a lifetime of professional knowledge and skills to help community operations run more smoothly. They’re awesome.


– Sara Wildberger Editor


CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER Maribeth Bersani mbersani@argentum.org


CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER Gina Mamone


gmamone@argentum.org


VP, QUALITY IMPROVEMENT John Schulte


jschulte@argentum.org


VP, WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT Brent Weil


bweil@argentum.org


VP, MEMBERSHIP & EVENTS Brad Williams


bwilliams@argentum.org


VP, GOVERNMENT RELATIONS Paul Williams


pwilliams@argentum.org


SENIOR DIRECTOR, MARKETING & COMMUNICATIONS Jessica McKay jmckay@argentum.org


DIRECTOR, PROGRAM CONTENT Denise Brassé dbrasse@argentum.org


DIRECTOR, MEMBER SERVICES & DATA Kari Horesky


khoresky@argentum.org


DIRECTOR, MEETING PLANNING & OPERATIONS Alana Mallory


amallory@argentum.org


DIRECTOR, GOVERNMENT RELATIONS Daniel Samson dsamson@argentum.org


OFFICE MANAGER/ EXEC. ASSISTANT Rosa Montgomery rmontgomery@argentum.org


PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT & EDUCATION MANAGER Robert Oliveri roliveri@argentum.org


MARKETING SPECIALIST Kayla McAlindin


kmcalindin@argentum.org


EVENTS COORDINATOR Ashley Foster afoster@argentum.org


STAFF ACCOUNTANT/ HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGER Olivia Wilson


owilson@argentum.org


EDITORIAL COMMUNICATIONS MANAGER & EDITOR Sara Wildberger swildberger@argentum.org


CREATIVE PROJECT MANAGER Vatrice Chestnut vchestnut@argentum.org


ART DIRECTOR Rose Thai rthai@argentum.org


ADVERTISING


DIRECTOR OF SALES Katherine Madison kmadison@argentum.org


SENIOR SALES ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE Maura Artman martman@argentum.org


SALES ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE Brooke Jordan bjordan@argentum.org


SUBSCRIPTIONS 703.562.1179


Senior Living Executive, Volume 27, Number 1 (print ISSN 2161- 6698, online ISSN 2161-671X) is published bimonthly by Argentum, 1650 King Street, Suite 602, Alexandria, VA. Periodicals postage paid at Alexandria, VA and additional mailing offi ces. Argentum member companies receive subscriptions for staff as part of their membership. Free controlled subscriptions are also available to qualifi ed individuals in the senior living business.


POSTMASTER: SEND ADDRESS CHANGES TO Senior Living Executive, 1650 King Street, Suite 602, Alexandria, Virginia 22314 703.894.1805. Printed in USA. Copyright 2018. Prior to photocopying items for educational classroom, internal, or personal use, please contact the Copyright Clearance Center, Customer Service, 978.750.8400, 222 Rosewood Dr., Danvers, MA 01923 or check CCC Online at www.copyright.com. Senior Living Executive will not be responsible for the return of any unsolicited manuscripts or photographs.


Copyright ©2020 Argentum. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form—print, electronic, or otherwise—without written permission from Argentum.


JANUARY/FEBRUARY 2020 ARGENTUM.ORG 3


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52