204 UNDE R S TANDING THE RAC ING RUL E S OF SAI L ING THROUGH 2 0 2 4
tivewhen the mark area is congested and to complete their tacks clearly outside the zone.
“I thought that if a boat tacked inside the zone, she had no rights; and if she caused me to change course at all, she broke rule 18.3.”
No! If P gets to a close-hauled course before you have to take any avoiding action, then she has complied with rule 13 (While Tacking) and she is the right- of-way boat. She breaks rule 18.3 only if she causes you to sail above a close- hauled course to avoid her during or after her tack. If you are overstood (reach- ing in above the starboard-tack layline) for instance, and avoid contact by luffing up to a close-hauled course, she has not broken rule 18.3.
L E T ’ S L O O K AT S OME S C E N A R I O S that will involve rule 18.3.
P approaches S at a port-hand windward mark, and passes head to wind in the zone just to leeward of S:
Let’s say that when P gets to close-hauled, the boats are now one length from themark. As P (now the leeward/inside boat) approaches the mark, she realizes she won’t make the mark unless she luffs above close-hauled. She does so,