160 UNDE R S TANDING THE RAC ING RUL E S OF SAI L ING THROUGH 2 0 2 4
U PWI N D S TA R T S including a discussion on “barging”
When boats are on their final approach to start, Section C rules (At Marks and Obstructions) do not apply, meaning that a leeward/outside boat (LO) does not have to give a windward/inside boat (WI) room to pass to leeward of the starting mark (say a race committee boat). If W tries to squeeze between L and the mark and hits L or forces L to bear away to avoid a collision, W has broken rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped). This is what is called “barging” (see Case 145).
“I understand that when I’m the windward boat, a leeward boat does not have to give me room to pass to leeward of the race committee boat; but does that mean she can do anything she pleases to ‘shut the door’ on me?”
Absolutely not. As we’ve discussed above, the rules in Sections A and B apply. There are no other special rules that apply at this starting mark. Therefore, L must behave in exactly the same way that she must behave anywhere else on the race course. Rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped) gives L the right of way; and L can sail up to head to wind if she pleases, even when only overlapped withW by two feet.