This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
GLASGOW BUSINESS APRIL/MAY 2016


CHIEF EXECUTIVE’S BLOG


Stuart Patrick, Chief Executive chiefexecutive@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


EU Referendum neutrality not the easy option


There has been a bit of a controversy at the British Chambers of Commerce recently. John Longworth stood down as the Director General after expressing his personal views about the European Referendum at the BCC annual conference. John has been a committed servant of the work of Chambers of Commerce over the past five years, but the BCC board felt it wasn’t possible for him to fulfil his duties as Director General while publicly expressing his support for Britain leaving the EU from a Chamber platform. That’s because the BCC has a stated policy


of neutrality, choosing not to campaign for either side in the referendum. The most recent survey showed that just under 60 per cent of members surveyed across the UK would vote to stay in the EU and 30 per cent would vote to leave. In Scotland the gap is slightly wider at 68 per cent to 20 per cent in favour of remaining in the EU. There was some debate about


whether John had been pressured to step down, but he himself has denied that. If there is one lesson from the incident it is that neutrality is not the easy choice for a membership body.


www.glasgowchamberofcommerce.com/ blog/2016/march/14/eu-referendum-neutrality- not-the-easy-option/


CRAM A PERFECT AMBASSADOR FOR THIS SPORTING LIFE Steve Cram is a thoroughly impressive chap. It’s not just that he still looks in perfect shape to tackle another record-breaking mile round the track despite having retired from racing over 21 years ago. It’s not even that he can take you on an insider’s tour of the issues facing sport ranging from the controversial state of international sports governance across broadcasting and sponsorship to the everyday challenges of an elite sportsperson. It’s also that he is a properly personable man; easily chatting away in that Tyneside accent that we have got to know so well in his role as the BBC’s chief athletics commentator. He was in town ahead of the


Glasgow Indoor Grand Prix athletics at the Emirates Arena. It’s an Olympics year


and the athletes are using events like the Glasgow meeting to measure their progress towards Rio de Janeiro. So Steve was happy to use much of the day


HEAD OF PARTNERSHIP & MEMBERSHIP OPERATIONS Susan McKay ~ 0141 204 8347 susan.mckay@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


CHIEF EXECUTIVE Stuart Patrick ~ 0141 204 8317 stuart.patrick@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


DEPUTY CHIEF EXECUTIVE


Richard Muir ~ 0141 204 8326 richard.muir@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


PROJECTS DIRECTOR Alison McRae ~ 0141 204 8339 alison.mcrae@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


HEAD OF TRAINING AND DEVELOPMENT Elaine Rodger ~ 0141 204 8332 elaine.rodger@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


BUSINESS SERVICE MANAGER Cathie McKay ~ 0141 204 8317 cathie.mckay@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


FINANCE MANAGER Audrey Hamilton ~ 0141 204 8334 audrey.hamilton@glasgow chamberofcommerce.com


HEAD OF COMMUNICATIONS Anne Marie Hughes ~ 0141 204 8325 annemarie.hughes@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


HEAD OF EVENTS Alan Busby ~ 0141 204 8323 alan.busby@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


HEAD OF INTERNATIONAL CERTIFICATION Catherine Bryson - 0141 204 8390 cathy.bryson@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


PROGRAMME DIRECTOR DEVELOPING THE YOUNG WORKFORCE Leona Seaton ~ 0141 204 8338 leona.seaton@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


PROGRAMME DIRECTOR, DEVELOPING THE YOUNG WORKFORCE (Maternity cover) Louise Moore ~ 0141 204 8338 louise.moore@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


INDUSTRY ENGAGEMENT MANAGER DEVELOPING THE YOUNG WORKFORCE Selina Hales ~ 0141 204 8336 selina.hales@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


INDUSTRY AND EDUCATION PARTNERSHIP MANAGER DEVELOPING THE YOUNG WORKFORCE Shona MacPherson ~ 0141 204 8364 shona.macpherson@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


www.glasgowchamberofcommerce.com/ blog/2016/february/10/look-north-for-glasgow-s- exciting-new-district/


EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT DEVELOPING THE YOUNG WORKFORCE Jennifer Hood ~ 0141 204 8333 jennifer.hood@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


SENIOR PROJECTS MANAGER Rebecca Ricketts ~ 0141 204 8358 rebecca.ricketts@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


PROJECTS MANAGER Cheryl McCulloch ~ 0141 204 8339 cheryl.mcculloch@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


MEMBERSHIP CO-ORDINATOR Kamilla Biskup ~ 0141 204 8331 kamilla.biskup@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


ADMINISTRATION ASSISTANT Danielle Grant ~ 0141 204 8349 danielle.grant@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


FINANCE ASSISTANT Liz Mason ~ 0141 204 8329 liz.mason@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


CERTIFICATION EXECUTIVE Yasmin Akram ~ 0141 204 8330 yasmin.akram@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


CERTIFICATION EXECUTIVE Lorraine Galbraith ~ 0141 204 8365 lorraine.galbraith@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


CERTIFICATION EXECUTIVE Katie Anderson ~ 0141 204 8381 katie.anderson@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


CERTIFICATION ASSISTANT Michael Fernie ~ 0141 204 8378 michael.fernie@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com


RECEPTIONISTS Dawn Chalmers (Mon-Wed) and Sandra Barrie (Thu-Fri) ~ 0141 204 2121 dawn.chalmers@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com sandra.barrie@glasgowchamber ofcommerce.com reception@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


30 George Square, Glasgow G2 1EQ Tel: 0141 204 2121 www.glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


Glasgow Business is published bi-monthly for Glasgow Chamber of Commerce by Connect Communications, Studio 2001, Mile End, Seedhill Road, Paisley PA1 1JS


ADVERTISING SALES Graham Cairns ~ 0141 204 2042 info@contactpublicity.co.uk


PRODUCTION Roisin McGroarty ~ 0141 560 3024 roisin@connectcommunications.co.uk www.connectcommunications.co.uk


WRITER Ken Symon ~ 07866 970 648 ken@symonmedia.com


The views contained within Glasgow Business do not necessarily reflect those of Glasgow Chamber. Although every effort is made to ensure the accuracy of material contained in this publication, the publishers and Glasgow Chamber of Commerce can accept no responsibility for the claims made by contributors in either advertising or editorial content


in his role as ambassador for the Clydesdale Bank to support Chamber events. www.glasgowchamberofcommerce.com/ blog/2016/february/22/cram-a-perfect- ambassador-for-this-sporting-life/


LOOK NORTH FOR GLASGOW’S EXCITING NEW DISTRICT Fresh from a Chamber partner dinner with the senior team at Scottish Canals, I am now buoyed by the prospects for yet another district in Glasgow. We spent an evening with Andrew Thin and


Steve Dunlop, Chair and CEO of Scottish Canals respectively, and I can now see just what the potential is for the neighbourhood just north of the M8 from the city centre. The East End of the city has its own urban


regeneration company in Clyde Gateway and the legacy of the Commonwealth Games, and the West End has been hugely stimulated by the SSE Hydro and both the wider SECC complex and Pacific Quay. To the North however, a slightly quieter revolution has been under way and I, for one, had not quite grasped the scale of what is being done.


Glasgow Business . 5 www.glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


Infrastructure Commission launching to report on business challenges p6


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52