search.noResults

search.searching

saml.title
dataCollection.invalidEmail
note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
EDITOR'S LETTER


PRESIDENT & CEO James Balda jbalda@argentum.org


Helping Each Other Leads to Engagement


“He that has once done you a kindness will be more ready to do you another, than he whom you yourself have obliged.” —Benjamin Franklin


This simple observation has proved so enduring that there’s a well-tested psychological phenomenon built around it: The Ben Franklin Effect. If you ask someone for help, it goes, they’ll start to like you, and a friendly relationship will often start to form. Here’s how it worked for Franklin:


“Having heard that he had in his library a certain very scarce and curious book, I wrote a note to him, expressing my desire of perusing that book, and requesting he would do me the favour of lending it to me for a few days. He sent it immediately, and I return’d it in about a week with another note, expressing strongly my sense of the favour. When we next met in the House, he spoke to me (which he had never done before), and with great civility; and he ever after manifested a readiness to serve me on all occasions, so that we became great friends, and our friendship continued to his death.”


It goes against our instincts, which tell us that helping someone out is the way to engage. Instead, let them help you. It turns out that we like to be called on to help—for some people in this industry,


it’s their joy. But remember to let someone else help you out once in a while—after all, you’ll be doing them a favor.


Can you do me a favor? Share your feedback on Senior Living Executive magazine: Please take our reader survey, at argentum.org/readersurvey. Your communities have changed a lot in the past year, and we want to to be sure you receive the content you need. Thanks in advance (and there’s a gift card drawing, too). This issue is so packed with ideas, it’s hard to choose what to highlight. In putting it together, I was amazed at the efforts, care, and creativity that went into developing ways to keep people engaged—through technology (p.8), activities (p.22), dining (p.33), learning (p.28), and more. But here are three not to miss: The impressive programs highlighted by the Argentum Best of the Best Awards (p.16), the stories behind a moving art exhibition featuring older adults (p.49), and an interview with Validation method pioneer Naomi Feil, age 89 (p.43). I’d also like to share that Argentum’s Senior Living Executive magazine has received two 2021 Tabbie Awards from Trade, Association, and Business Publications International (TABPI): No. 12 in the 25 Best Single Issues category was the Senior Living Executive July/August Workforce issue, and an honorable mention in the Departments category for its new Equity & Inclusion column.


— Sara Wildberger Editor


CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER Gina Mamone


gmamone@argentum.org


SENIOR VP, PUBLIC AFFAIRS Maggie Elehwany melehwany@argentum.org


SENIOR VP, BUSINESS OPERATIONS


Brad Williams bwilliams@argentum.org


VP, QUALITY IMPROVEMENT John Schulte


jschulte@argentum.org


VP, GOVERNMENT RELATIONS Paul Williams


pwilliams@argentum.org


SENIOR DIRECTOR, MARKETING & COMMUNICATIONS


Jessica McKay jmckay@argentum.org


DIRECTOR OF PROGRAMMING


Liderby Gladden lgladden@argentum.org


DIRECTOR, MEMBER SERVICES & DATA


Kari Horesky khoresky@argentum.org


DIRECTOR, GOVERNMENT RELATIONS Daniel Samson dsamson@argentum.org


HUMAN RESOURCES DIRECTOR AND STAFF ACCOUNTANT


Olivia Wilson owilson@argentum.org


PROJECT DIRECTOR, APPRENTICESHIPS & WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT


Megan Robinson mrobinson@argentum.org


OFFICE MANAGER/ EXEC. ASSISTANT


Rosa Montgomery rmontgomery@argentum.org


SENIOR MANAGER, PAC AND GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS


Meredith Bonyun mbonyun@argentum.org


MANAGER, PUBLIC POLICY Kyle Loeber


kloeber@argentum.org


MARKETING MANAGER Kayla McAlindin


kmcalindin@argentum.org


EVENTS COORDINATOR Ashley Foster afoster@argentum.org


EDITORIAL


COMMUNICATIONS MANAGER & EDITOR Sara Wildberger


swildberger@argentum.org


ART DIRECTOR Rose Thai


rthai@argentum.org


ADVERTISING DIRECTOR OF SALES Katherine Madison kmadison@argentum.org


SALES ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE


Brooke Jordan bjordan@argentum.org


SUBSCRIPTIONS 703.562.1179


INTERNS


Richard Feliz-Garcia Amana Tashfeen


Senior Living Executive, Volume 28, Number 5 (print ISSN 2161- 6698, online ISSN 2161-671X) is published bimonthly by Argentum, 1650 King Street, Suite 602, Alexandria, VA. Periodicals postage paid at Alexandria, VA and additional mailing offices. Argentum member companies receive subscriptions for staff as part of their membership. Free controlled subscriptions are also available to qualified individuals in the senior living business.


POSTMASTER: SEND ADDRESS CHANGES TO Senior Living Executive, 1650 King Street, Suite 602, Alexandria, Virginia 22314 703.894.1805. Printed in USA. Copyright 2018. Prior to photocopying items for educational classroom, internal, or personal use, please contact the Copyright Clearance Center, Customer Service, 978.750.8400, 222 Rosewood Dr., Danvers, MA 01923 or check CCC Online at www.copyright.com. Senior Living Executive will not be responsible for the return of any unsolicited manuscripts or photographs.


Copyright ©2021 Argentum. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form—print, electronic, or otherwise—without written permission from Argentum.


Association TRENDS 2019 TRENDY Awards


Trade, Association, Business Publications International 2021 TABBIES Awards


2021 SEPTEMBER/OCTOBER 2021 ARGENTUM.ORG 7


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60