This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
GLASGOW BUSINESS MAY/JUNE 2013


CEO/CONTACTS


Stuart Patrick, Chief Executive chiefexecutive@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


International links bring opportunities


As a Chamber of Commerce, we have been enthusiastically supporting Chamber Director Amanda McMillan and her team at Glasgow Airport to bring more direct flight options into the area. The airport and its links are vital economic assets. As a consequence, at the beginning of


April, we took a decision to charter the inaugural Düsseldorf to Glasgow flight which saw Lufthansa coming back to Glasgow after a 20-year absence from the city. It’s a six-day-a-week service


which will expand to become a daily flight in June. It means that business travellers from here can leave at 12.30pm for afternoon meetings in Düsseldorf, returning mid-morning the next day. To mark the occasion of the inaugural


flight, we held an Influencers’ Dinner in Düsseldorf with some local German businesses and


representatives together with Scottish Chambers of Commerce, British Chambers of Commerce, Honorary Consul for the Federal Republic of Germany Michael Dean and a delegation led by Varry McMenemy as President of Glasgow Chamber of Commerce.


Düsseldorf is a city in the heart of the Ruhr Valley. It is a great access point to the whole of the wider area, including Dortmund, Essen and Cologne. It is an area with a very strong engineering tradition. There is strong tourism


potential for Glasgow. The German market is already one of the biggest for regular tourist visits to our city. There are more than 71,000 tourist visits here by Germans already and we are keen to develop that.


We know that the German economy is robust and rich with export industry. Through closer links,


Glasgow Business . 5 www.glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


Chamber builds Glasgow- Düsseldorf links with first


overseas Influencers’ Dinner 6


we want to increase trade and to learn some of the lessons of German success. The Influencers’ Dinner was an important


first step in opening up some relationships with businesses in Düsseldorf and the wider North Rhine-Westphalia region. We shall be looking at how we can develop more structured trade links. Air links are vital to the economy of the city itself


and that of the wider city region. The Düsseldorf link joins the existing business links to Europe, including, for example, those provided through the easyJet flights to Paris, Berlin and Amsterdam. The European links form part of a wider picture which includes the existing important links to other parts of the world with the Dubai double daily service and flights to the east coast of America. We are always keen to support the airport in securing more. Glasgow Chamber is raising its focus on


international markets and it is working alongside other bodies to interest foreign colleagues in doing business in and with Glasgow. We will support the Scottish Council for


Development and Industry and Scottish Development International in helping develop west of Scotland business access to overseas markets and encourage foreign companies to trade and locate here. In redoubling our efforts, we are returning to


our roots at this time of anniversary of Glasgow Chamber’s founding – helping Glasgow businesses access international markets has always been a key part of your Chamber’s role. This focus marked by our first Overseas Influencers’ Dinner shows that it continues to be so and will be more so in the future.


HEAD OF MEMBER SERVICES Susan McKay ~ 0141 204 8347 susan.mckay@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


HEAD OF EVENTS Alan Busby ~ 0141 204 8323 alan.busby@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


CHIEF EXECUTIVE Stuart Patrick ~ 0141 204 8317 stuart.patrick@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


DEPUTY CHIEF EXECUTIVE Richard Muir ~ 0141 204 8326 richard.muir@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


PROJECTS DIRECTOR Alison McRae ~ 0141 204 8339 alison.mcrae@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


HEAD OF TRAINING AND DEVELOPMENT Elaine Rodger ~ 0141 204 8332 elaine.rodger@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


BUSINESS SERVICE MANAGER Cathie McKay ~ 0141 204 8317 cathie.mckay@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


FINANCE MANAGER Audrey Hamilton ~ 0141 204 8334 audrey.hamilton@glasgowchamberof commerce.com


HEAD OF COMMUNICATIONS Anne Marie Hughes ~ 0141 204 8325 annemarie.hughes@glasgowchamberof commerce.com


PROJECT MANAGER,


EMPLOYER ENGAGEMENT Leona Seaton ~ 0141 204 8364 leona.seaton@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


EMPLOYER ENGAGEMENT CONSULTANT Selina Hales ~ 0141 204 8338 selina.hales@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


WORKFORCE SOLUTIONS EXECUTIVE Shona MacPherson ~ 0141 204 8364 shona.macpherson@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


EVENTS AND ONLINE CO-ORDINATOR Simon Gwynn ~ 0141 204 8319 simon.gwynn@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


CERTIFICATION ASSISTANT Yasmin Akram ~ 0141 204 8365 yasmin.akram@glasgowchamberof commerce.com


CERTIFICATION ASSISTANT Lorraine Galbraith ~ 0141 204 8365 lorraine.galbraith@glasgowchamberof commerce.com


PROJECTS ADMINISTRATOR Sarah Bird ~ 0141 204 8339 sarah.bird@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


ADMINISTRATION ASSISTANT Danielle Grant ~ 0141 204 8349 danielle.grant@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


RECEPTIONIST Dawn Chalmers ~ 0141 204 2121 dawn.chalmers@glasgowchamberof commerce.com


FINANCE ASSISTANT Liz Mason ~ 0141 204 8329 liz.mason@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


30 George Square, Glasgow G2 1EQ Tel: 0141 204 2121 www.glasgowchamberofcommerce.com


Glasgow Business is published bi-monthly for Glasgow Chamber of Commerce by Connect Communications, Studio 2001, Mile End, Seedhill Road, Paisley PA1 1JS.


ADVERTISING SALES Gina Ireland ~ 0141 204 2042 info@contactpublicity.co.uk


PRODUCTION Gary Atkinson ~ 0141 560 3024 gary@connectcommunications.co.uk www.connectcommunications.co.uk


The views contained within Glasgow Business do not necessarily reflect those of Glasgow Chamber. Although every effort is made to ensure the accuracy of material contained in this publication, the publishers and Glasgow Chamber of Commerce can accept no responsibility for the claims made by contributors in either advertising or editorial content.


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52