This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
Stump the Rules Wizard


BALL HITS TWICE ON


SINGLE SWING


LEAVING BALL MARKER ON GREEN WHEN PUTTING


Q: Joe asks: On a putting green in match play, a player believes his partner has halved the hole, so he places his ball where he marked it, leaves the ball marker on the green behind his ball and putts. Is there a penalty for leaving the ball marker on the putting green while putting? A: There is no penalty for leaving the ball marker behind the ball when putting. Under Ruler 20-4, the ball is in play as soon as the ball is replaced. The ball marker is there to allow the player to put his hands on the ball. However, if the player is leaving it there for the purpose of alignment he would be penalized two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play under Rule 8-2.


STRIKING BALL WITH BACK OF CLUB


Q: Carol asks: Can you please clarify a discussion between our members. Can you use the back of any golf club, not just the putter, to strike your ball? A: Yes, you may use the back of a club to strike the ball. Rule 14 states that a player must strike the ball with the head of the club. It doesn’t specify the front, back or side.


Q: Ray asks: What is the proper way to con- tinue play when a player has hit the ball twice on a single swing? Should the ball be placed where the last shot was taken, or played where it now lies? A: Rule 14-4 states that the stroke counts and the player must add a penalty stroke. The ball is played from where it came to rest.


PICKING UP A BUNKER RAKE WITH YOUR CLUB


Q: Lloyd asks: The ball is in a bunker. Before hitting the bunker shot the player reaches with a club (sand wedge) and picks up a rake lying in the bunker. Has the player grounded his club in the bunker? If so, what’s the penalty? A: Exception #1 to Rule 13-4 states, “Provided nothing is done that constitutes testing the condition of the hazard or improves the lie of the ball, there is no penalty if the player touches the ground or loose impediments in any hazard or water in a water hazard as a result of or to prevent falling, in removing an obstruction. No penalty.


Special i zing in


Workers ’ Compensat ion Property & Casual ty


Advanced Claims Service Bi l ingual Loss Cont rol Employee Benef i ts


S e r v i n g c l u b s ’ n e e d s s i n c e 1 9 8 7


Pat Hoffman 


Keith Schuler


Tony Pozas  Tom Hughes 8 0 0 - 8 7 3 - 3 7 2 5


Of f i c e s t h r o u g h o u t Ca l i f o r n i a


Edited by Ryan Gregg, Director of Education. To submit questions e-mail rgregg@ncga.org.


License #0B01094 Let our experi ce guie you en d SUMMER 2011 / NCGA.ORG / 47


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68  |  Page 69  |  Page 70  |  Page 71  |  Page 72  |  Page 73  |  Page 74  |  Page 75  |  Page 76