This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
Show Review

Industry Awards

A number of industry projects and personalities come in for special recognition each year at IAAPA Attractions Expo. Four people were inducted this year into the

IAAPA Hall of Fame. The only living inductee was Bob Rogers of BRC Imagination Arts, who began his 40-plus-year career in the attractions industry working in the magic shop at Disneyland, before progressing to lead the creative development of projects for the likes of Ford, General Motors, NASA, Universal Studios, Volkswagen, The Walt Disney Company and Expo 2010.

The former owner and president of Holiday

World & Splashin’ Safari in Santa Claus, Indiana, Will Koch was also honoured. Koch took what was once a small roadside attraction and transformed it into a high-profile theme park that set an attendance record with nearly 1.2 million visitors in 2010, the year he sadly passed away at just 48.

At the turn of the 20th Century, Daniel Hudson Burnham created the Midway Plaisance at the Chicago fair, a mile-long walkway lined with an assortment of amusement concessions, live shows and rides including the world’s first Ferris Wheel. Burnham’s Midway is credited with shifting the amusement industry from sedate attractions based on natural features to more invigorating creations that continue to dominate the industry today. He was inducted into the IAAPA Hall of Fame together with Don Clayton of Putt-Putt Golf and Games, who not only revolutionised miniature golf but helped create what we now know as the family entertainment centre (FEC) industry. As part of the IAAPA Service Awards, a Lifetime Service Award went to Dennis Speigel of International Theme Park Services, who has worked as an attractions operator and as an volunteer to the association over many years. A former IAAPA chairman (in 1989), at ITPS Speigel offers consulting services with attractions around the world.

An Outstanding Service Award went to Walt

Disney Parks and Resorts’ Greg Hale in recognition of the expertise he lends to safety standards development, refinement and education initiatives within the industry. Finally, a Meritorius Service Award was presented to Boyd

F Jensen II of Garrett and Jensen, who has gone the extra mile to promote safe operations, global development, professional growth and the commercial success of the industry. Presented every two years by the Swedish park Liseberg, the Applause Award recognises a theme or amusement park whose management, operations and creative accomplishments have inspired the industry. There in Orlando to receive the award on behalf of Dollywood in Tennessee was Dolly Parton herself (see interview, page 43). As always, the Themed Entertainment Association (TEA) also used IAAPA to announce the winners of its annual Thea Awards, which will be presented in March, honouring excellence in the creation of extraordinary visitor experiences, attractions exhibits and places. Winner of the newly named Buzz Price Award (formerly the Lifetime Achievement Award) will be Kim Irvine, art director at Disneyland. Kim began her career at Walt Disney Imagineering in 1970 and lead the art direction at Disneyland, as well as contributed to many of the early attractions at Walt Disney World’s Magic Kingdom and Epcot including It’s a Small World, The Land, Universe of Energy, the Germany and Mexico pavilions. Always finding new pallets of colour and emotion, she has kept the parks appealing over many years. The Thea Classic Award, meanwhile, is destined for The Exploratorium in San Francisco, California. A museum of science, art and human perception, it includes a large collection of interactive exhibits, online interactives, web features, activities and events and is credited with pioneered the “interactive exhibit movement.”

Thea Award recipients for outstanding achievement are as follows: World of Color, Disney California Adventure (Nighttime Spectacular); Wizarding World of Harry Potter, Universal Orlando (New Theme Park Land and Thematic Integration of Retail, Food & Beverage Experiences), Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey, Universal Resort Orlando (Feature Attraction and Technical Achievement); ICT Mobile Device, Information and Communications Pavilion, Shanghai Expo 2010 (Integration of Technology and Storytelling); Along the River During the Qingming Festival, China Pavilion, Expo 2010 Shanghai (Expo Pavilion Exhibit); The National Infantry Museum, Columbus, Georgia (Museum); The Walt Disney Family Museum, San Francisco (Museum); Science Storms, Museum of Science & Industry, Chicago (Museum/Science Center Exhibit); Beyond All Boundaries, National World War II Museum, New Orleans (Museum Attraction); Glasnevin Museum, Dublin, Ireland (Museum); Flynn Lives, ComiCon 2010 San Diego (Promotional Event).

The Awards will be formally presented on March 12 at the 17th Annual Thea Awards Gala, to be held at the Globe Theatre, Universal Studios Hollywood, California.

Bob Rogers (left) collects his Hall of Fame award from Tim O’Brien


The Fabbri team pictured on the company's new Daytona ride. Front row, left to right: Edward Cromheecke, Jeff Miller, Giulia Negri, Sergio Chieregatti, Daniele Bacchiega and Jesus Morales. Sitting in the car: Gianluca Fabbri and Jean Charles Manca

managers, food and beverage managers – and try to gain as much knowledge as we can.” “I’m delighted to be in Orlando, and it’s good to see more Asian representation among the exhibitors,” noted Ocean Park marketing director Paul Pei, visiting from Hong Kong. “Many of these companies are growing dramatically and doing business here for the very first time.” "This has been excellent, the best show in the past few years," remarked Peter Van Bilsen of Vekoma. "People have more confidence in the market now, and see more possibilities. People are buying more rides and building more parks. It's good for everybody." "It's been great fun," smiled Tom Rebbie of the Philadelphia Toboggan Company. "The first day of the show I talked to more people than I did in four days in Las Vegas. I can't get out of the booth. It's been busy, with off-the-wall sales of new trains, parts and winter overhauls. I'm so happy we're going to be in Orlando for

The men from Maurer Söhne were so proud of their racing coaster at Ferrari World that they donned matching Ferrari red shirts. Seen here are (left to right) Li Feng Ge, Torsten Schmidt, Hermann Bockhorni, Horst Rühe and Steve Boney


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48