Independent Prescriber of the Year; Pharmacy Business Development; Pharmacist of the Year; Management of Long-Term Conditions; Community Pharmacy Team of the Year and Hospital Pharmacy Team of the Year.

From the management of long-term conditions – which is increasingly on community pharmacists’ daily agenda – to increased focus on eHealth and technology, the event shone the spotlight on some fantastic examples of collaborative working and innovative projects.

The prestigious Pharmacist of the Year Award went to Natalie Millar from LloydsPharmacy in Paisley, who had redesigned her pharmacy services through joint working with other healthcare professionals.

The judges complimented Natalie on her contribution to the ‘health of her local community and to the Board HEAT target’, making particular mention of her ability to identify local unmet needs and to take a proactive response to them.

‘Just to be acknowledged for the

of Alex’s long, distinguished and wide-ranging pharmacy career, Professor McQuillan focussed on the high regard in which Alex is held by his peers.

‘A measure of the high esteem Alex is held in,’ he said, ‘has been recently demonstrated by his peers recognising him with a fellowship of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain and, even more recently, his appointment

behalf of all of them.’

After all of the formalities were concluded – and a fantastic meal was enjoyed by all – a charity prize draw was held in association with Alzheimer Scotland. An amazing £3,200 was raised and this will certainly benefit the great work that’s being done in facing the

challenges posed by this terrible disease.

What had once again been a terrific evening for Scottish pharmacy ended on a high note, with attendees taking to the dance floor to dance the night away to music provided by The Sleekit Beasties. •

James Kane, Jim Alexander (Teva UK), Colin and Kathryn Clark (Bannermans Pharmacy)

work that we do every day feels absolutely amazing,’ said Natalie. ‘I couldn’t have done it without the team that I work with day in and day out.’

The formal part of the evening ended with Professor McQuillan presenting the Outstanding Contribution trophy to Alex MacKinnon from RPS.

Alex was, Professor McQuillan said, ‘an obvious choice for this award, especially when you see how much he has achieved over the years for pharmacy. It’s been great to work with Alex over the years and I’m sure he still has plenty to offer Scottish pharmacy in the years to come.’

After giving the audience a summary

as interim Chief Executive of the same professional body. Everyone I have spoken to has said he was an obvious and worthy candidate to undertake this role.’

Needless to say, while Alex’s award was warmly welcomed by all those present – as evident from the standing ovation he received – the man himself was typically unassuming in his acceptance.

‘I had no idea that this was going to happen,’ he said. ‘It’s a great privilege, but I’m accepting it on behalf of all the people that I’ve worked with over the years. It’s all about teamwork and we have such a wonderful team in Scotland so it’s a privilege for me to accept it on

Rupert Newman from Event Partner, AAH Pharmaceuticals

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64