This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
from the desk of the executive director


and refine a vision and development plan for the Wisconsin Center for Mu- sic Education. Among the updates is an expanded section on community music. This includes the following strategy and activities:


• Serve community musicians of all ages statewide.


• Promote and support state community music groups.


• Become a networking resource center for all musicians.


• Provide a welcoming facility for the use by Wisconsin musicians.


• Provide an incubator for studio music teachers.


Given the legacy of music education in Wisconsin and present trends for music involvement by adults, we would be wise to broaden our concept of “nurtur- ing parent involvement.” Yes, we seek involvement of parents in the music edu- cation of their children and we seek their support for music in the schools. One of


the pathways to accomplishing this is to open our music activities, in school and beyond, to participation by parents and other adults. If you are already doing this, please share your stories. You can help us all to redefine the meaning of “nurturing parent involvement.” Direct participation will always be the best of all.


Michael George is executive director at the Wisconsin Center for Music Education. Email: mgeorge@wsmamusic.org


Wisconsin Music Educators Association Executive Board 2011–12


President Richard Tengowski Kohler High School tengowskir@kohler.k12.wi.us


President-Elect Leyla Sanyer Oregon High School les@oregonsd.net


Past-President Jon B. Gilliland


jonbgilliland@gmail.com


Vice-President NW District Connie Root


Hudson Middle School rootca@hudson.k12.wi.us


Vice-President NC District Jim Scheuer Owen-Withee High School jscheuer@owen-withee.k12.wi.us


Vice-President NE District Matt McVeigh Woodworth Middle School mcveighm@fonddulac.k12.wi.us


Vice-President SW District Chris Werner


La Crosse Central High School cwerner@lacrosseschools.org


Vice-President SC District Patty Schlafer


Mount Horeb Middle School schlaferpatty@mhasd.k12.wi.us


Vice-President SE District Scott Emmons UW-Milwaukee semm@csd.uwm.edu


WMEA State Chairs


Administration Steve Michaels


La Crosse Public Schools smichael@lacrosseschools.org


Adult Education in Music Tom Heninger heningert@charter.net


Band Pat Pollock Chequamegon High School ppollock@csdk12.net


Choral Lynn Seidl Luxemburg Casco Middle School lseidl@luxcasco.k12.wi.us


College & University Vanissa Murphy UW-Eau Claire murphyvb@uwec.edu


Collegiate MENC Advisor Beatriz Aguilar Edgewood College baguilar@edgewood.edu


Wisconsin School Musician


Collegiate MENC Representative Bret Van Nuland UW-Eau Claire vannulbc@uwec.edu


CMP


Chris Gleason Patrick Marsh Middle School cpgleas@spasd.k12.wi.us


Early Childhood Education Rick Townsend


Maranatha Baptist Bible College rtownsend@mbbc.edu


General Music Karen Tordera Lakeview Elementary ktordera@wwusd.org


Government Relations Julie Brown


Madison Middle School brownjulie@aasd.k12.wi.us


Historian & Retired Members Kris McLain


kvmclain@charter.net


Jazz Education Steve Sveum


Sun Prairie High School sjsveum@spasd.k12.wi.us


Listening Project Peggy Krasin, Co-Chair Westside Elementary peggykrasin@comcast.net


Aimee Swanson, Co-Chair Lake Geneva Middle School aimee.swanson@badger.k12.wi.us


PI34 Licensing & Mentoring Project Mary Anne Zupan Wales Elementary School zzupanm@kmis.kwsp.edu


Music In Our Schools Month Sharon Munson


smunson319@sbcglobal.net


Orchestra Carrie Gruselle


Appleton East High School grusellecarrie@aasd.k12.wi.us


Research


Sheila Feay-Shaw UW-Milwaukee feayshaw@uwm.edu


Technology David Johnson Williams Bay High School djohnson@williamsbayschools.org


Tri-M Music Honor Society Steve Kurr


Middleton High School skurr@mcpasd.k12.wi.us


WI Advocates for Music Education Leyla Sanyer Oregon High School les@oregonsd.net


Executive Director Michael George Wisconsin Center for Music Education mgeorge@wsmamusic.org


Membership Coordinator Terri Ellis Dodgeville Middle School tellis@dsd.k12.wi.us


State Fine Arts Consultant TBA


9


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60