This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
EDITOR’S VOICE CONTACTS


Editorial Editor Tanita Cross tanita@opusbm.co.uk


Advertising Sales Director Gavin Nicholls gavin@opusbm.co.uk


Account Director Clare Gapp clare@opusbm.co.uk


Account Manager Dean Walford Dean@opusbm.co.uk


Sales Executive Megan Nourse megan@opusbm.co.uk


Production Production Director Hannah Wilkinson hannah@opusbm.co.uk


Studio Manager Nikki Jones nikki@opusbm.co.uk


Designer Grace O’Malley grace@opusbm.co.uk


Circulation & Distribution Consultant Naama Gelber naama@opusbm.co.uk


Accounts Financial Director John Fuller john@opusbm.co.uk


CEO Mark Hanson mark@opusbm.co.uk


Hello everyone and welcome to issue six of Tomorrow’s Care.


One of the key themes at this year’s Care Show, which returns to Bournemouth in March, will be care home occupancy. The industry is worried that soon it will be unable to cope with the demand for places in care facilities, as more people live longer than ever before.


For a lot of people, it is in the aftermath of a serious injury that they have to move into a care home. Half of older people who suffer a hip fracture, for example, can no longer live independently. 95% of hip fractures are caused by falls, which 30% of over-65s and half of people over 80 experience every year. This has serious repercussions for the care home industry.


Registered in England & Wales No: 06786728 Opus Business Media Ltd Zurich House, Hulley Road, Macclesfield, Cheshire SK10 2SF


Email: info@opusbm.co.uk


Tel: 01625 426054 Fax: 01625 614787 ISSN 2055-477X


www.tomorrowscare.co.uk This publication is copyright Opus Business Media Ltd and may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form in whole or in part without the prior written permission of Opus Business Media Ltd. While every care has been taken during the preparation of this magazine, Opus Business Media Ltd cannot be held responsible for the accuracy of the information herein or for any consequence arising from it. The publisher does not necessarily agree with the views and opinions expressed by contributors.


- 4 -


So this month I chatted to the CEO of Hip Impact Protection, William Beckett, about how a material invented by an extreme sports enthusiast could prevent hip fractures, keep more people at home for longer and help stabilise demand for care home places. William also gave us an exclusive look at how his company has upgraded hip protection for the information age.


If you’re heading to the Care Show in a few weeks, you’ll not want to miss our preview of the show, which includes those all-important directions to Bournemouth.


See you there! Editor’s Voice


Tanita Cross, Editor www.tomorrowscare.co.uk


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50