This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
2016 Dance Council Honors – “And the Winner Is…” by Janice LaPointe-Crump D

edicated, talented, inspirational and visionary are a few of the qualities that mark dancers, artists, business people, leaders and teachers whose inspiring careers are recognized

by Dance Council Honors each year. The recipients of the five esteemed Honor awards show us how past accomplishments have changed lives and led to the golden future of dance ….. and YOU have a hand in picking the winners!

Who has meant the most to you as a dancer? Who inspires your artistic philosophy or has brought excitement to the art form? ANY member of the Dance Council of North Texasmay nomi- nate a friend, mentor, student or artist for the award that is most appropriate. In fact, only DCNT Members are eligible to nominate, although their nominee does not have to be a member. However, it is required their contributions involve Texas in some way

The nomination process is simple and direct: 1. Write a short let- ter introducing your nominee and telling us why this person should receive the designated award. 2. Provide complete contact information for the nominee and yourself. 3. Include a short biog- raphy of the person (one page only). 4. Include at least one letter of support from someone who knows the nominee and/or his/her work. 5. OPTIONAL – 1 – 2 photographs.

Before preparing the nomination packet, be sure to refer to the awards criteria on the Honors page (Programs) on the DCNT website:

Note the deadline; nominations will not be accepted after April 30, 2016. Send your nomination package by email to both - and by April 30, 2016

A few of the past recipients include: for the Larry White Dance Educator Award – Prof. Emerita Gladys Keeton, Ronelle Eddings, and Daniel Buraczeski; for the Mary Warner Award for Service to Dance – Tony Tucci, Kay Dalziel, and Sharen Bradford; for the Natalie Skelton Award for Artistic Excellence – Carter Alexander, Misty Owens, and Dylis Croman; for the Buster Cooper Tap Legend award – Joe and Anne Cutaia, Lane Alexander, Persis Foster and Jackie Troup Miller; and for the Mary Bywaters Award for Lifetime Achievement in Dance – Sir Ben Stevenson OBE, Ann Etgen and Bill Atkinson, and Guru Revathi Satyu.

Is there someone you know of, who deserves to be included in this illustrious listing? Check out the criteria and get busy on completing the requirements. If you miss the deadline, you may regret not taking the opportunity to honor a special person in your dance life via the Dance Council Honors.

Janice LaPointe-Crump is a freelance writer; Co-chair of the DCNT Honors Committee and Professor Emerita Texas Woman’s University Dance.

page 22

Feb.-Apr. 2016

DANCE! NORTH TEXAS a publication of the dance council of north texas

vol. 19 • no. 1

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32