search.noResults

search.searching

note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
A NOTE FROM ARGENTUM


PRESIDENT & CEO James Balda jbalda@argentum.org


CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER Maribeth Bersani mbersani@argentum.org


Exploring the Future by Scouring the Present


“The future is already here - it’s just not very evenly distributed.” These are the words of acclaimed writer William Gibson. In his apothegm, Gibson implies that we are living amongst the senior living communities of the future, we just don’t realize it. In this issue of Senior Living Executive magazine, we explore the future by scouring the present. Contributing writer, Sarah Lai Stirland profiles a diverse collection of recent inventions that have the potential to improve the quality of life for your residents drastically. You’ll discover products including an airbag folded into a belt that deploys when the wearer falls over to reduce the occurrence of hip fractures and utensils for seniors with hand tremors that shakes 70 percent less than the hand holding it. In her first piece for Senior Living Executive, Lisa Rabasca Roepe profiles the five recipients of the Argentum Senior Living by Design Awards. Now in its fifth year, the Argentum Senior Living by Design Awards program aims to cast a bright light on the extraordinary work of leading designers, architects, and operators who are transforming senior living community design. The future of senior living already exists, perhaps as scattered ideas in conversations with your colleagues or programs in practice by top performing executive director. Facilitating knowledge exchange is one of the principal responsibilities for this magazine so that these ideas can be studied, improved – and distributed to improve operations and enrich the quality of life for your residents.


– Nathan Nickens VP, Programming & Innovation


Senior Living Executive, Volume 23, Number 6 (print ISSN 2161-6698, online ISSN 2161-671X) is published bimonthly by Argentum, 1650 King Street, Suite 602, Alexandria, VA. Periodicals postage paid at Alexandria, VA and additional mailing offices. Argentum member companies receive subscriptions for staff as part of their membership. Free controlled subscriptions are also available to qualified individuals in the senior living business.


POSTMASTER: SEND ADDRESS CHANGES TO Senior Living Executive, 1650 King Street, Suite 602, Alexandria, Virginia 22314 703.894.1805. Printed in USA. Copyright 2015. Prior to photocopying items for educational classroom, internal, or personal use, please contact the Copyright Clearance Center, Customer Service, 978.750.8400, 222 Rosewood Dr., Danvers, MA 01923 or check CCC Online at www.copyright.com. Senior Living Executive will not be responsible for the return of any unsolicited manuscripts or photographs.


The following correction should be made to the 100 Largest Providers list published in the September/ October issue of Senior Living Executive. Chelsea Senior Living offers resident capacity of 2,050.


Copyright ©2016 Argentum. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form—print, electronic, or otherwise—without written permission from Argentum.


CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER Gina Mamone


gmamone@argentum.org


VP, PROGRAMMING & INNOVATION Nathan Nickens nnickens@argentum.org


VP, MARKETING Jaclyn Vann


jvann@argentum.org


VP, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT Brad Williams


bwilliams@argentum.org


VP, PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT & EDUCATION Paul Williams


pwilliams@argentum.org


DIRECTOR, GOVERNMENT RELATIONS Alexis de Armas adearmas@argentum.org


PAC MANAGER Neil Cohen


ncohen@argentum.org


MEMBERSHIP MANAGER Kari Horesky


khoresky@argentum.org


OFFICE MANAGER/ EXEC. ASSISTANT Rosa Montgomery rmontgomery@argentum.org


PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT AND EDUCATION MANAGER Robert Oliveri roliveri@argentum.org


EDITORIAL EDITOR


Sharon Cohen scohen@argentum.org


SENIOR


COMMUNICATIONS MANAGER Jessica McKay jmckay@argentum.org


PUBLICATIONS MANAGER Vatrice Chestnut vchestnut@argentum.org


ART DIRECTOR Rose Thai


rthai@argentum.org


ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTOR Scott Narug 312.673.5974 snarug@argentum.org


SALES MANAGER Shane Adriatico 312.673.5623


sadriatico@argentum.org


SUBSCRIPTIONS 703.562.1179


PROGRAM COORDINATOR Kayla McAlindin


kmcalindin@argentum.org


STAFF ACCOUNTANT Olivia Wilson


owilson@argentum.org


NOVEMBER/DECEMBER 2016 / SENIOR LIVING EXECUTIVE 3


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68  |  Page 69  |  Page 70  |  Page 71  |  Page 72