our Safe

ss Control Systems

ed third party certification body in the owners and the general public through nwide.

installers to assign each system access point with a risk classification according to the level of security required: Class I (low

risk), Class II (low to medium risk), Class III (medium to high risk) and Class IV (high risk).

Data storage

The management of record keeping and data security are key factors for consideration within access control systems. Typically, individuals ‘log-in’ and permissions are a point of risk. Failsafe system controls and procedures can ensure log-ins are up to date, with access permissions for employees or contractors added and withdrawn in a timely fashion - simple yet essential risk management. The storage of personal data by access control systems must also be secure, and adhere to GDPR data protection requirements.

Raising standards

NSI is committed to auditing services to British Standards and its own codes of practice, such as NCP 109 where these contribute to

raising industry

Approvals held to this standard will: • Demonstrate the credentials of specialist security providers to buyers and users.

• Help ensure good practice by installers engaged by stadium operators


NCP 109 provides a framework to assist installers and users in establishing risk, needs and requirements,

assist users

in determining the appropriate level of security and sophistication required for a given application, and assist system designers in meeting specifier or user requirements.

The successful operation of access control systems is built on clear collaboration between users and installers. Security can only be achieved with carefully developed and clearly understood specifications and usability in practice.

The customer perspective

From a client perspective choosing an NSI approved company provides confidence in a provider knowing they are subject to an ongoing independent audit programme including sample inspections of installations, expressly focused on competence


business practices. All NSI Gold approvals include certification to BS EN ISO 9001 (for a company’s Quality Management System). System Installers elect to adhere to the relevant standards – in this case NSI Code of Practice NCP 109. They benchmark themselves against NSI approval schemes to demonstrate commitment to the highest standards of competence in the design, delivery, operation, management and maintenance of access control systems. NSI approval provides assurance to buyers

that installers, operators and managers of access control systems, deliver consistent best practice with fit-for-purpose systems and equipment, which helps keep people safe. NSI approval signals capable and competent

providers who are well placed to interpret customer needs and deliver solutions that work. NSI approvals cover a wide range of international and British Standards as well as its own Codes of Practices.

FSM 19

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36