This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.

news EVENT

‘After four happy years in Singapore we are delighted to be moving to Berlin for our 2016 Festival’

Paul Finch WAF programme director

World Architecture Festival heads to Berlin

The World Architecture Festival (WAF) has announced that this year’s event will take place at the Arena Berlin in Germany from 16-18 November. Returning for its ninth edition, and fol- lowing four successful years in Singapore, the Festival returns to its European roots and will be housed in Franz Ahrens’ his- toric former bus depot, now known as Arena Berlin. WAF and its co-located sister event INSIDE World Festival of Interiors, will welcome more than 2,000 of the world’s leading architects and designers to the city for three days of conference pro- grammes, awards, exhibitions and fringe events. The German capital provides the perfect cultural backdrop for the world’s largest annual celebration of architecture. Berlin’s eclectic and constantly evolving cityscape owes much to the city’s turbu- lent history, and features an assortment

of architectural styles, from Prussian Classicism through National Socialist design to Postmodernism, making it a fitting third host city for the Festival. The Festival will be taking advantage of this architecturally rich location by expanding its fringe programme, with tours and events planned across the city. WAF programme director Paul Finch commented: “After four happy years in Singapore we are delighted to be moving to Berlin for our 2016 Festival. This is a city with an extraordinary history, and one which has been a breeding ground for architectural ideas, historical and contemporary. We look forward to staging our first Festival in Europe since 2011, and to welcoming architects from across the world to our ninth edition.” The WAF Awards, the ‘Oscars of archi- tecture’, sit at the heart of the Festival and celebrate global architectural excellence across completed buildings, future

projects and landscape projects. Entries for the 2016 edition are now open, ahead of the submission deadline on 19 May. Attracting entries from over 60 coun- tries, shortlisted projects compete across 30 categories and all present live at the Festival in Berlin. The first members of this year’s ‘super- jury’ have been announced: David Chipperfield, Luisa Hutton and Professor Frédéric Migayrou. The esteemed panel of venerated architects will decide on the Festival’s ultimate prize – The World Building of the Year.

Arena Berlin © Markus Nass

Wienerberger Brick Award 2016 shortlist announced includes six UK projects

The Wienerberger Brick Award, which was first initiated in 2004, is a biannual ‘architectural award that honours out- standing examples of modern and innovative brick architecture’. In 2016, Wienerberger is presenting this inter- nationally established award for the seventh time. This year Wienerberger has slightly adapted the participation conditions. For the first time, architects could enter their best brick projects directly via the online tool. After receiving over 600 projects

from 55 different countries, a panel of architecture critics selected the 50 shortlisted projects for the award this year. The award comprises five categories: Residential Use; Public Use; Re-Use; Urban Infill and Special Solution. Among the 2016 shortlisted projects are Forest Mews by Robert &

Jessica Barker (founders of Baca Architects and Stolon Studio), a redevelopment of an urban brownfield site and Herringbone House by Chan and Eayrs an urban development set amongst Victorian homes, both in London, which are nominated for the Urban Refill award. Saw Swee Hock Student Centre by O’Donnell & Tuomey a multi-functional building for the London School of Economics, is nominated for the Public Use award, and Seven Acres by Formation Architects a development of 128 dwellings in Cambridge developed with detailed master plans and design is nominated for the Residential Use Award. From this shortlist an international

jury of architects selects the winners in the single categories. Assessment

criteria include innovative exterior design and skilful use of brick as a material along with functionality, sustainability and energy efficiency. Special attention is directed to how the building blends in with the surroundings as well as to the form, aesthetics and general quality of the architecture. The use of Wienerberger products is not a necessary condition of participation. The official Brick Award ceremony

will take place in Vienna on 19 May, combined with an architecture symposium. The award is endowed with prize money of 7,000 Euros for the Grand Prize Winner and 5,000 Euros for the Category Winners. For more information, please visit and enter reference number 81115.

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68  |  Page 69  |  Page 70  |  Page 71  |  Page 72  |  Page 73  |  Page 74  |  Page 75  |  Page 76  |  Page 77  |  Page 78  |  Page 79  |  Page 80  |  Page 81  |  Page 82  |  Page 83  |  Page 84