This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
Official publication of the United States Curling Association


EDITOR & DESIGN Terry L. Davis ASSOCIATE EDITOR Rick Patzke EMERITUS EDITOR David Garber


USA CURLING NATIONAL OFFICE


5525 Clem’s Way, Stevens Point, WI 54482 Office: 715-344-1199 // info@usacurl.org www.usacurl.org // Facebook, Twitter & Google+ USA CURLING STAFF


ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT


Simone LaMarche, simone.lamarche@usacurl.org CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER


Rick Patzke, rick.patzke@usacurl.org CONTROLLER


Tom Doherty, tom.doherty@usacurl.org DEPUTY MANAGER


Mike Dellemann, mike.dellemann@usacurl.org DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATE


Christy Hering, christy.hering@usacurl.org DIRECTOR OF COMMUNICATIONS


Terry Davis, terry.davis@usacurl.org DIRECTOR OF GROWTH & DEVELOPMENT Kim Nawyn, kim.nawyn@usacurl.org EVENT SERVICES MANAGER Jenny Biadasz, jenny.biadasz@usacurl.org DIRECTOR OF HIGH PERFORMANCE


Derek Brown, derek.brown@usacurl.org NATIONAL COACHING STAFF


Scott Baird, National Coach Phill Drobnick, National Men’s Coach Jake Higgs, National Mixed Doubles Coach Dave Jensen, National Junior Coach Ann Swisshelm, National Women’s Coach Brian McWilliams, Athletic Trainer


Carly Anderson, Sports Psychologist NATIONAL WHEELCHAIR COACH


Steve Brown, steve.brown@usacurl.org NATIONAL WHEELCHAIR ASSISTANT COACH


Rusty Schieber, rusty.schieber@usacurl.org NATIONAL WHEELCHAIR CURLING OUTREACH DEVELOPMENT DIRECTOR


Marc DePerno, marc.deperno@usacurl.org HEAD ICE TECHNICIAN


Dave Staveteig, 1083david@gmail.com UNITED STATES CURLING ASSOCIATION


OFFICERS CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD Rich Lepping VICE CHAIRWOMAN OF BOARD Courtney Schmidt SECRETARY GENERAL OF THE BOARD Rick Patzke TREASURER Vic Huebner SECRETARY Gordon Maclean DIRECTORS


Craig Brown [Athletes Advisory Council, 2017] Matt Gamboa [Mountain Pacific, 2017] Jeff Hannon [Grand National, 2017] Mark Hartman [Wisconsin, 2018] Cyndee Johnson [Minnesota, 2018] Joel Leneker [Grand National, 2018] Rich Lepping [Wisconsin, 2017] Hawley MacLean [Board-elected, 2017] Catharine Persinger [Alaska/CO/At-Large, 2018] Doug Potter [Washington, 2017] Allison Pottinger [Athletes Advisory Council, 2017] Doug Pottinger [Athletes Advisory Council, 2017] Courtney Schmidt [Great Lakes, 2018] Jessica Schultz [Athletes Advisory Council, 2017] Sean Silver [Illinois, 2018] Chris Sjue [North Dakota, 2017] Jennifer Stannard [USWCA & WCF, 2018] Scott Stevinson [Mid America, 2018] Bill Stopera [Athletes Advisory Council, 2017] Nick Wellen [Minnesota, 2017] Beau Welling [Board-elected & WCF rep, 2017] Voice, no vote: Leland Rich [WCF, 2018] Mark Swandby [WCF rep, 2019] Operational Committee Chairpersons: Member Development: Gordon Maclean Organizational Development: Leland Rich Grassroots Competitions: Sam Williams Standing Committee Chairpersons: Audit/Finance: Sean Silver Human Resources: Chris Sjue Judicial: Kent Beadle Ethics: Michael Shalhoub Nominating/Governance: Leland Rich


AMERICAN CURLING FOUNDATION & MUSEUM


The Museum is located at the Chicago Curling Club, 555 Dundee Road, Northbrook, IL 60062


USCA HALL OF FAME


The United States Curling Association Hall of Fame is located at the national office, 5525 Clem’s Way, Stevens Point, WI 54482. U.S. WOMEN’S CURLING ASSOCIATION


OFFICERS


PRESIDENT Carol Stevenson FIRST VICE PRESIDENT Dawn Gutro SECOND VICE PRESIDENT Martha Mazzarella SECRETARY Judi Page TREASURER Tracy Lawless COMPTROLLER Lisa Johnson USCA LIAISON Jennifer Stannard COMMUNICATIONS Elaine Ritchie PROMOTIONS Bridget Matzke


Next editorial deadline: Oct. 28, 2016 Please send all correspondence for submission to Editor, U.S. Curling News, 5525 Clem’s Way, Stevens Point, WI 54482 or via e-mail to terry.davis@usacurl.org. The United States Curling News (ISSN 1064-3001;


USPS 392-020) is published quarterly by the United States Curling Association, 5525 Clem’s Way, Stevens Point, WI 54482. Subscription price for non-USCA members: $24.95 per year (North America), $34.95 per year (overseas), payable in US currency. Single copy price: $6.50. Advertising rates on request. Estab- lished 1945. Periodicals postage paid at Stevens Point, Wis., and additional offices. Postmaster sends address changes to U.S. Curling News, 5525 Clem’s Way, Stevens Point, WI 54482. Download the Curling News app for iPhone, iPad, Android, and Kindle Fire.


Established 1945


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46