This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.

Colin S. “Cody” Moffat graduated from Springfield College in 1950 with a Master’s of Education degree in Physical Education and had a lifelong affiliation with the YMCA, beginning when he was a youth in Canada. His professional career with the YMCA spanned more than 35 years, and his life’s work culminated in an induction into the YMCA Hall of Fame in 1998. Moffat began his career in youth and physical secretary positions at YMCAs in Ontario. He went on to serve the YMCA in Detroit, and the regional office in Chicago. He was keenly interested in the World Service programs of the International Committee of the YMCAs of the United States and Canada. After World War II, during which Moffat served in the First Canadian Paratroopers battalion, he spent two years as the principal of the YMCA College of Physical Education in Madras, India. Moffat joined the International Committee for Overseas Staff in 1957 and served as director of overseas personnel for the YMCA of the USA from 1962 to 1975. During this latter period, he had a major role in the development of the Young Professionals Abroad and the World Service Worker programs.


Families often think about endowing a fund in honor or memory of a loved one, or someone whom they admire, but may hesitate out of concern that they will not be able to see to their own current and future financial needs. Planned giving vehicles are available that allow them to achieve their own goals while making a significant impact on a favorite charity.

Tese gifts can be as simple as a beneficiary designation of a life insurance policy, a bequest through a will, or a beneficiary designation of

certain retirement plans. Other types of gifts can be more complex, such as charitable remainder trusts or annuities, which may provide advantages—including current income—for the donor and their loved ones, while benefitting the charities that they care about—such as Springfield College or their YMCA.

Additional information about planned giving to Springfield College is available from Al Carrano at (800) 622-6072.


Te formal dedication and naming of the new Stitzer YMCA Center will take place on Tursday, May 19, at noon. Te event will take place inside of Judd Gymnasia which is home to the Stitzer YMCA Center. All are invited to attend.

Te Stitzer YMCA Center was made possible through leadership gifts from Todd Stitzer H’07 and Mark Stitzer, and their wives Marenda ’78 and Lucy, with additional support from the YMCA of the USA, the YMCA Retirement Fund Staff and Business Partners, a number of individual YMCAs across the country, and other individuals, foundations, and organizations.

For more information, contact Director of YMCA Relations Harry Rock at 413.748.3914 or e-mail at or

2010 Inductees to the YMCA Hall of Fame: SERVE

t Ellen Brown t Isaac Eddy Brown t Sumner F. Dudley t Clement Duran t Charles Eastman t Asa Kent Jennings t William Chauncey Langdon t William E. Lewis t Max Yergan t Cephas Brainerd t G. Sherwood Eddy t Dwight Moody t David Allen Reed t John D. Rockefeller Jr. t Julius Rosenwald t William S. Sloane t George Stuart


To honor his outstanding service to the YMCA, the Moffat family established the endowed Colin S. Moffat Scholarship Fund in his memory, to be awarded annually to Springfield College students who are preparing for careers with the YMCA. By endowing a scholarship fund, the Moffat family chose a way to memorialize their loved one in perpetuity while helping organizations about which they care.

For more information

about establishing a scholarship at Springfield College, please contact Scott Berg at (800) 622-6072.


Colin S. “Cody” Moffat 1914-1975

At the Salt Lake City General Assembly of YMCAs meeting in July, 17 YMCA professionals and volunteers were posthumously inducted into the YMCA Hall of Fame, which resides in the new Stitzer YMCA Center at Springfield College. Te 17 individuals were researched by Bill Cameron and archivists from both Springfield College and the Kautz Family YMCA Archives located at the University of Minnesota. Inductees were historic individuals with prominent YMCA backgrounds. YMCA of the USA President and CEO Neil Nicoll, YMCA Retirement Fund President and CEO John M. Preis, Springfield College President Richard B. Flynn, and AYP Executive Director and CEO Donna Dunn made presentations. Te next induction will take place at the 2013 General Assembly of YMCAs in Philadelphia.

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8