This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
FROM THE DESK OF THE PUBLISHER


IT’S SHOWTIME!


I just love this time of year. The Helicopter Association International’s annual HeliExpo is the largest gathering of all things rotorcraft in the world. This year we meet in sunny Orlando, Florida for five days of meetings, presentations, exposition displays, and maybe a little social networking squeezed in as well. There is no better opportunity to rub elbows with everyone from new flight stu- dents to the CEO’s of the largest helicopter companies in the world. Somewhere in the neighborhood of 17,000 helicopter enthusiasts, over 500 industry vendors, and some 60 or 70 helicopters will all be under one roof at the Orange County Convention Center.


ROTORCRAFT PRO MEDIA NETWORK


RPMN is a project we began developing several years ago. First introduced at the HeliExpo 2010 in Houston, Texas, we are now proud to announce that we are well prepared to take our plan to the next level. Our new mobile production studio will make it’s debut at this show. A fully self contained unit which not only allows us to bring our production equipment anywhere, it is also configured for editing and production on site. This is another first for the rotor- craft industry, and we’re proud to provide it. Come visit us at booth 803 and we’ll give you a quick tour of our set.


RON WHITNEY PRESIDENT


OAK MOUNTAIN MEDIA, LLC.


IN THIS ISSUE


Our popular Rotorcraft Pioneers series continues this month with a very interesting article chronicling the achievements of Mr. Frank Robinson.


Brad McNally has again done a wonderful job


researching Mr. Robinson’s career in engineering and aviation. He also had the pleasure of visiting Torrence, California and conduct- ing a one on one interview. I’m certain you’ll enjoy Frank’s unique perspective, I did. Brad also had the opportunity to take the newly certificated R66 for a few turns around the pattern, more on that in coming months.


BEST REGARDS,


PUBLISHER/EDITOR IN CHIEF Ron Whitney


ron@rotorcraftpro.com


ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER Darian Weaver


darian@rotorcraftpro.com


ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE Rebecca Williams


rwilliams@rotorcraftpro.com


ONLINE EDITOR Lyn Burks


lyn.burks@rotorcraftpro.com


VICE PRESIDENT/CFO Clay Branum


clay@rotorcraftpro.com


VICE PRESIDENT/CAO Rick Weatherford


rick@rotorcraftpro.com


DIR. BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT Butch Cole


butch@rotorcraftpro.com


MANAGER, ONLINE ACCOUNTS Lynette Burks


lynette@rotorcraftpro.com ROTORCRAFTPROFESSIONAL


CREATIVE DIRECTOR Dana Maxfield


dana@rotorcraftpro.com


CIRCULATION DIRECTOR Pam Fulmer


pam@rotorcraftpro.com


LEGAL COUNCIL Casey Duncan


casey@rotorcraftpro.com


RISK MANAGEMENT Steve Lawrence


steve@rotorcraftpro.com 4


Rotorcraft Professional®


is published twelve times a year and


mailed out on or around the 20th of the month being covered by Oak Mountain Media, LLC, 3100 Lorna Road, Suite 201, Hoover, Alabama 35216. Rotorcraft Professional®


ified subscribers. Non-qualified subscription rates are $57.00 per year in the U.S. and Canada and $84.00 per year for foreign sub- scribers (surface mail). U.S. Postage paid at Birmingham, Alabama and additional mailing offices. Rotorcraft Professional®


is distributed to qualified readers in the


helicopter industry. Publisher is not liable for all content (including editorial and illustrations provided by advertisers) of advertisements published and does not accept responsibility for any claims made against the publisher. It is the advertiser’s or agency’s responsibility to obtain appropriate releases on any item or individuals pictured in an advertisement. Reproduction of this magazine in whole or in part is prohibited without prior written permission from the publisher.


POSTMASTER: Send address changes to: Oak Mountain Media, LLC, 3100 Lorna Road, Suite 201, Hoover, AL 35216


is distributed free to qual- Ron Whitney PRESIDENT Executive Offices


3100 Lorna Rd., Ste. 201 Hoover, AL 35216


toll free: 877.768.5550 fax: 205.978.2925


www.rotorcraftpro.com


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52