This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
OFF THE RECORD


INDUSTRY GAMERTAGS


Now you can stalk your favourite games industry people after hours on Xbox Live


Luke Albiges, GamesTM


POBI WAN


Phil Driver, ShopTo


BADRUBBERPIGGY WANT TO FEATURE IN INDUSTRY GAMERTAGS? SEND YOUR DETAILS TO OFFTHERECORD@INTENTMEDIA.CO.UK


SAJ MONEY THE 1ORD EIGHTIES, NINETIES, NOUGHTIES The brands, people and technology that have dominated decades. This week: Bizarre Creations


THE RAISING HELL Formed by Martyn Chudley in Derek Hatton’s Liverpool in 1988, Raising Hell Software arrived at a time when life in Britain was, to put it bluntly, fucking rubbish. The golden 8-bit years were in steep decline, and nimble, young independent studios were forced to learn on the job, as the Atari ST and Commodore Amiga finally started to gain traction with the kids. Chudley began working on its debut offering The Killing Floor, alongside fellow Liverpudlians Psygnosis, which had rapidly carved itself a reputation as one of the leading exponents of the 16-bit scene.


CONTACT INFORMATION Editorial: 01992 535646 l Advertising: 01992 535647 l Fax: 01992 535648


Managing Editor: Lisa Foster Lisa.Foster@intentmedia.co.uk


Editor-In-Chief: Michael French Michael.French@intentmedia.co.uk


Deputy Editor: Christopher Dring Chris.Dring@intentmedia.co.uk


Staff Writer: James Batchelor James.Batchelor@intentmedia.co.uk


Staff Writer: Dominic Sacco Dominic.Sacco@intentmedia.co.uk


Online Editor: Ben Parfitt Ben.Parfitt@intentmedia.co.uk


Contributors: Will Freeman, Rob Crossley, Stuart Richardson, Kristan Reed


Advertising Manager: Lesley Blumson Lesley.Blumson@intentmedia.co.uk


Advertising Executive:Rob Baker Rob.Baker@intentmedia.co.uk


Senior Designer: Adam Butler Adam.Butler@intentmedia.co.uk


Art Director: Stuart Moody Stuart.Moody@intentmedia.co.uk


Production Manager: Suzanne Powles Suzanne.Powles@intentmedia.co.uk


Business Development: Dave Roberts Dave.Roberts@intentmedia.co.uk


Contributing Editor: Samantha Loveday Samantha.Loveday@intentmedia.co.uk


Circulation & Marketing: Lindsay Banham Lindsay Banham@intentmedia.co.uk


Finance Manager: Michael Canham Michael.Canham@intentmedia.co.uk


Finance Director: Hilary Cole


Managing Director: Stuart Dinsey Stuart.Dinsey@intentmedia.co.uk


Please address all enquiries to: Intent Media, MCV,


Saxon House, 6a St. Andrew Street, Hertford, SG14 1JA.


Printed By: Pensord, Tram Road, Pontllanfraith Blackwood, NP12 2YA


Saxon House, 6a St. Andrew Street, Hertford, Hertfordshire, England SG14 1JA


Intent Media specialises in trade-dedicated print and digital publishing for entertainment and leisure markets. As well as MCV, Intent publishes Develop, PCR, ToyNews, Mobile Entertainment, MI Pro, Audio Pro International and BikeBiz. It also has two online-only brands: CasualGaming.biz, dedicated to the growing mass market video game sector, and Licensing.biz, for everyone in the global licensing industry. It also runs a number of events including the MCV Industry Excellence Awards, the London Games Conference and the Games Media Awards.


www.intentmedia.co.uk


ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTIONS United Kingdom £150 l Europe £175 l Rest of the World £250 To order your subscription via Visa, Mastercard, Switch or AMEX or to make changes to your subscription details, contact mcv.subscriptions@c-cms.comor call 01580 883848.


58 December 3rd 2010


MCV is a member of the Periodical Publishers Association. MCVis a member of the Periodical Publishers Association. For the 12 months ending December 2009,


MCVhad an average weekly net circulation of 8,045. MCV’scirculation is 100 per cent named and zero per cent duplicated.


www.mcvuk.com ISSN: 1469-4832 Copyright 2010


THE PSYGNOSIS YEARS The poor, delicate souls at Sega forced Raising Hell into a name change because it didn’t fancy a Mega Drive game being developed by Satan’s own footsoldiers. Wimps. It wasn’t until Bizarre had a pair of chart-topping Formula Onetitles in ‘96 and ‘97 that Chudley’s crowd became renowned for its racing game prowess. The next step was to get all next gen on our skinny asses and show everyone how a street racing game should be done – the result being the mighty Dreamcast showcase title Metropolis Street Racer, a game which entirely succeeded in making the PSX look a bit shit.


GOTHAM If F1and MSRhad put Bizarre firmly on the map, then Project Gotham Racingwas the series that saw it mushroom into one of the UK’s biggest studios. With four hugely successful Xbox releases under its belt, it smashed through online gaming barriers like a pissed-off Michael Schumacher, and even brought retro gaming bang up to date with the wonderful Geometry Warstitles. But just when things looked like they couldn’t get any better, it all started to unravel. It sold out to Activision, walked away from PGR, and endured the double commercial failure of The Club, and Blur. All the best, Bizarre.


Saj Ismael, Lunch PR


Stuart Chiplin, Koch Media


MCV has an exclusive media partnership with


Famitsu – Japan’s leading video games analyst and news source


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60