search.noResults

search.searching

note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
LivingLutheran


Editor & director, content Jennifer Younker jennifer.younker@elca.org


Content editors Megan Brandsrud megan.brandsrud@elca.org


John Potter john.potter@elca.org


Erin Strybis erin.strybis@elca.org


Manager, content services Andrea Pohlmann Kulik andrea.kulik@elca.org


Copy editor Bruce Helland bruce.helland@elca.org


Manager, graphics Michelle Goodman and artistic direction michelle.goodman@elca.org


Graphic designer Karen Dersnah karen.dersnah@elca.org


Print production specialist Colleen Dorner colleen.dorner@elca.org


Manager, digital Dan Michel media strategy dan.michel@elca.org


Digital media Kris Koskinen kris.koskinen@elca.org


Brett Nelson brett.nelson@elca.org


Will Nunnally will.nunally@elca.org


Tracie Watkins tracie.watkins@elca.org


Strategic communications Barbara A. Fletcher coordinator barbara.fl etcher@elca.org


Advertising Mark K. Brewer mark.brewer@elca.org


Customer service Subscription issues, address changes, billing questions: 800-328-4648 subscriptions@augsburgfortress.org


Living Lutheran 8765 W. Higgins Rd., Chicago, IL 60631 800-638-3522; 773-380-2540; Fax: 773-380-2409


LivingLutheran.org


Living Lutheran is a member of the Associated Church Press


Subscribe: 800-328-4648 or subscriptions@augsburgfortress.org


Living Lutheran is the monthly magazine of the ELCA. Fulfi llment is managed by Augsburg Fortress, Box 1209, Minneapolis, MN 55440. (ISSN 0024-743X USPS 322080)


For display and classifi ed advertising sales: 815-858-3900; mark.brewer@elca. org. Acceptance of advertising does not imply endorsement.


Subscription rates: $19.95 a year; outside N. America add $9.20 for postage. Payable in U.S. funds. Send subscription requests to Living Lutheran Circulation, Augsburg Fortress, PO Box 1553, Minneapolis, MN 55440-8730. Or subscribe online: livinglutheran.org.


On tape: Customer Service, Box 1553, Minneapolis, MN 55440; 800-328-4648.


On microfi lm: National Archive Publishing Company (NAPC), 300 N. Zeeb Rd., PO Box 998, Ann Arbor, MI 48106-0998.


Copyright ©2017 Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. All rights reserved. Duplication in whole or in part in any form is prohibited without written permission from the publishers. Printed in the U.S.A.


Nonprofi t periodicals postage paid at St. Paul, MN, and additional mailing offi ces.


POSTMASTER: Send address changes to: Living Lutheran, Augsburg Fortress, Publishers, PO Box 1553, Minneapolis, MN 55440-8730.


The same journey At the end of March, the ELCA celebrated the 20th anniversary of the Formula of Agreement with the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), the Reformed Church in America and the United Church of Christ. “Unity in diversity” on page 32 examines the next steps of the churches together in this groundbreaking ecumenical commitment.


On the cover, 15-year-old Sarah Harrison, winner of Google’s “Doodle 4 Google” contest, proudly shows off her artwork. Her story and journey are told in the cover story, “E Pluribus Unum Deus”: Out of many, one God” (page 14). The ELCA has a rich history rooted in the idea that diversity of religious belief systems is an invitation for discussion and mutual understanding. The story details initiatives and partnerships between the ELCA and our Muslim and Jewish brothers and sisters through our partnerships together.


My father once told me there are a million paths on the same journey. Never compromise your beliefs or be ashamed of who you are, but give that same respect to others through listening, discussion and understanding of their path. This lesson stuck with me and helped frame my views of the world and relationships. I try to discuss, understand, appreciate and learn from the journey and opinions of others. And I believe that this issue demonstrates this life lesson perfectly.


We would love to hear from you. Contact us at livinglutheran@elca.org.


EDITOR’S


NOTE By Jennifer Younker


Living Lutheran is the magazine of the ELCA 4 JUNE 2017


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52