This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
La Posta January 2002 5
Doug DeRoest
POSTAL HISTORIANS
1949-2001
ON LINE
The following individuals have expressed an
interest in corresponding with other collectors via e-
mail. Names are followed by specific interest (where
known) and complete e-mail address. If you would
like to join this list in future issues of La Posta, send
us a note via e-mail at helbock@la-posta.com
Paul G. Abajian [Vermont postal history]
PGA@vbimail.champlain.edu
Murray Abramson [4th Bureaus & air to foreign dest.ination]
abram001@mc.duke.edu
Charlie Adrion [Flag Cancels] — adrionc@mail.idt.net
Carl W. Albrecht [Certified Mail/Postal Forms & Labels]
calbrech@infinet.com
Jim Alexander [Texas Postal History]
JAlexa5943@aol.com
Doug DeRoest (Leon Douglas DeRoest) 52 of La
John Amberman [Dealer]
Grande, Oregon died November 1, 2001 at Oregon
amberman@ambermanpostalhistory.com
Health Science University following a short illness.
Gary Anderson [US Doanes & ND postal history]
Doug was born July 15, 1949 in Baker City and gradu- — garyndak@ix.netcom.com
Kirk Andrews — kirk.j.andrews@intel.comated from Baker High School in 1967. In 1968 he mar-
A.A. Armstrong, Jr. [Western Nebraska & S.D. butcher
ried Jean Hall. Doug first worked for Leo Adler Ship-
PPCs] — draa@rockski.net
ping but soon became manager for Grizzly Bear Pizza.
Roland Austin [Liberty Series & Modern p.h.]
He worked his way up to the board of directors, and
raustin13@aol.com
when Grizzly Bear sold the company, Doug decided it
John Azarkevich [Military postal history dealer]
was time for him to go into business for himself. He
john.a2z@worldnet.att.net
started Klondike Pizza in 1983 and continued to own it
Harold Babb [Southern States postal history]
until his death.
babbx01@netside.com
Mark Baker [CA & NV postal history dealer]
Doug was widely known in the postal history commu-
mbcovers@directcon.net
nity through his numerous articles in La Posta and his
Michael A. Ball [Alaska Arctic & Antarctic incl. military]
work as president of the Oregon Country Postal History
BallAgency@aol.com
Society. He was also quite active in local history in east-
Alan Banks [Missouri] — abanks7@aol.com
ern Oregon and was the motivating force behind estab-
Richard Bard, Jr. — dbard@plix.com
lishing the Interpretive Center. He also was very inter-
John H. Barwis — j.h.barwis@siep.shell.com
ested in the Chinese Cemetery in Baker City and urged John E. Beane, MD [West Virginia postal history]
JBEANE@prodigy.netits protection.
William R. Beith [Eastern Oregon] — wrbeith@home.com.
Doug had many interests. He loved restoring old cars
Henry J. Berthelot [train, ship wreck mail & US postal card
and doing car shows. He collected old pictures of East-
p.h.]— hankberthelot@yahoo.com
ern Oregon and had them restored for future genera-
Henry Betz [Franklin Co., PA & Cumberland Valley RR]
tions. He loved gardening and mostly he loved birds—
hbetz@epix.net
especially his private bird Elvis (a scarlet macaw). Jim Blandford [Mich. Doanes & Early Detroit]
jblandf526@aol.com
Doug is survived by his wife Jean DeRoest of LaGrande,
Tim Boardman [Washington PH, photos, books & maps]
Julie and Michael Marostica of Ontario, Tami and John
Simcoe@dsl-only.net
Lannon of LaGrande, Susan DeRoest of Ontario,
Joe Bock [Airmail/US Transports] — jorobock@sedona.net
Michael DeRoest of Baker City, and Jim Hall of Baker
Eppe Bosch — bonep@qwest.net
City. He has six grandchildren. His mother and stepfa- Caj Brejtfus [1851-61 3c & Machine cancels]
brejtfus@earthlink.comther Toye and Dee Spence, his sister Madeline Kahn of
Deane Briggs, MD [Florida Postal History]
Fallon Nevada, his brother Ron DeRoest of Baker City,
dbriggs2@tampabay.rr.com
his brother Dorrell Spence and Patrick Spence, and nu-
Roger S. Brody [US 2nd Bureau issue] — RSBCO@aol.com
merous nephews and nieces. Doug spent a good deal of
Mark Burnett [Washington-Franklins Series]
his life with his wife caring and raising foster children
MBur331547@aol.com
and felt that they were his own. Many children called
Raymond Buse [Cincinnati & Clermont Co., OH p.h.]
him dad.
stamppat@aol.com
Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68  |  Page 69  |  Page 70  |  Page 71  |  Page 72  |  Page 73  |  Page 74  |  Page 75  |  Page 76  |  Page 77  |  Page 78  |  Page 79  |  Page 80  |  Page 81  |  Page 82
Produced with Yudu - www.yudu.com