This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
R


U


N


-


O


F


46Music Week 30.11.12 F


Incorporating fono, MBI, Future Hits, Green Sheet, Hit Music, Promo, Record Mirror and Tours Report





WISE QUACKS The music industry came together last Thursday for fun, food and a very worthy cause at Nordoff Robbins’ Pop Quiz 2012. Wise Buddah/Box Music claimed the night’s bragging rights, celebrating yet another win at the Regents Park Marriot Hotel (1). PRS for Music, led by chairman Guy Fletcher, showed unshakable concentration (2) to claim second place, while Songlink Saboteurs nabbed the bronze. Also in attendance and unfortunate victims of the Music Week lens, Union Square (3) came in ninth and PPL (4) finished an enviable fifth, bested just by the Nordoff Robbins lot themselves (5), who went away with extra kudos for a good time had by all. What’s that? Where did Music Week feature in the final standings? Never you mind.


Editorial and sales 020 7226 7246


Music Week is published 50 times a year by Intent Media London, 1st Floor, Suncourt House, 18-26 Essex Road, London, N1 8LN, England


© Intent Media 2012. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form or by any means without prior permission of the copyright owners.


   FABLED LABELS


RHYTHM KING Key artists The Beatmasters, Bomb The Bass, S-Express


Dance label Rhythm King was founded by Martin Heath, Adele Nozedar, DJ Jay Strongman and James Horrocks. By 1988 Heath was in sole charge of the label and the three years after that was Rhythm King’s most successful period. Notable artists included The Beatmasters, Betty Boo, Bomb The Bass, Merlin and S-Express. Breakthrough came via the single Rok Da House by The Beatmasters


featuring The Cookie Crew. Initially reaching No.78 when first released in July 1987, the single was re-released in January 1988 and reached No.5. This was followed by Bomb The Bass’ Beat Dis which debuted at No.5 the same month. The label’s first No.1 single came from S-Express (pictured) in April/ May 1988 with Theme from S’Express sampling Rose Royce’s 1970s disco anthem Is It Love You’re After. The label’s commercial success enabled it to link


a distribution deal with Sony subsidiary Epic. But as the Nineties progressed many of the established artists on the roster either departed and/or concentrated on producing for other artists. The musical focus shifted more towards indie and


alternative rock. Acts signed during this period included Echobelly, Sheep on Drugs, The Sultans Of Ping FC and X-CNN. When Rhythm King’s distribution deal with Sony ended in 1996, a new deal with BMG’s Arista Records was signed. Rhythm King was subsequently merged into the main Arista concern when Heath became head of that label.


Did you know? Rhythm King started out as an offshoot of Daniel Miller’s Mute Records and continued to be associated with the label until 1991.


LIANNE LA HAVAS VS MACY GRAY 0 Mac 10k


Lianne La Havas – 37,468 Macy G y –ray – 42,298


a Ha © Intent Media 2012 20k 30k 40k 50k VIEWS VIEWS


Lianne La Havas – 4,181,054 Macy Gray – 6,796,323


2m 4m


Macy G y – 6,796,32 6m


8m 10m


All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording or any information storage or retrieval system without the express prior written consent of the publisher. The contents of Music Week are subject to reproduction in information storage and retrieval systems. Registered at the Post Office as a newspaper.


Printed by Pensord Press Ltd, Tram Road, Pontllanfraith, Blackwood, Gwent NP12 2YA


Subscription hotline 020 7354 6000 Email craig.swan@intentmedia.co.uk


To manage your subscription online visit www.subscriptions.co.uk/musicweek and click on Manage My Subscription.


UK £235; Europe £275; Rest of World Airmail (1) £350; Rest of World Airmail (2) £390. Refunds on cancelled subscriptions will only be provided at the Publisher’s discretion, unless specifically guaranteed within the terms of subscription offer.


“Every day I get in the queue/ To get on the bus that takes me to you”


SOCIAL STANDING Mac 20k 20k Pitbull – 16,117,711


Prof. Green– 1,383,573 Wretch 32 – 134,771 40k


60k itbull – 16,,,117,711


Lianne La Havas – 76,453 Macy G y –ray – 99,848


80k 100k FOLLOWERS LIKES 


Official fan pages go head-to-head


CONTACTS EDITOR Tim Ingham Tim.Ingham@intentmedia.co.uk HEAD OF BUSINESS ANALYSIS Paul Williams Paul.Williams@intentmedia.co.uk DEPUTY EDITOR Tom Pakinkis Tom.Pakinkis@intentmedia.co.uk STAFF WRITER Tina Hart Tina.Hart@intentmedia.co.uk STAFF WRITER Rhian Jones Rhian.Jones@intentmedia.co.uk CHART CONSULTANT Alan Jones SENIOR DESIGNER Ed Miller Ed.Miller@intentmedia.co.uk CHARTS & DATA Isabelle Nesmon Isabelle.Nesmon@intentmedia.co.uk PLAYLIST EDITOR Stuart Clarke Stuart@littlevictoriesltd.com SALES MANAGER Darrell Carter Darrell.Carter@intentmedia.co.uk SENIOR ACCOUNT MANAGER Rob Baker rob.baker@intentmedia.co.uk SALES EXECUTIVE Victoria Dowling Victoria.Dowling@intentmedia.co.uk SENIOR ACCOUNT MANAGER Matthew Tyrrell Matthew.Tyrrell@intentmedia.co.uk SENIOR PRODUCTION EXECUTIVE Alistair Taylor Alistair.Taylor@intentmedia.co.uk CIRCULATION MANAGER Craig Swan Craig.Swan@intentmedia.co.uk SUBSCRIPTION SALES EXEC Karma Bertelsen Karma.Bertelsen@intentmedia.co.uk OFFICE MANAGER Lianne Davey Lianne.Davey@intentmedia.co.uk PUBLISHER Dave Roberts Dave.Roberts@intentmedia.co.uk MANAGING DIRECTOR Stuart Dinsey Stuart.Dinsey@intentmedia.co.uk


Intent Media is a member of the Periodical Publishers’ Association ISSN – 0265 1548


G


R


O


O


V


E


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48