This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
R


U


N


-


O


F


64MusicWeek 28.09.12 F


Incorporating fono,MBI, Future Hits, Green Sheet, HitMusic, Promo, RecordMirror andTours Report


ALL’S FAIR IN CAKE ANDWAR Happily hanging out here is Simon Barnabas (head of Marketing, Sony CMG), Phil Savill (director ofMarketing, Sony CMG), Nicola Tuer (EVP, Sony Music UK) and Dave Shack (VP, UK International), flanked by the rest of the SonyMusic TheWar Of The Worlds team, (as well as a Martian FightingMachine cake sent by JeffWayne) to celebrate the press announcement for albumrelease ofWayne’sWar of theWorlds The New Generations.


Editorial and sales 020 7226 7246


MusicWeek is published 50 times a year by IntentMedia London, 1st Floor, Suncourt House, 18-26 Essex Road, London, N1 8LN, England


©Intent Media 2012. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form or by any means without prior permission of the copyright owners.


SIGNME UP True to form, the Notting Hill Publishing crew celebrate with a few alcoholic beverages at The Hillgate (their ‘second office’), following a spate of new signings. Left to right: Claire Rodrigues (new signing), John Saunderson (A&R supremo), Joe 'Two Ton' Killington (new signing), Christian Davies (new signing), Kinky Roland (new signing), Kinky'smate, AndyMcQueen (Chairman), Si 'LostWitness' Paul, Dave Loader (MD), Joel Sumerling (Transmission labelmanager), Toby Opperman (head of promotions), LeopoldWhiteley (head of Creative).


FABLED LABELS


DIFFERENT RECORDINGS Founded 1996


Key artists Etienne De Crecy, Underworld, Crystal Castles


Launched by Play It Again SamRecords in 1996, Different Recordings was born during the emergence of the French House Scene. The first two albums released on the label were Pansoul byMotorbass and Super Discount, two projects involving DJ/producer Etienne de Crecy. Throughout the first decade of the year 2000, the Brussels-based label


was home to electronicmusic and released a number of electronic albums. In 2003 the label signed French DJ producer Agoria, who went on to


release three albums. During the same time they started working with techno artist Vitalic (pictured) whose releases OK Cowboy and Flashmob propelled himfroma behind-the-scenes producer to live act. In 2008, Different Recordings licensed and


released the eponymous debut albumby Crystal Castles. The record was named by NME as one of the best albums of the decade and the band featured on themagazine’s cover twice. Different also became European


label partners for Underworld and the gold-selling Crystal Fighters – Star Of Love album.


Did you know? Different Recordings is one of the two record labels that currently operate under the [PIAS] Recordings umbrella.


ALT-J VS DJANGO DJANGO 3.5 0.5 1.5 1k 20 SOCIAL STANDING , 40k Allt- 5k k 10k


Official fan pages go head-to-head


Pitbull – 16,117,711


Prof. Green– 1,383,573 Wretch 32 – 134,771 40k


60k t-J – 25,020


Django Django – 9,683 15k


15k 20k Alt-J – 3,860,377


Django Django – 349,677 2k


3k 4k 20k ©IntentMedia 2012 25k 25k VIE 30k VIEWS


All rights reserved. No part of this publicationmay be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by anymeans electronic ormechanical, including photocopying, recording or any information storage or retrieval systemwithout the express prior written consent of the publisher. The contents ofMusicWeek are subject to reproduction in information storage and retrieval systems. Registered at the Post Office as a newspaper.


Printed by Pensord Press Ltd, Tram Road, Pontllanfraith, Blackwood, Gwent NP12 2YA


Subscription hotline 020 7354 6000 Email craig.swan@intentmedia.co.uk


Tomanage your subscription online visit www.subscriptions.co.uk/musicweek and click onManageMy Subscription.


UK £235; Europe £275; Rest ofWorld Airmail (1) £350; Rest ofWorld Airmail (2) £390. Refunds on cancelled subscriptions will only be provided at the Publisher’s discretion, unless specifically guaranteed within the terms of subscription offer.


“Butwedidnothing,absolutelynothing thatday,andI say:What thehellamI doingdrinkinginL.A.at26?”


ll – 16,117,711, Alt-J – 80,621


Django Django– 39,529 60k


80k 80k FOLL LIKES 100k FOLLOWERS


CONTACTS EDITOR TimIngham Tim.Ingham@intentmedia.co.uk HEAD OF BUSINESS ANALYSIS Paul Williams Paul.Williams@intentmedia.co.uk DEPUTY EDITOR TomPakinkis Tom.Pakinkis@intentmedia.co.uk STAFF WRITER Tina Hart Tina.Hart@intentmedia.co.uk STAFF WRITER Rhian Jones Rhian.Jones@intentmedia.co.uk CHART CONSULTANT Alan Jones SENIOR DESIGNER EdMiller Ed.Miller@intentmedia.co.uk CHARTS & DATA IsabelleNesmon Isabelle.Nesmon@intentmedia.co.uk PLAYLIST EDITOR Stuart Clarke Stuart@littlevictoriesltd.com SALES MANAGER Darrell Carter Darrell.Carter@intentmedia.co.uk DEPUTY SALESMANAGER Archie Carmichael Archie.Carmichael@intentmedia.co.uk SALES EXECUTIVE Victoria Dowling Victoria.Dowling@intentmedia.co.uk SENIOR ACCOUNT MANAGERMatthewTyrrell Matthew.Tyrrell@intentmedia.co.uk SENIOR PRODUCTION EXECUTIVE Alistair Taylor Alistair.Taylor@intentmedia.co.uk CIRCULATIONMANAGER Craig Swan Craig.Swan@intentmedia.co.uk OFFICE MANAGER Lianne Davey Lianne.Davey@intentmedia.co.uk PUBLISHER Dave Roberts Dave.Roberts@intentmedia.co.uk MANAGING DIRECTOR Stuart Dinsey Stuart.Dinsey@intentmedia.co.uk


IntentMedia is amember of the Periodical Publishers’Association ISSN – 0265 1548


G


R


O


O


V


E


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68