Page 8 of 11
Previous Page     Next Page        Smaller fonts | Larger fonts     Go back to the full version

Campus News

Two New Administrators Begin in July

Economics Graduate Awarded Prestigious

Shelia Higgs Burkhalter Adrienne McCormick

Winthrop recently hired two new administrators, both of whom will begin work in July.

Shelia Higgs Burkhalter, vice president for student affairs at the University of Baltimore, is the new vice president for student affairs at Winthrop. President Mahony noted that Burkhalter’s success as a chief student affairs officer and the evidence of her commitment to communication, collaboration and fiscal stewardship made her the ideal candidate.

Adrienne McCormick has been named dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. She previously served as dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and professor of English at the State University of New York at Oswego.

Winthrop administrators noted that McCormick brings the broad range of academic and administrative experience required for the dean of Winthrop’s largest and most academically diverse college.

Research Grant LaRaven Temoney, who graduated in May after only three years at Winthrop, was awarded a prestigious National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program grant and will pursue her Ph.D. in public policy at the University of Florida. Te grant will provide Temoney with upwards of $35,000 annually to pay for her graduate work.

She was one of only five students

LaRaven Temoney

nationally selected in the public policy area and is the first from the College of Business Administration to be awarded this type of grant.

Te economics major and McNair Scholar from Sumter worked with faculty mentor Laura Ullrich on research that focuses on the inadequacy and inequity of school funding across districts in South Carolina.

May Commencement Celebrates Graduates, Faculty Award Winners

Te campus’ biggest celebration—graduation—took place May 3 and 5 as more than 900 students received their bachelor’s or master’s degrees. Commencement speaker Frank Ardaiolo, vice president for student life who will be retiring in June after 29 years at Winthrop, dispensed words of wisdom, while four faculty members were recognized for outstanding teaching, service and scholarship.

Check out the video to join in the celebration of our students and faculty members!

12 Photo credit: Nell Redmond Driggers Appointed to Board of Trustees

Te Winthrop University Board of Trustees welcomed Ed Driggers ’92 to the board during its April quarterly meeting.

Te South Carolina General Assembly appointed Driggers to the Congressional District 4 seat that was vacated by Shane Duncan ’98.

Driggers, who will serve a four-year term, is the city administrator for Greer. He holds a Master of Business Administration degree from Winthrop and a Bachelor of Arts degree in public relations from the University of South Carolina.

Campus of Champions

• Te men’s tennis team took the Big South Conference regular-season title after an undefeated season in conference play. Te team was a finalist in the conference championship.

• Te women’s golf team was first runner-up at the Big South Conference Championship. It was the team’s best championship performance since 1999.

• Te lacrosse team was first runner-up at the Big South Conference Championship. Nicole Beatson was named the Big South Offensive Player of the Year. She broke the Big South single-season goals and points records this season.

• Track and field standout Quemell Brave earned the Big South Conference’s indoor and outdoor long jump titles, and finished 28th in the East Preliminary Championship. He is Winthrop’s first male long jumper to qualify for a regional. Runner Olivia Paxton took the conference’s 10K championship title, while Jalen Hodges claimed both the indoor and outdoor titles in the high jump.

• Te Big South Conference inducted softball standout Janiva Willis ’05, who tragically passed away in 2016, into its Hall of Fame. Willis became the 10th Winthrop student- athlete, and the second member of the softball program, inducted into the Big South Hall of Fame. Te four-time All-Big South First Team selection is already a member of Winthrop’s Hall of Fame, and she had the softball program’s hitting facility named after her in March.


Previous arrowPrevious Page     Next PageNext arrow        Smaller fonts | Larger fonts     Go back to the full version
1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11