Viola Davis in Intimate Apparel Photo: Joan Marcus

Harold and Miriam Steinberg Center/Laura Pels Theatre

1. The Laura Pels Theatre is an off-Broadway theatre. The difference between a Broadway and off-Broadway theatre is largely to do with the size of the theatre. An off-Broadway theatre usually has between 99 and 499 seats. The Laura Pels Theatre space has 424 seats, which qualifies it as an off-Broadway theatre space.

2. 3.

The Laura Pels Theatre opened on April 11, 2004 with a production of Intimate Apparel by acclaimed playwright Lynn Nottage.

The theatre is named after Laura Pels, a generous donor and Roundabout board member who is passionate about advancing theatre. In discussing how she chooses organizations to support, Pels has said, “They must support classic theatre, advance the work of great playwrights and make theatre more accessible to the general public.” These are all core tenets of Roundabout's mission.


This season, there are three productions taking place in the Laura Pels Theatre. Over the years, the theatre has featured works by artists such as Lydia R. Diamond (Toni Stone), Joshua Harmon (Significant Other, Skintight), and Lisa Loomer (Distracted), among many others.

Major support for 72 Miles to Go… is provided by the Laura Pels International Foundation for Theater and the Edgerton Foundation New Play Award. This production is supported, in part, by an award from the National Endowment for the Arts and by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.*

We gratefully acknowledge the Roundabout Leaders for New Works: Alec Baldwin, James Costa and John Archibald, Linda L. D’Onofrio, Peggy and Mark Ellis, Jodi Glucksman, Sylvia Golden, Jeanne Hagerty, Angelina Lippert, K. Myers, Katheryn Patterson and Tom Kempner, Laura Pels International Foundation for Theater, Ira Pittelman, Mary Solomon, Lauren and Danny Stein, Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust, and The Tow Foundation.

Roundabout Theatre Company is thankful to the following donors for their generous support of $5,000 or more to Roundabout’s education programs during the 2019-2020 school year. Anonymous

Altman Foundation The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Bank of America The Theodore H. Barth Foundation Mr. and Mrs. Kevin Becker The Blanche and Irving Laurie Foundation The Bok Family Foundation, Roxanne and Scott L. Bok Trustees

The Honorable Joseph Borelli The Bulova Stetson Fund Philippa and James Burke Karen McKeel Calby Capital One Mary Cirillo-Goldberg and Jay Goldberg Conard-Davis Family Foundation Con Edison

John and Colleen Cook Mr. and Mrs. Steve Crawford Mike and Pilar de Graffenried The Honorable Chaim Deutsch Herb Engert Ms. Lily M. Fan

Jeanne Feldhusen and Gerry Jager Joanna and Brian Fisher

Kathleen Fisher and Rocco Maggiotto

Barry Friedberg and Charlotte Moss Myrna and Freddie Gershon The Golden Family The Gray Foundation

The Jerome L. Greene Foundation

The Laureine and David Greenbaum Family Foundation Mr. and Mrs. John Gustafsson Meryl Hartzband Maureen A. Hayes The Hearst Foundation Philip J. Hempleman Muna and Basem Hishmeh Doug Hitchner and Larissa Martell InterActiveCorp Karen and Paul Isaac JobsFirstNYC

The Honorable Corey Johnson, Speaker The JPB Foundation The Kaplen Foundation Erica and Michael Karsch James and Josie Kelly Mrs. Allison Koffman and Mr. Jeffrey Lipsitz Stephanie and Ron Kramer Elroy and Terry Krumholz Foundation, Inc. Phillip Laffey Sanda and Jerry Lambert

Barbara Lee and Alston Gardner Mr. and Mrs. Bryan Leibman Peter J. Lyon

David and Anita Massengill

May and Samuel Rudin Family Foundation Leni and Peter May Mayor’s Office for Economic Opportunity Mayor’s Office of Media and Entertainment Mellam Family Foundation Pam and Bill Michaelcheck Carol Mitchell The Moelis Family New York City Center for Economic Opportunity New York Community Trust New York City Department of Cultural Affairs New York City Department of Small Business Services New York State Council on the Arts Marty and Kane Nussbaum Gerard E. O’Connor

Charles R. O'Malley Charitable Lead Trust Gina Pate and Stephen Pierce The Pinkerton Foundation The Honorable Keith Powers Mr. and Mrs. David Puth Ms. Michelle Riley The Honorable Debi Rose

The Rudin Foundation Ms. Samantha Rudin and Mr. David Earls The Adolph and Ruth Schnurmacher Foundation Genci Sela Mr. and Mrs. Justin Skala Michael and Chaya Slocum Denise R. Sobel The Solon E. Summerfield Foundation, Inc. Fern and Lenard Tessler Jennifer and Owen Thomas James and Meryl Tisch

Laurie M. Tisch Illumination Fund Michael Tuch Foundation Diane and Tom Tuft L.F. Turner Vornado Realty Trust Cynthia C. Wainwright and Stephen Berger The Walt Disney Company Jason Weinberg Ms. Christine Wentz Liz and Ken Whitney Mr. and Mrs. Rich Whitney Ms. Joanne Witty and Mr. Eugene Keilin Emmy Zuckerman and Dr. Edward H. Bonfield

This program is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council. Education programs at Roundabout are also supported, in part, by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24