News & Events The Elite Summer Sizzle (barrel racing) was held Contributed by Laura Cannon The 49th annual Louisiana

State 4-H and FFA Horse Show was held July 7-11 at Lamar Dixon Expo Center in Gonzales. Dana Coward was Premier Exhibitor, and Stacey Verrett, Cameron Parish, was recognized as Horse Leader of the Year. 13&u HP champions included Darby Stephens (Timed), Isabelle Gonzalez (Ranch), Peyton Wooley (Western), and Cathryn Dionne (Hunter), and 14&o HP champions were Riley Brumfield (Timed), Kacie Morvant (Ranch), Hallie Herron (West- ern) and Emily Lanie (Hunter).

July 19-22 at Extraco Event Center in Waco. Patton Ann Lynch, Crawford, won the Youth Extravaganza with 14.897 on Bonnie Rae. Main Race champion Whitney Godinez, Dublin, stopped the clock at 15.019 on Happy Hour Special.

USTRC Coushatta Championship, held July 20-22 in

Kinder, LA, paid out $108,917! Champions included Lance Mudd/Clay Green (#12-Slide/38.41-4), Dillo Green/Clay Green (#13/29.94-4), Koby Sanchez/Kyle Towles (#12/32.17- 4), Shannon McCright/Justin McCright (11-Ellusive/32.32-4), Luke Dubois/Ricky DeCuir

(#11/38.43-4), Morgan

Sparks/Kade Maroney (Jr-NFR-#10/37.74-3), Dylan Elkins/Keith Elkins (#10/41.89-4), Dean Herron/John Hold (#10-Excl/42.91-4), Guy McNabb/Jordan Wisener (#9.34.98- 4), Clay Oliver/Adam Babin (#8PkDraw/28.36-3), and Royce Oliver/Bosten Oliver (#7PkDraw/40.23-3).

Roxane Reynolds won the $1K Limited at USCHA’s Viva Las Vegas Cutting Tournament.

Hunt County Horsemans Association’s fifth show for this year was

held July 13-14, at Hopkins County Civic Center, Sulphur Springs. High- point champions were Trista Huckstep (13&u), Cale Essman (14-18), and Rachel Dean (19&o).

Southwest Barrel Productions’ July 14-15 event in Abilene, paid out

$15,218! Open 1-D champions include Leslie Harrison (Sat/Miss Royal As- ster/13.886) and Abbey Garner (Sun/Lady With A Time/13.861).

The National High School Rodeo Association 2018 finals were held

July 15-21 in Rock Springs, WY. Shelbi Rice, Cedarville, AR, was named National High School Rodeo Queen. Average winners included Josh Briggs (reined-cowhorse/TX), Carson Ray (boys’-cutting/TX), Cole Skender (bull- riding/AR), Sheridan Clark (girls’-cutting/TX), and Brooklyn Gunter (pole- bending/LA). In team competition, Texas was top team by almost 2,000 points plus top boys’ team by almost 1,000! The AQHA Girl’s Horse of the Year award went to Smart Lil Spitfire, owned by Madalyn Richards (TX).

The NCHA Summer Spectacular, held in Fort Worth July 15 – August

5, was busy but rewarding for many youth cutters. Alyssa Dvorak, Weath- erford, was awarded the Whitney and Greg Welch Sportsmanship Award. Winners of the annual Youth Scholarship Cutting were Makenzie Cowan (Jr- Exclusive Thyme/Ardmore, OK) and Lance Cooper (Sr/Fancy Rey/Weath- erford). World champions were Faith Farris (Jr/Midway) and Chaser Crouch (Sr/Corsicana). NCHA Youth Hall of Fame inductees included Tristan Bowen, Kolby Moore, Maddy Murray, Klarissa Neff, Nicole Pietrafeso, and Derek Waters. Rookies of the Year were Caylee Shepard (Jr) and Gavin Clarke (Sr). Jadeyn Garrett was 2018 Jr Novice Rider, and Sr Novice Rider was Macie Johnson. Essay contest winners were Faith Farris (Jr) and Hannah King (Sr), while photo contest champs were Brea Collier (Jr) and Shelby Agnew (Sr). Austria Arnold was overall photo and essay contest champion. 2018-2019 officers were elected, including President Mattie Dukes, 1st VP Ryan Rapp, 2nd VP Chaser Crouch, Secretary Allison Spiers, Reporter Kelsey Jordan, and jr officers Emma Rapp and Brea Collier.

20 SouthWest Horse Trader September 2018

Lost Horizon Ranch, Bryan, hosted a July 21 horse show/playday, resulting in HPs Beau Matejka (8&u), Maria Matejka (9-13), and Chelsea Rish (14&o).

LA Stock Horse Association’s July 21 event in West Monroe resulted

in Hps Joe Gotti (Open/Ubet Ima Gold Watch), Jesna Long (NP/Bucos Doc- tor), Scott Long (Jr-Horse/Deuce), Tanner Trahan (Am/Heidi), Lee Alford (Nov/Chexin In For Charlie), and Samantha Merrill (14-18/Solanos Cat N Hat), and Isabelle Gonzalez (13&u/Shortys Whiz).

South LA Team Sorting Association’s July 21 event, held at Louis

Mouch Jr. Arena in Port Allen, resulted in division winners being Youth (Brady Gourges/Benjamen Gourges), 8-w/4-Inc 2-Man Ranch (Jeanne Mock/Brad Alexander), Open-2-Man-Ranch (Chris Brian/Chris Sullivan ), 14-w/7-Inc-3-Man-2-Gate (Charlotte Blanchard/Joseph Zito/Tammie Berg- eron), and 14-w/9-Inc-Team Penning (Charlotte Blanchard/Todd Sibley/An- drew Zito).

NM Paint Horse Association and the Pinto Horse Association of NM

hosted the Green Chile Classic in Stanley July 22-23. Paint HPs were Brit- tany Sontag (Nov-Am/Millennium Assets), Amber Thompson (Am/Ghost in the Darkness), and Leslie Gale (Solid-PB-Am/Big Bang Boom). Pinto Hps included Amber Thompson (Am/Ghost in the Darkness) and Ruby Ethridge (Solid-Am & Solid-Open/Mosly Sweet). All-breed HPS included Kristen Wiese (Am & Open/Almos Famous) and Marilyn Novat (Open-WT/Cash Is Good). In youth all-breed, there was a tie for walk-trot HP between Patrisha with RD Gwenevere and Sage with Izzy. Lexie and Dimensions In Town won AB HP youth.

Bell County Exposition Center, Belton, hosted the grand opening and

ribbon cutting ceremony of its new equine/livestock complex on July 27. The heart of the 220,000-square foot facility is the 850-seat climate-controlled performance arena, a warm-up arena with horse stalls, and a bar and grill. To ensure that horsemen should be satisfied with the arena footing aka dirt, Bell County Commissioners’ Court contracted with Kiser Arena Specialists.

Central Texas Barrel Racing Association’s Summer Splash, held in

Hamilton July 27-29, paid out $48,779. Patton Ann Lynch, Crawford, won the Open 1D all 3 days plus of course the Open 1D average, with times of 16.816, 16.637, and 16.37.

Louisiana 4-H members represented their state well at the Southeast

Holly Alexander

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32