In stroke play, a player’s ball is in a water hazard in a playable position. Prior to playing his ball, he removes an abandoned ball lying in water in the water hazard with the head of his club. What is the ruling? A. The player has tested the condition of the hazard and incurs a two-stroke penalty.
B. The player incurs a one-stroke penalty for touching the water prior to his stroke.
C. The player incurs a two-stroke penalty for removing the abandoned ball with his club. D. The player incurs no penalty.
A competitor’s tee shot came to rest in heavy rough. Upon reaching the area where the ball was likely to be, the player made a stroke at a ball that she assumed was hers. She took three more strokes with the ball to reach the putting green. At this point she discovered that she had played a wrong ball. She returned to the area where she played the wrong ball, immediately found the original ball and took three more strokes to complete the play of the hole. What is the player’s score for the hole? A. 6 B. 7 C. 8 D. 9
Which of the following is a wrong ball? A. A ball substituted for the ball in play when the substitution is not permitted.
B. A ball played from outside the teeing ground when starting the play of a hole.
A competitor hits his ball onto a cart path that is through the green. Although the original ball is immediately recoverable, he places a new ball on the ground within two club lengths of his nearest point of relief that is not nearer the hole and plays it. How many penalty strokes has the competitor incurred? A. One penalty stroke B. Two penalty strokes C. Three penalty strokes D. Four penalty strokes
A player’s ball came to rest in an area marked as ground under repair. The player has elected to take relief as prescribed in Rule 25-1. Prior to dropping the ball, the player removes loose impediments in the area that he is preparing to drop. What is the ruling? A. The player incurs no penalty. B. The player incurs a one-stroke penalty. C. The player incurs a one-stroke penalty and the loose impediments must be replaced before the player plays his next stroke. Otherwise, he is disqualifi ed.
D. The player incurs a two-stroke penalty.
The answers are below. For a complete explanation of the answers, scan this tag or visit NCGA.org.