This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
ATA Takes the City Recap of the 2016 ATA Annual Conference & Vendor Showcase By ATR Staff

Photography by Jon D. Kennedy The Arkansas Trucking Association

hosted one of the largest Annual Business Conference and Vendor Showcases yet. Almost 350 individu- als representing over 134 companies and organizations attended the Annual Conference on May 18–20 at the Little Rock Marriott. The schedule was full with five

forums, four council meetings, the elec- tion of three new board members, and time to celebrate the contributions of U.S. veterans in our field. First thing Wednesday morning,

the Maintenance & Technology Council opened up their meeting to all early conference attendees and hosted the “Connected Solutions & Uptime” OEM

 Co-Grand Champion of Corporate Fleet Safety,

Angela Fysh with Walmart Transportation accepts the safest fleet award from ATA President Shannon Newton

panel moderated by Duke Fancher of Summit Truck Group. The 40 Under 40 Council also met Wednesday morning for a presentation by Stone Ward presi- dent Millie Ward about the truisms of leadership. The Safety Management Council

invited attendees to an ELD Panel mod- erated by ATA’s director of safety ser- vices David O’Neal. Panelists answered questions and discussed expectations for the impending ELD rule. After the morning’s panels and

opening the vendor showcase, the con- ference kicked off with the Advocacy & Awards luncheon where ATA president Shannon Newton reviewed the image and advocacy efforts of the association over the last year before honoring the safest fleets and individuals. Winners included Driver of the

 Bestselling Author Eric Blehm tells the story

of Arkansas

veteran Adam Brown

Year, Loren Hatfield of ABF Freight, and Safety Professional of the Year, Scott Dewey of FedEx Freight. Shannon Newton presented two fleets with the award for best safety record: Walmart Transportation and Wayne Smith Trucking. The Arkansas Road Team captains were in attendance all week to meet members and share how they have been taking ATA’s safety message to the public. At Wednesday’s lunch, they were each officially introduced to executives as the faces of trucking in Arkansas. After lunch, Board of Directors

Chairman Butch Rice called the general session to order before reports were given for ATA finances, membership, workers’ compensation, governmen- tal affairs and councils. The Board of Directors added three new members during the association’s general busi-

 Co-Grand Champion of Corporate Fleet Safety, Joey Berkemeyer with Wayne Smith Trucking also accepts the safest fleet award from ATA President Shannon Newton

Photography by Jon D. Kennedy 40 Issue 3 2016 | ARKANSAS TRUCKING REPORT

 Driver of the Year, Loren Hatfield from ABF Freight with ATA director of safety services David O’Neal and Safety Professional of the Year, Scott Dewey of FedEx Freight

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52
Produced with Yudu -