This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
St. Bernard Parish Visitors Information Center 409 Aycock St., Arabi, LA 70032


Phone: 504-278-4242 • Fax: 504-278-4328 • Toll Free: 1-888-278-2054 Email: emcdougall@sbpg.net


1922 Crevasse - Behind Saro Lane in Poydras there is a deep, tree-lined lake. This is known as the Crevasse. In 1922 the Mississippi River exploded through the levee and flooded much of the surrounding area. Today the Crevasse is a placid and picturesque addition to St. Bernard and home to abundant Louisiana wildlife, including a large bass population.


Sebastopol Plantation - Sebastopol dates back to 1830. It was built by Pierre Marin and Evariste Wagan. It became the temporary site of the St. Bernard Branch of Citizens Bank of Louisiana in 1836. Ignatius Szymanski bestowed the home with its name to honor the impressive Russian defeat of the Crimean War. (pri- vate)


The Old Courthouse - Now serving as Beauregard Middle School, the Old Courthouse dates back to 1915 and served as the parish court house until 1939. It was designed by the Freret Brothers architectur- al firm and built for an astonishing $64,893. The land on which it sits was donated to the parish by Vincente Nunez.


Ducros Museum - Dating back to around 46 2011/2012 • stbernardbusinessguide.com


the 1800s this structure is one of the earli- est in St. Bernard Parish. It is an authentic Creole cottage donated to the parish in 1971 by the Ducros family. Conditions of the donation require that it be used as a museum and library.


Los Islenos Museum & Village - The museum is housed in an 1850s building donated by the Molero family. In 1980 it was transformed into the Islenos Museum. It is dedicated to celebrating and preserv- ing the culture of the Canary Islanders who came to the area around the 1780s calling themselves Islenos. Crafts, such as duck carving, lace making hand basket weaving are displayed at the museum.The village is an expanding showcase of the lifestyles of the Islenos and other early set- tlers.


Creedmoor Plantation - In the 1830s Laurent Millaudon consolidated his land into a large sugar plantation, Creedmoor Plantation. The home, a fine example of Greek Revival architecture, was built by Richard Richardson in 1842. The original millwork and ceiling medallions remain today, as well as the overseer's house, sta- ble and privy. (private)


PLEASE SAY "I SAW IT IN THE ST. BERNARD BUSINESS GUIDE"


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52