This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
2009 World Superyacht category was
made to Tristan
Young Designer Award S m i t h a n d
Kevin Drake of
University College
he 2009 World Superyacht Young Designer competition has London for their
been won by Maila Speitkamp from Germany, for her entry entry “Validated
DRACONIS. The judges considered that her entry not only software tools
satisfied two of the main criteria – a multi-hull and a low carbon footprint for the analysis
– but also seemed to embody a direction for the current age: not showy, o f s t r u c t u r a l
ingenious and original, and an undeniable connection with the sea. loading on a Daria Cabaj receives her award from
Moreover, there was some clever thinking, accomplished presentation and damagedship” Alan gavin.
a thoroughness within a compact presentation which included making a
scale model of the yacht – one of very few to do so. The judges commented:
Maila was presented with her Award at the World Superyacht Awards
ceremony at the Guildhall, London. “A well thought out and interesting concept, ready to become
Other finalists were Kristofer Bylander, Jonas Aabel and Kristian a commercial software product. The FLS software gives the
Englund, from Norway (PHOENIX); Chris Burden, Julien Cuzon and future designer extra capability of achieving optimum bulkhead
Sophie Chudziak from the UK (EURYDICE); Adrien Jousset, Sylvain positions at the conceptual stage without expensive changes
Julien and Adrien Jousset from the UK (OSTRIA); Adam Voorhees from down-stream in the design.”
The Awards were presented by Allan Gavin of Lloyd’s
Register at the Institution’s 2009 Annual Dinner
Maila receives her award from Chief Executive, Trevor Blakely.
Full details of the
entries can be found
on the Institutions
website at www.rina. RA
Tristan Smith and
Kevin Drake receive
their award.
2008 RINA – LRET Ship
The Newsletter of the Royal Institution of the Naval Architects
Safety Awards
The Institution is not, as a body, responsible for opinions expressed in
RINA Affairs unless expressly stated that these are Council’s views.
he 2008 RINA-Lloyds Register Educational Trust Ship
Safety Award in the industry category was made Daria Editor The Chief Executive
Cabaj of Burness Corlett - Three Quays for her entry Design/Production Manager Sandy Defraine
“Floodable Length Surfaces” The ship subdivision design tool for
their work in developing a motion forecasting and monitoring Published by The Royal Institution of Naval Architects
system for marine operations. 10 Upper Belgrave Street
London SW1X 8BQ, UK
The judges commented: Tel: +44 (0)20 7235 4622
“The research aimed at hydrodynamic response of a damaged Fax: +44 (0)20 7259 5912
ship has much potential, and is considered a very worthy Email:
winner in this category. It is one of the most interesting and
much sought after solutions for the future.” © The Royal Institution of Naval Architects
The 2008 RINA-LRET Ship Safety Award in the academia
Rina affairs June 2009 15
RA JUNE 09.indd 15 02/06/2009 12:00:08
Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15
Produced with Yudu -