Page <#number#> of <#numberOfPages#>
Previous Page     Next Page        Smaller fonts | Larger fonts     com.yudu.plainText.returnToFlash

CLASS NOTES Let Us Hear from You!

Do you have a new job, marriage, baby or other life-changing event that you would like to share with the Winthrop family? If so, please send in your information to be included in a future Winthrop Magazine issue.

Please e-mail, visit or call 803/323-2145 or 800/578-6545 to submit your news.


Palm Desert, California, resident Katherine “Kathy” Hite James was inducted into the Florence Athletic Hall of Fame.


Julia Robertson Barnes of Honea Path was elected to the Anderson County School District Two Board of Trustees.


Susan Roche of Redlands, California, was elected as a Fellow of the American Headache Society.


Te American Medical Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to Alfred Gilchrist of Denver, Colorado.


Susan Hunter-Austin of Smyrna, Georgia, retired from LOMA in Atlanta, Georgia.


Charlotte, North Carolina, resident Lucinda Bowen Blue was named chair of the Department of Business Administration and Economics at Johnson C. Smith University. She also recently published the book “Fruitful Inspirations.”


Te Urban League of the Upstate presented Spartanburg residentMary Tomas with the 2018 Whitney M. Young Jr. Humanitarian Award.


Hilton Head Island resident Lawrence Tavino was inducted into the Hilton Head Preparatory School Athletic Hall of Fame.


Johns Island resident Brendan Magee joined Dunes Properties as a real estate agent in the Seabrook Island office.


Concord, North Carolina, resident Ricky Allred was named chief credit officer of Community Bank of the Carolinas.


Spartanburg resident Tammy EmeryWhaley was named executive director of South Carolina Osteopathic Medical Society and was elected to the Make-A-Wish South Carolina Board of Directors.


North Carolina Governor Roy Cooper appointed Walter Jackson of Laurinburg, North Carolina, to the Richmond Community College Board of Trustees.


Fisk University in Nashville, Tennessee, named Vann Newkirk its provost and vice president for academic affairs.

Tracie Sexton Shapiro of Georgetown, Kentucky, recently published the book “Financial Fundamentals.”


Marcus Weaver-Hightower of Grand Forks, North Dakota, is a professor of education at the University of North Dakota and has published the textbook “How to Write Qualitative Research.”


Te Lancaster County School District selected Shirnetha Stinson as its preschool programs director.


Dumfries, Virginia, resident Celestine Pressley is the director of information technology with the Office of the United States Trade Representative.

Avery Staley is the director of human resources for Livingstone College in Salisbury, North Carolina.


Blackbaud Healthcare Solutions named Page Bullington of North Charleston its president and general manager.

Columbia resident Roshanda Yearwood Pratt published “CEO of Live Video, a step-by-step on how to connect and convert your live video audience on social media.”


Savannah, Georgia, resident Rachel Young Fields was named one of the 2018 Georgia Trend Legal Elite for

HunterMaclean Attorneys.

Charleston resident Sara Perry joined Respite Care of Charleston as its executive director.


Fort Smith, Arkansas, resident Edward Serna was named interim chancellor at the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith.


Washington, D.C., resident Sylvester Owens is the director of individual giving for the Boys and Girls Clubs of Greater Washington.


Tallahassee, Florida, resident Lauren Matthews Graves has been promoted to executive secretary to the vice president of the Office of Advancement Relations at the Florida State University Foundation.

Rock Hill resident Chris Miller was named South Carolina Statewide Sportscaster of the Year for the ninth consecutive year by the South Carolina Broadcasters Association.

Denise Scott of Washington, D.C., is a financial and administrative officer for CongresswomanMaxine Waters and the U.S. House Committee on Financial Services.

Lyman native Valida Foster Walker joined Sherman College of Chiropractic in Spartanburg as the inaugural senior director of institutional advancement and public relations.


McMaster Gallery at the University of South Carolina in Columbia featured artwork from Adrian Rhodes.

Alumni in South Carolina can support Winthrop wherever they drive with a special state-issued vanity plate from the S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles. The redesigned plate incorporates Winthrop’s Eagle head logo in the university’s signature garnet and gold colors. Winthrop receives $40 of each registration fee for scholarships. Order your new plate now!


Greer resident Alison Rauch received the Melvin Jones Fellowship Award from the Lions Club International Foundation.


Melissa Tucker is the Rock Hill School District’s teacher of the year.

2012 Kathryn Scott Walters of Simpsonville was promoted to recruiting operations manager at PeopleScout Inc.


Greensburg, Pennsylvania, native Zach Bowman is a 2nd Lt. in the U.S. Marine Corps.

Wendrah McCoy received the Rising Star Award from the MOJA Arts Festival: A Celebration of African-American and Caribbean Arts in Charleston.

Greenville native Elizabeth Stoffelen is the events and social media coordinator for the Ronald McDonald House Charities of the Carolinas.


Charlotte, North Carolina, resident Sharon Dowell was a judge for the Trail Photography Competition in Kings Mountain, North Carolina.


Simpsonville resident Sierra Hyer is an art teacher at High Point Academy in Spartanburg.


Display Your Eagle Pride

Previous arrowPrevious Page     Next PageNext arrow        Smaller fonts | Larger fonts     com.yudu.plainText.returnToFlash
Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12