This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
Stump the NCGA Rules Expert


WHICH BALL IS THE PROVISIONAL BALL? James writes: Q. I hit a tee shot to a blind landing area and the landing area is near out of bounds. I decide to hit a provisional ball and that ball goes to the same blind landing area where I can’t see the ball land. At this point I have decided to go forward and search. I walk up to both balls and one ball is out of bounds and one ball is in bounds, however, both balls are the same exact model with the same number and there is no distinct ball mark on either ball. What would be the ensuing ruling? A. Decision 27/11 states that the ball found in bounds is presumed to be the provisional ball and you lie three with that ball. This is why Rule 6-5 suggests that you put an identification mark on your golf ball.


BALL RESTS ON BRIDGE Dennis writes: Q. My ball came to rest on a bridge in a lateral water hazard. I was able to play the ball, but I was wondering if I could play under one of my other options for taking relief for the water hazard or did I get free relief from the bridge? A. The bridge is an immovable ob- struction by definition. However, when your ball lies inside a water hazard you are not entitled to free relief (Rule 24-2). You can either play the ball as it lies or proceed under the options available to you under Rule 26.


USING A CLUB AS AN AIMING ALIGNMENT Wayne writes: Q. Are you allowed to use one of your clubs as an aiming alignment on the ground if you pick it up before the shot in the middle of a round? A. Yes, Decision 8-2a/1 permits a player to align his feet with the club prior to the stroke. The club must be removed before the stroke is made.


BALL HITS OVERHEAD POWER LINE Kevin writes: Q. A ball hit from the tee strikes a power line. It is not listed in the local rules that any ball striking an overhead power line must be replayed. Is there a general rule that covers this? Or must it be referred to in the course’s local rules? A. Without the local rule in effect, the ball would be played as it lies. The overhead power line is an outside agency and Rule 19-1 applies.


Edited by Ryan Gregg, director of education. To submit questions email rgregg@ncga.org or visit the Stump the Rules Expert page of NCGA.org (under the Rules drop-down menu).


Special i zing in


Workers ’ Compensat ion Property & Casual ty


Advanced Claims Service Bi l ingual Loss Cont rol Employee Benef i ts


S e r v i n g c l u b s ’ n e e d s s i n c e 1 9 8 7


Pat Hoffman 


Keith Schuler


Tony Pozas  Tom Hughes 8 0 0 - 8 7 3 - 3 7 2 5


Of f i c e s t h r o u g h o u t Ca l i f o r n i a License #0B01094 Let our experi ce guie you en d SPRING 2013 / NCGA.ORG / 25

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68  |  Page 69  |  Page 70  |  Page 71  |  Page 72  |  Page 73  |  Page 74  |  Page 75  |  Page 76  |  Page 77  |  Page 78  |  Page 79  |  Page 80  |  Page 81  |  Page 82  |  Page 83  |  Page 84