This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.

NEW DIRECTORS FOR UNDERSTANDING SOCIETY AND CLOSER New Directors have been appointed for two of the UK’s leading longitudinal resources. Professor Michaela Benzeval has

been appointed as the next Director of Understanding Society, the UK Household Longitudinal study, while Alison Park is the new Director of the Cohorts and Longitudinal Studies Enhancement Resource (CLOSER). Michaela is currently the Deputy

Director of Understanding Society and will replace current Director, Professor Nick Buck when he steps down later this year.

Alison Park, who was previously head of the Society and Social Change team at NatCen Social Research, picks up the reins from Professor Jane Elliott, Chief Executive of the ESRC, who joined from CLOSER last year. Jude England has been Acting Director. n

NEW YEAR HONOURS 2015 A number of prominent social scientists and ESRC grant-holders have been honoured in the New Year Honours list. We are pleased to offer our congratulations. Knights Bachelor - Knighthoods Professor Julian Le Grand, FBA, Richard Titmuss Professor of Social Policy, London School of Economics and former member of the ESRC Research Grants Board and grant holder. For services to Social Science and Public Service. David Edward Ramsden, CBE,

Head, Government Economic Service and former ESRC Council member (2008-13). For services to Economic Policymaking. Professor Nigel John Thrift,

FBA, Vice-Chancellor, University of Warwick and former member of the ESRC Research Priorities Board and grant holder. For services to Higher Education.


Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire Professor Teresa Rees, CBE, Professor of Social Science, Cardiff University and lately Director for Wales, Leadership Foundation for


Higher Education. Also former member of the ESRC Research Grants Boards (1993-97) and Strategic Research Board (2002-06) as well as recipient of ESRC research grants. For services to the Social Sciences.

Commander of the Order of the British Empire

Professor Heather Joshi, OBE FBA, Emeritus Professor, Centre for Longitudinal Studies and former Principal Investigator on the Millennium Cohort Study. For services to Longitudinal and Women’s Studies.

Officer of the Order of the British Empire Professor Robert Millar, Emeritus Professor, Centre for Innovation and Research in Science Education, University of York and former ESRC grant holder. For services to Science Education.

Member of the Order of the British Empire Dr Michael Jubb, Director, Research Information Network and former ESRC grant holder. For services to the Social Sciences.

NEW ESRC COUNCIL MEMBERS APPOINTED Greg Clark, the Minister of State for Universities, Science and Cities, has appointed Professor L Alan Winters and Karin Woodley as ESRC Council members. L Alan Winters CB is Professor of Economics at the University of Sussex, CEO of the Migrating out of Poverty Research Programme Consortium and Chairman of the Board of the Global Development Network. Professor L Alan Winters is

a specialist on the empirical and policy analysis of international trade, especially in developing countries, and has also studied migration and economic growth. Karin Woodley has 30-years’

experience at chief executive level in public-facing charities tackling social and cultural injustice and inequality. She is currently Chief Executive of Cambridge House, a South London charity established in 1889 by Cambridge University to tackle poverty and social injustice. n

CHANGING WORLD PHOTO COMPETITION WINNERS The winners of the ESRC’s 2015 Changing World photographic competition were announced at an awards ceremony on 10 March at the Menier Gallery in London. There were six winners across

categories exploring issues including family, technology and media. Five additional winners picked up a Judge’s Favourite award. The overall winner of the competition, and winner of the environment category, is 16-year-old Rachel Coleman from Bishop Stopford School in Kettering, Northamptonshire. Her photograph, of the view from a train window in Iceland, was named ‘Through the looking glass’ after the Lewis Carroll novel. Other winners included Josh (17)

from Bishop Wordsworth’s School in Salisbury, Wiltshire for his photo ‘Height,’ a dramatic action shot of a BMX rider performing a stunt, and 18-year-old Jennifer Riley from the North Halifax Grammar School in West Yorkshire, who won for her image ‘The living room’. Her picture shows a modern family isolated from one another by the intrusion of technology into the home. Nadia Rouhipour, aged 16, from

the Torquay Girls Grammar School in Devon, won the Community and Friends category for her photograph ‘Is anonymity so bad?’ It shows two best friends reuniting after a long time apart. The image is taken from behind frosted glass, letting the friends enjoy their anonymity and privacy. For the winning photographs,

see: photographic-competition

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32