search.noResults

search.searching

dataCollection.invalidEmail
note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
CONTENTS


Published by The Financial Times Ltd, Bracken House, 1 Friday Street, London EC4M9BT,


UK Tel: +44 (0)20 7873 3000. Editorial fax: +44 (0)1858 461873.


Staff members can be contacted by dialing +44 (0)20 7775 followed by their extension number


Jacopo Dettoni 4339 jacopo.dettoni@ft.com


Editor Global Investment Reporter


Alex Irwin-Hunt 6437 alex.irwinhunt@ft.com


Production Manager Deputy Production Editor


Andrew Petrie 6230 andrew.petrie@ft.com


Deputy Production Editor Nic Bunce 4318


nicholas.bunce@ft.com


+44 (0)7756 133220 david.robinson@ft.com


Executive Editor


Online Editor David Robinson


Paramjit Virdee 6535 paramjit.virdee@ft.com


Advertisement Executive


Brian Caplen 6364 brian.caplen@ft.com Art Director


Sophie Horton 4830 sophie.horton@ft.com


Global Business Director


Adrian Northey 6333 adrian.northey@ft.com


Cassius Naylor 0207 873 3124 cassius.naylor@ft.com


Projects Co-ordinator, Europe&North America


Luke McGreevy +971 (0)4 391 4398 luke.mcgreevy@ft.com


Associate Publisher Publishing Director


Angus Cushley 6354 angus.cushley@ft.com


B2B Marketing Manager


Lauren Drew 4462 lauren.drew@ft.com


Senior Marketing Executive


Jay Seenundun 6896 jay.seenundun@ft.com


Magazinecustomerservices


CDS Global, Tower House, Lathkill Street, Sovereign Park, Market


Harborough, Leics, UK. LE16 9EF ft@subscription.co.uk


tel: 0845 456 1516 (customer


services) 01858 438417 (overseas), fax: +44 (0)1858 461 873


The Financial Times adheres to a self-regulation regime under the FT Editorial Code of Practice: www.ft.com/editorialcode


Printed by Walstead Group in the UK


Registered Number: 227590 (England and Wales) ISSN: 1476-301X©Financial Times Ltd 2020. FDI is a trade- mark of Financial Times Ltd 2020. “Financial Times”


form of advertising without prior permission in writing fromthe editor. No responsibility for loss occasioned to any person acting or refraining fromacting as a


and “FT” are registered trademarks and service marks of the Financial Times Ltd. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or used in any


result of material in this publication can be accepted. On any specific matter, reference should be made to an appropriate adviser. Registered Office: Bracken House, 1 Friday Street, London EC4M 9BT, UK


Reprints are available of any fDi Magazine article, with your company logo and contact details inserted if required (minimumorder 100 copies). For details telephone 0207 873 4816.


foodtech sector; Big oil fights to keep green promises.


08 09


For one-off copyright licences for reproduction of fDi magazine articles telephone 0207 873 4871. Alternatively, for both services e-mail synd.admin@ft.com


10 11


12 4 GLOBALLAWYER


Covid-19 has cleared the way for bold reform at the


World Health Organization. FREEZONES


ADB agrees $30m loan for Mongolia; Philippines


greenlights 12 new zones; Hainan free trade port will be a game changer.


HEADTOHEAD


fDi weighs up the relative benefits of Milwaukee and


Baltimore. VIEWFROMTHEC-SUITE


Baidu believes the adoption of artificial intelligence is set


to rise, the tech company’s vice president, Tian Wu, tells fDi.


COMPANYPROFILE


Beyond Meat is eyeing China and Europe as the


REGULARS 06


GLOBALNEWS


Growth returns to fDi Index; Coronavirus fires up the


Elliot Smither 6379 elliot.smither@ft.com


COVER STORY 20


global appetite for meat-free ‘meat’ grows.


EXECUTIVEDECISION


14 16 18


20 24


Hyzon Motors has picked Groningen in the


Netherlands to produce its zero-emission trucks.


DEVELOPMENTSITES


Hainan’s 35,000 square kilometre free trade port will


offer incentives in high-tech, services and tourism.


RISINGECOSYSTEMS


Cape Town has a lively tech start-up scene, powered by


local investment behemoth Naspers.


COVER STORY INCLUSIVEFDI


Spreading the benefits of investment evenly is now


more important than ever.


fDiTIER2CITIESOFTHE FUTURE2020/21


San Francisco is fDi’s inaugural Tier 2 City of the


Future for 2020/21, followed by


Montreal and Houston in second and third place.


GREENFIELDFDI PERFORMANCEINDEX


weight when it comes to generating greenfield FDI.


32


for greenfield FDI in the biotech sector.


78


THERISEOFCORPORATE VENTURECAPITAL


start-ups to foster innovation. 80


tourism are no longer niche, writes Miguel Angel Figueroa.


84


THINKTANK SEEING A FUTURE FOR TOURISM INVESTMENT


The pandemic has shown the principles of sustainable


Corporations have ramped up minority investment into


BIOTECH


fDiBIOTECHNOLOGY MINI-RANKING2020


We take a closer look at the leading destinations


We report on the countries punching above their


www.fDiIntelligence.com August/September 2020


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68  |  Page 69  |  Page 70  |  Page 71  |  Page 72  |  Page 73  |  Page 74  |  Page 75  |  Page 76  |  Page 77  |  Page 78  |  Page 79  |  Page 80  |  Page 81  |  Page 82  |  Page 83  |  Page 84  |  Page 85  |  Page 86  |  Page 87  |  Page 88