search.noResults

search.searching

saml.title
dataCollection.invalidEmail
note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
EDITOR'S LETTER


PRESIDENT & CEO James Balda jbalda@argentum.org


Day by Day, You Help Bring Back the Life We Knew


“Working safely may get old, but so do those who practice it.” —Author unknown


Every day the emails with good news come my way: A community is COVID-19 free. Another has vaccinated all residents. One is opening up to outdoor visits; another has let residents back into the dining room (at a safe distance). Each step and each number represent a life that is getting that much closer to normal.


It is an astonishing achievement, and you’re behind it. It goes on every day, through the checklists and the donning and doffing, the masks and the meals delivered, the changing requirements and recommendations, the families reassured. Every day is one day closer to normal. Getting us there has taken a dedication to safety and quality greater than anyone could have imagined a year ago. The stories and tips in this issue are just the beginning of the new learning and understanding emerging from this crisis. Getting back to normal for Argentum will mean hosting live events, where we can invite you to share knowledge, stories, discoveries, and some good times. We’re moving ahead with our annual Senior Living Executive Conference, September 13 to 15 in Phoenix. We’re coming up with some special features I hope I can tell you more about next issue.


But one piece of great news is that the Executive Director Leadership Institute is scheduled to be live at the conference again this year. The cohort of community leaders who go through this intensive at the conference develop professional relationships that last years—it’s that kind of experience. Sign up for conference updates at conference.argentum.org, and you’ll hear about what’s to come. It will be great to be able to say, “See you soon!” and mean it.


– Sara Wildberger Editor


CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER Gina Mamone


gmamone@argentum.org


SENIOR VP, PUBLIC AFFAIRS Maggie Elehwany melehwany@argentum.org


VP, QUALITY IMPROVEMENT John Schulte


jschulte@argentum.org


VP, MEMBERSHIP & EVENTS Brad Williams


bwilliams@argentum.org


VP, GOVERNMENT RELATIONS Paul Williams


pwilliams@argentum.org


SENIOR DIRECTOR, MARKETING & COMMUNICATIONS Jessica McKay jmckay@argentum.org


DIRECTOR, PROGRAM CONTENT Denise Brassé dbrasse@argentum.org


DIRECTOR, MEMBER SERVICES & DATA Kari Horesky


khoresky@argentum.org


DIRECTOR, GOVERNMENT RELATIONS Daniel Samson dsamson@argentum.org


OFFICE MANAGER/ EXEC. ASSISTANT Rosa Montgomery rmontgomery@argentum.org


ADVERTISING DIRECTOR OF SALES Katherine Madison kmadison@argentum.org


SALES ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE Brooke Jordan bjordan@argentum.org


SUBSCRIPTIONS 703.562.1179


PROJECT DIRECTOR, APPRENTICESHIPS & WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT Megan Robinson mrobinson@argentum.org


MARKETING MANAGER Kayla McAlindin


kmcalindin@argentum.org


EVENTS COORDINATOR Ashley Foster afoster@argentum.org


HUMAN RESOURCES DIRECTOR AND STAFF ACCOUNTANT Olivia Wilson


owilson@argentum.org


EDITORIAL COMMUNICATIONS MANAGER & EDITOR Sara Wildberger


swildberger@argentum.org


ART DIRECTOR Rose Thai


rthai@argentum.org


Senior Living Executive, Volume 28, Number 2 (print ISSN 2161- 6698, online ISSN 2161-671X) is published bimonthly by Argentum, 1650 King Street, Suite 602, Alexandria, VA. Periodicals postage paid at Alexandria, VA and additional mailing offices. Argentum member companies receive subscriptions for staff as part of their membership. Free controlled subscriptions are also available to qualified individuals in the senior living business.


POSTMASTER: SEND ADDRESS CHANGES TO Senior Living Executive, 1650 King Street, Suite 602, Alexandria, Virginia 22314 703.894.1805. Printed in USA. Copyright 2018. Prior to photocopying items for educational classroom, internal, or personal use, please contact the Copyright Clearance Center, Customer Service, 978.750.8400, 222 Rosewood Dr., Danvers, MA 01923 or check CCC Online at www.copyright.com. Senior Living Executive will not be responsible for the return of any unsolicited manuscripts or photographs.


Copyright ©2021 Argentum. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form—print, electronic, or otherwise—without written permission from Argentum.


MARCH/APRIL 2021 ARGENTUM.ORG 7


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44